We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing villas and beautiful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kunja Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kunja Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kunja Hotel
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 hotels in Seminyak
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing villas and beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Kunja Villas in a one bedroom villa. We arrived late on our wedding anniversary and the flowers on bed and rose petal bath and cake on arrival was so amazing.
We were so impressed by the friendly and very attentive staff. Wonderful breakfasts and afternoon teas in the villa were excellent. The villas are just amazing and cater for your every possible need. The transfers into town and airport transfer were very efficient. I do recommend you highly and we hope to return next year.
Thanks again
Karyn and Steve Williams

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Karyn & Steve,
It was a true pleasure to welcome you at The Kunja Villa & Spa,

The team and myself are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for allowing us to contribute to your wedding anniversary!

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Have a great time back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    30
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
186
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I just returned from a very romantic trip to Bali and was overwhelmed how wonderful and beautiful our one bedroom villa (#11) was at the Kunja. Everything down to the smallest detail was incredible! The pool was beautiful, the bedroom, the bed, and the bathroom.

The service was A # 1 !! I really need to highlight the following staff: Yasa, Madee (front desk), and Artek, not to leave out the rest of the staff.

Staying at the Kunja is the only option for us when we return to Bali!!! I have traveled millions of airmiles and this is the best place I have ever stayed!

Room Tip: We looked at the three bedroom villa, as well. All were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Sreckie,
Glad to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, much appreciated!
This is truly something I shall share with the team and it will motivate us even more to continue to strive to exceed expectations of our guests.
I wish everything went well on the "special" dinner that night & looking forward to welcoming you back perhaps for a honeymoon.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just spent 6 days at The Kunja. Our one bedroom villa was a perfect secluded haven for my partner and I, with a pool larger than we had anticipated.
The staff were extremely friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Everything we ordered, from breakfast to a driver, arrived exactly on time.
Breakfast and afternoon tea were great and plentiful.
The only place for improvement for us was the cocktails, they weren't the best.
We would highly recommend The Kunja, it deserves it's high rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Pearon,
Thank you so much for your kind comment & it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us. We also appreciate your honest feedback regarding our cocktail. Feedback such as yours is however important and our team will keep on developing our product & experience.
We hope that you plan another holiday in Bali in the future; it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here and highly recommend the Kunja. The villas are beautiful, private, spotlessly clean but what made the stay was the attentive staff. Seminyak is very busy and the villa was a haven to return to.
A couple of things the owners might want to think about. Breakfast is OK but better quality ingredients would improve them. Fruit juices are watery and very sweet. Bread and pastries are also sweet and flabby.
Secondly- we used the spa but only once. Staff seemed disinterested, disappeared for a while and quality of massage only average. Not the best since coming to Bali.
Kunja villas though are definitely worth considering and deserve the high rating they have on this site. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Davidrgriff,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments & sharing your constructive feedback.
I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at The Kunja and enjoyed the villa. I've noted about the breakfast and the Spa staff issue, those are something we addressed and acted upon, once again thank you for sharing these with us.
Once again thank you for choosing The Kunja Villa & Spa to spend your holiday in Bali & we look forward to welcome you back on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Kunja with our young daughters (aged 3 and 4).
It was absolutely fantastic. The accommodation, pool and local food recommendations were excellent. We took inflatable beds for the children and there was ample room for them in the 1 bedroom villa. The staff are, as accurately described in all of these reviews, a credit to this place. No request was a problem and we were always greeted with smiley, friendly faces.

I highly recommend the Kunja for a chilled, family holiday - something we didn't expect with 2 young children!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear LozzaMarwood,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I am pleased to read you had a memorable family vacation. It's always a pleasure to see families cherish the moments together and enjoy their holiday and if we can help in any way, it makes us feel even better.
I hope we have a chance to welcome you at the Kunja in the near future.

Best Regards
Reza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Kunja was a fantastic place to stay. We found it very peaceful, very comfortable. We felt totally spoilt. The staff couldn't do enough for us. When we asked the staff to serve breakfast at a certain time, they were there on time as with transport. The transport took us anywhere within the Kuta, Seminyak area. We loved going back to the villa after a day shopping, surfing and going for a swim in our private pool. It was like a haven to escape the busy streets which are close by. The bedroom was very large and comfortable. This area was airconditioned with an endsuite which was sort of outdoor but indoor. I don't know how else to explain it. These rooms were seperate from the lounge/kitchen area which were open and overlooked the pool. Every evening the staff came and turned our bed down and sprayed to prevent any nasty bugs.
I would highly recommend these villas especially for newlyweds or someone who wants to get married in Bali. They had the most beautiful chapel. We tried to encourage our daughter to get married their but they decided to get married close to home. One other thing I found was such a good idea and that was the large water bottle on tap. They dedin't hesitate to replace it when it was empty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jenny B,
Thank you so much for your warm and sincere comments about the team and the villa. It was a delight to have you stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We can not wait to get to this resort for our honeymoon in Sept 2013. The hotel and private rooms look amazing. The indoor BBQ and breakfasts sounds like a real treat in your own private hide away. The location sounds perfect with the hotel offering free bus rides or taxi journeys at a cost. The staff sound very friendly and helpful. Overal they appear to be a dream come true...I hope it lives up to our expectations as we have 8 nights at this place.
Looking forward to the trip.
Mr. Mistry UK.

Room Tip: Will Keep You Posted...photos to share upon return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Front Office Manager at The Kunja Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear TrueWords12,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we can't wait to have you here with us on your honeymoon and we will show you what Kunja has to offer.

See you soon.
Reza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kunja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Hotel

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunja Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Kunja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kunja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.