We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kunja Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Kunja Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Kunja Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Recently stayed here for a wedding. Everything was perfect! I seriously cant recommend the Kunja highly enough. The Villas are beautiful down to every detail. The rooms are very spacious, the beds are extremely comfortable! Loved the outdoor (still very private) bathroom. The staff are extremely happy and friendly and are happy to help no matter what your request. The airport pick up, complete with cool towel and bottle of water, was very welcoming. Staff cook breakfast in your villa each morning at the time you request, and they also clean your villa at the time that you request. They have a buggy that they are happy to drop you off anywhere nearby, as well as a few vans for trips further afield. As for its location, I thought it was perfect. its on a quiet street and although its a little bit away from the main shopping drag of Seminyak, its is still only a very short drive or maybe a 10-15min walk (just get the buggy). There is still numerous restaurants, pubs, bars and shops all within a very short walk, as well as a quality money exchange about 200mtr away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    34
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
72
224
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After many previous stays in Bali we decided to try a villa that was a little more up-market, and we ended up having the bext Bali villa experience of our lives. Absolutely everything was top notch, and most importantly, was a authentic Bali experience. I would not change anything about the experience it was perfection. The in-villa massage was the most relaxing of my life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were in Bali for a wedding so decided to stay at the Kunja for the 4 nights we'd be in Bali. Everything from the airport pick up (cool face towels and fresh water were a very nice touch) to dropping us off in the buggy around Seminyak when we went out for a wander were extremely thoughtful. The staff are lovely, though as you'd expect English abilities varied. All the staff were incredibly courteous and professional though, even helping arrange last minute laundry only 4hrs before the wedding. At $400USD (+ taxes) it's not a cheap holiday, but the grounds and facilities are truly wonderful (12ft walls around your villa keep much of the noise and bother out) I'd certainly recommend the Kunja!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 14 - just adjacent to the groundskeepers hut. There was some early evening bangin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I recently spent 2 days at The Kunja - two days was no where enough time !! What a wonderful place to relax the villas are beautiful and so comfortable. The Kunja staff were exceptional, they were so helpful and nothing was too much bother. It was hard to leave the villa (or the pool) to go out shopping or visiting the Bali sites. Looking forward to another visit in the not too distant future.
I can highly recommend The Kunja.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the Kunja Villa for 3 nights and would have loved to stay longer. From the minute you walk through the gate, you know you've come to a special place. The pool is so cool and inviting, and is 2.2m deep at the deep end. The outdoor living area is very spacious, with a full kitchen, dining table, large lounge and coffee table, and a very handy wall unit with cubbies to stash your belongings in. We loved the open-air bathroom - it was massive and the river rocks between the tiles make a nice feature. The bed was comfortable, and as usual they are vigilant about the mosquitos, spraying the room and lighting mozzie coils at turndown. Although the villas are located a short way out from the heart of Seminyak, the staff are happy to drop you off wherever you'd like to go. One night, they even picked us up after dinner at Sarong (which is just up the road) - in a golf buggy! This is the kind of villa you can spend the whole day at, just relaxing by the pool and enjoying the surroundings. We chose to have a seafood BBQ in the villa one night instead of going out, and the staff went out of their way to make it a special dinner. They hung decorations across the living area, put tealights all around the pool, had 2 staff cooking/serving and 2 musicians playing just for us. What a lovely experience! Only one minor criticism, we didn't think the breakfast was much to write home about - there's not much to choose from and we felt a bit strange that they stood there while we ate. However, it was made fresh and they did do a perfect poached egg! We will definitely return to the Kunja, maybe with friends next time to try out the 3-bedroom villa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We shared a three bedroom villa with friends for a week before a family wedding in Bali. The villa was superb, the staff very friendly and helpful and the standard of service for all our time was faultless.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom Villa in April with our 2 children aged 6 and 2 and loved every minute. The villa itself is beautiful with a large private swimming pool, 3 huge bedrooms, full kitchen and large dining/living. The gardens are beautifully maintained. Our sister travelled with us and had a 1 bedroom villa which was equally lovely.

Everything we needed was just a phone call away to reception and the staff are always happy to help and catered to our every need. I don’t think we ever heard the word ‘no’! We used the courtesy shuttle into Seminyak and Kuta quite and lot and they were at our door within minutes of phoning. Only on one occasion during our stay was a car not available and we caught a taxi instead. The courtesy car was very handy and is an essential service as it’s too hot to walk the 15mins into Seminyak.

The internet access from the Villa is great and free of charge which is a bonus as we were able to keep in touch with home/office easily.

We used the room service (meals bought from local restaurants), laundry service, massage and the Nanny to help with the kids and all the staff from cleaning to reception were fantastic. It is all the little things that they just manage to get right that make this place. I am a frequent and fussy traveller and still could not fault a thing with our stay.

Thank-you to all the staff at The Kunja, for making our holiday so wonderful and enjoyable. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We booked early enough and got a great package rate through the travel agent... much cheaper than bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kunja Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.