We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday - Great service and nice relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kunja Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kunja Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kunja Hotel
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 86 hotels in Seminyak
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb holiday - Great service and nice relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 7 nights at the Kunja relaxing away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. The quiet, private surroundings of our villa including the private pool were a perfect way to relax and almost like being on a second honeymoon.

We particularly enjoyed being spoilt with breakfast and afternoon-tea prepared each day by the staff in our villa at a time to suit ourselves. (Changing times was no issue at all) There was a good selection of breakfast options and we managed to try most of them and enjoyed each of them equally.

The Kunja is a little bit away from the main Seminyak areas but that is the whole point of the hotel. The staff were always on hand to provide transfers to the beach or local restaurants / shops on request. The in-room service included menu's from a number of local restaurants covering all tastes so there was no excuse for us going hungry.

The rooms were kept very clean and the bed was very comfortable, I got the best nights sleep in a long time and that includes stays at a number of Singapore's premium hotels in recent months.

If you are after a quiet location to pamper yourself for a week then we cannot recommend The Kunja highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Graham U,

Warmest greeting form The Kunja Villa & Spa !
Thank You for sharing your recent experience at The Kunja Villa & Spa. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your wife had such a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed our service and facilities. We highly value your feedback and will work to improve and create an even better experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at the resort for another memorable and relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    29
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
62
173
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We (me and my boyfriend from Sydney) stayed in the Kunja Villa's in September 2013 for 8 nights.

The chauffeur picked us up from the airport with ease and we were then driven to the villa (about a 45 minute drive) and upon arrival we were taken into a little bit of paradise! The 1 bedroom villa we stayed in (no. 7), was bigger than we had expected from looking at the photo's and was very clean. We loved the big outdoor living space our own private pool.

While staying at the villa we used the spa facilities. The massage ($20 for 60 minutes) was probably one of the best massages we have ever had! I also used the spa to do a mani/pedi; I would say that the mani/pedi probably wasn't worth the money, the nail painting didn't last longer than a day and the polish was quite thick and didn't look too good. About a 4 minute drive away is a great nail salon (Sydney prices) who do an exceptional job and which would have lasted over a week if I hadn't wanted to change the colour. It was called Think Pink Nails (Jl. Batu Belig).

We ordered quite a bit of room service (please note they do not have their own restaurant so you get to pick from a number of restaurants in the area) including Grocer and Grind (who catered for our wedding the following week when we stayed in Canggu). The villa can also arrange special dinners in the villa; suckling pig or seafood. These were quite reasonably priced but unfortunately we run out of time to do this.

Highlights:
Bathroom; spectacular massive open room with double sinks, shower and bath.
Bedroom; very comfy bed.
Pool; own pool which was pretty big for just two of us!

Lowlights:
Bedroom; smelt of stale cigerettes - we rectified this by asking for some incense sticks
Bathroom; no air con so did get pretty hot in here when getting ready

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Kunja Villa, Seminyak, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. If we return to Seminyak I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear KittyKat2013 ,

Warmest greeting from The Kunja Villa & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience stay at The Kunja Villa & Spa .
we are sorry for any dissatisfaction that caused by our spa product. i will revert back to our spa team and i'm sure that this is addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed in a three bedroom Villa (Number 10, which is the closest to the front of the property) at the Kunja Villas Seminyak. I went there with my wife, 2 year old daughter and my father and mother in law. The Villa was perfect, three seperate bedrooms (very private) each with its own (huge) wardrobe and bathroom (complete with semi open shower and big bath tub, which was easy to bathe our daughter in). The living area was fantastic, actually it was huge, it looked out over the massive 12 x 5 meter pool, the staff at kunja also moved a TV and DVD out into the living area so we could watch DVD's when our daughter went to sleep. The grass and pool area were also fantastic, with plenty of room for older and younger kids to run around, it comes complete with it's own outdoor shower, which is always nice because you can. The staff at Kunja installed a non perminant pool fence in as we where worried that our daughter would be constantly running into the pool, with this fence this was not a problem at all. They also gave us a little slide that my daughter had a ball with, sliding down dolls and all. Re - The pool, as I mentioned it was huge, almost too big for a family of 4 plus one child, that said, we loved it. Especially considering it had an area about 3 meters by 2 that was only ankle deep, which is where our two year old had many hours of fun, jumping off the ledge into Daddy's arms. As far as the staff at Kunka go, I cannot fault them. Every morning at our requested time two of them would be there to cook our breakfast in our Villa, whether it be American, Continental or Indonesian (I ordered Nasi Goreng every morning for the treat). They were very attentive down to the different orange juice, coffee or tea and even setting the table magnificently. Breakfast in our Villa was a great way to start the day. As for transportation, at our call the staff at Kunja would drop us anywhere from Waterbom Park, to Seminyak Square or places like Potato Head, La Lucciola, the only thing was that we had to get cabs/walk back, which is not a problem considering there is always a bluebird (taxi) waiting somewhere at any given time. I can also not fault the location of the Villa, within 5 minutes walk of great Seminyak eateries like Sarong or Meraputih, and a little further (10 mins walk) to Potato head, La Lucciola or Ku De Ta. Seminyak Sqaure was about a 15 minute walk (all I can say is don't always trust google maps in Bali, 15 minute walk home from Seminyak Square turned into a 30 minute sojourn back through many houses in Seminyak, a good way to see Bali. Overall, if you want to spend a little more (still excellent value for 5 star villa), either a couple or extended family, that want somewhere far enough away from the hussle and bussle, but close enough to be comfortable. Kunja Villas, just might be it. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 10 which is the closest 3 bedroom Villa to the front of the resort which is handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Paul P,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your various comments and could not thank you enough for such warm and encouraging words. This is truly something I shall share with the team and I am sure it will motivate us even more to continue to strive to exceed the expectations of our guests.
It was our great pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards
Reza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently spent 9 nights at Kunja. We were recommended the Kunja by a friend and am so glad that we took his recommendation. We were celebrating a birthday family reunion and stayed in the 3 bedroom villa. Total 6 adults.
We had the time of our lives. We were staying in something that was described to me by one of the locals as some sort of palace!!!
The villa was amazing, All the staff were incredible, everything we asked for was attended too with no trouble and always with a smiling face. The pool and gardens were immaculately looked after, breakfast and afternoon tea was fantastic and the pancakes were to die for....
The location was great, and the transport service provided was a wonderful bonus.
I would definitely recommend the Kunja to anyone
Regards Dianna

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Dianna H,
Thank you so much for your kind comment & it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us. I am thankful for all of your comments and they have been shared with the team. Once again thank you for choosing the Kunja to spend your holiday in Bali and look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Reza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just finished 11 days at Kunja Villas in the Petitinget area of Seminyak. Spacious, very well maintained, just off the main road quiet and serene. The facilities and staff make a memorable stay and both the staff and the villas of the Kunja made ours truly memorable for all the right reasons. Helpfull, friendly, discrete, everything was done with a minimum of fuss, quietly and efficiently. Having seen the in-house guest comments and those on Trip advisor many return time and again. I know we will

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Moirfamily2013
Thank you very much for your generous compliments and recommendation of the resort, we are delighted that you had a memorable holiday with us. I am very pleased to learn that our staff have looked after you well and yes we're looking forward to welcome you back at The Kunja.

Warm Regards
Reza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

About to leave after 6 days at kunja. The villas are beautiful with amazing gardens and a great private pool. I loved the fact that kunja is not on a busy main road because you tend to go out exploring seminyak a little more by foot. Which is the best way to take everything in.

The staff are so friendly and will do anything for you. We would recommend kunja for a relaxing holiday

Regards Nick and Amy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Nickandamyc,
It was a true pleasure to welcome you at The Kunja Villa & Spa.

The team and myself are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for allowing us to contribute to your holiday!

We all look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a portion of our Honeymoon and first off, they picked us up at the airport immediately on time and Bima, who picked us up, was so friendly- he even helped us to recover one of our lost bags from the airline. The service continued to be as good the whole week. The in-villa breakfast and high tea was so wonderful. And the villa itself was stunning but also felt like home. We loved having our own pool and kitchen too. Seminyak is a little dicey when it comes to walking around so we were so grateful for their complimentary shuttle to anywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi AshHasSeenItAll,
Glad to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, much appreciated!
This is truly something I shall share with the team and it will motivate us even more to continue to strive to exceed expectations of our guests.
Bima sends his regard to you & looking forward to welcoming you back perhaps for an anniversary.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kunja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Hotel

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunja Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Kunja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kunja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.