We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kunja Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Kunja Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Kunja Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Seminyak
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We (a couple) spent 5 nights in one of the villas here and had a wonderful time. The villas are massive, gorgeously designed, spacious and comfortable. Touches like the 5cm deep sunbathing area in the pool and the beautiful gardens with so many types of palm tree added to the pleasure. It was easy to get to restaurants and diving with free rides. Although we meant to see much more of the island but found it hard to tear ourselves away from the room, pool and garden!

The staff are attentive and friendly, beds comfortable, the breakfast enormous, and the journey from the airport was easy and comfortable, even down to the chilled towels on getting into the car. We loved the visits from fluttering little birds, bats and of course the fantastic geckos who protected us from mosquitos...

I would honestly hardly change a thing. One warning - if you have the Balinese suckling pig BBQ (which was delicious and the musicians were great) then have it early in the stay or invite some friends. The two of us ate till we could hardly breath but still had shameful amounts left over!

All in all a great and highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, General Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear BenSmedley,

Thank you so much for your valuable reviews. We really appreciate it.
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable days with your couple at The Kunja Villa & Spa.

Please feel free to contact us once you plan your trip back to Bali.

Best Regards,

Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    34
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
73
227
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well, where do I start?! My husband and I returned from our honeymoon in Bali 3 weeks ago where we stayed at the Kunja.

From the word go, everything was perfection! Checking in at the villa itself was a lovely touch as we were able to relax with a refreshing drink and took in the incredible surroundings. The villa itself is just stunning! This is the first place I have stayed where the photos are not deceiving but are true to the real thing. The pool was extremely spacious, beautiful plants, outdoor kitchen and seating area was different which we loved and the sound system with the CDs was definitely a favourite. Inside the gorgeous four poster bed was HUGE and very comfortable! Our bed back home seemed too small when we first got back. The bathroom was just something else as well, we loved the flooring and the 'his & hers' sinks were a live saver!

The service at the Kunja is like nothing we've ever experienced. We have never come across staff that are just so friendly, polite and welcoming. It was lovely always being greeted by big smiles and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The free car service into the local area and Kuta was brilliant!

The location itself is fab as well as it's not far at all from the local shops, restaurants, beach, semniyak square and more.

Our Kunja villa recommendations...in villa BBQ, spa treatments, in villa yoga, room service from Bistro Batu and Balinese pancakes for afternoon tea.
Our Bali recommendations - semniyak square shopping, eating lunch at Biku, elephant safari, apollo watersports and shopping at Kuta discovery mall & beachwalk mall.

Thank you Kunja Villa for the most incredible honeymoon!! We are hoping to come back one day in the future! Mr & Mrs Rafi x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, General Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear MissKitty08_8,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding stay with us at The Kunja Villa & Spa.
I’m thrilled to hear that you and your couple enjoyed all our facilities and services, and had such a fantastic experience.
We appreciate all your kind comments about our staff, facilities and afternoon tea time.
We are looking forward to have you back.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It was a challenge - I had to find a holiday place for my family covering quite diverse requirements:
My (8 years old) son wanted to swim every day, my (half a year old) daughter just wanted to sleep most of the time, my wife didn't want to go anywhere but have a rest and enjoy being served throughout the day - and I wanted to explore a bit more about beloved Bali.
We found it, and it had it all - fantastic service, very kind people taking care of us in any way you would want / ask for, my son got his own pool, my daughter her own baby bed, my wife did rest and I did explore.
This is a place highly recommended already - and it's all true what you can red about it.
There is only one way to find out for yourself and find out - go there, give it a try yourself!
It will create beautiful memories that you will take with you and make you smile whenever you think about it again...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, General Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear DieterKaufhold,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa..

Thank you so much for taking your time to put a wonderful reviews during stay with us.
We really appreciate all of your comments and we will share with the other team.
We can't wait to see you again soon and we will be here waiting to welcome you back.


Best Regards,

Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Villas are HUGE. HUUGGEE. Amazing pool, amazing gardens.

The rooms are very sparse, but that is refreshing.

The service is very good. Not 5 star mind-blowing. They can be a little intrusive with the room servicing, which could have been timed for when we were out of the villa. The breakfast and afternoon tea service was very kind and exceptional service.

The outdoor bathroom sounds great in theory, but trying to refresh and get into evening wear is not great when the bathroom is 30 degrees...

A very, very good hotel, only minor let down by some aspects of the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your positive feedback..
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. This is truly something I shall share with the team and I am sure it will motivate us even more to continue achieve the highest standard of product and services. We are committed to always improve all aspects of our facility & services.

Best Regards,
Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is it. The top place I can imagine in coastal Bali for a honeymoon. It is fine luxury mixed with excellent privacy. We can't say enough about the Kunja. The staff is awesome. The property is beautiful. The villas are wonderfully set up. Having breakfast cooked in our outdoor kitchen every morning by a member of the staff was our favorite part of the day. We also got free shuttles to near-by places which was a great service. Two thumbs up and five-stars to the Kunja for making the first four nights of our honeymoon so special.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, General Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Rob M,

Thank you for your great review regarding our Villa, facilities, and service.
We are more than pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope your pleasant and memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Best Regards,

Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Kunja 3bed room in Seminyak. It was a great experience for us. One of the representatives, Diya, helped us a lot. She accommodated our last minute changes and was very polite, patient and very helpful. They picked us up at the airport. The transportation from and to the airport is free of charge. In fact they called us when we couldn't locate the hotel representative. The villa itself was great with very spacious bathrooms. Very quite atmosphere. Perfect for family but even with friends you can make some noise... No problem. The pool was decorated with beautiful flowers as it was our anniversary. Staff was available all the time and very prompt service. Even the transportation to nearby places was free of charge. We were served fresh breakfast the next day at the villa made there in the villa by the staff. We got body massage and they come to villa to do it. One really didn't have to leave the villa. It was an absolutely relaxing experience. Personally, I wouldn't mind going there again. We were very happy to stay there and a little sad when we left. I would recommend this place to anybody

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Rishvat,

Warmest Greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa...

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service, hence to receive great comment such as yours is so motivating.

Once again, thank you so much for your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Reza A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed at the Kunja Villas for 2 nights in early May. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this place. It was our first time visiting Bali and the Kunja certainly did not disappoint.

The villa was gorgeous and so comfortable. Our stay started out great when after a red-eye flight and a smooth airport pickup, we were told we could check right into our villa even though it was only 8am.

The villas are clean, seem new and are very, very spacious. You get breakfast cooked for you in your private outdoor kitchen by one of the Kunja staff members and they provide afternoon tea in-villa if you'd like as well.

SUPER comfortable beds, friendly staff and a great location to boot. We had a bit of a let down when turn down service wasn't performed properly our first night however the Kunja staff recovered amazingly, comp'd our in villa massages and a bottle of wine and couldn't have been more apologetic. Everything else beyond that was amazing.

Overall, if you're thinking of booking the Kunja, do it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa further towards the back of the property. We had Villa 2, right up front... and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Jessica S,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa...

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us and thank you for your nice feedback regarding our room and staffs. We also apologize if the service of our house keeping did not live up to your expectation and we have share with the team for our review and improvement.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Villa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kunja Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.