We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Service Ever Experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kunja Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Kunja Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Kunja Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best Service Ever Experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have traveled around Australia and overseas and stayed in many hotels and villas, but the Kunja Villas have to be the best I have ever experienced. Oka the Manager would visit every day to make sure we were happy and our daily Chef Wardika was lovely. We felt like this was a home away from home and all the staff were family. From the moment we arrived the airport transfer was friendly and caring with water and fresh face washers to cool us down. We even had a surprise cake on arrival. Security is excellent and the Villas are exactly as shown in the picture. Anything we wanted or needed we received. If you are not happy or want more to eat just ask and you shall receive. I am very fussy and have high expectations and I must say Kunja Villas exceeded them all. I miss the lovely clean pool and the gorgeous bathroom. Thankyou Kunja for a great stay we will be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 12 a one bedroom villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    33
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
71
224
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I came across Kunja Villas while I was looking for a wedding venue. From the very first moment – from the email enquiring about prices, I was hooked on the Kunja and Santi Chapel.

I set up a meeting time to look at the venue and discuss menus/prices. The staff at Kunja had organised for a viewing of the chapel and a meeting in a one bedroom villa. The villa was set up as it would be on the wedding night (so their honeymoon package) and there were chef’s there to cook us lunch so we could sample the menu.

I cancelled all my other appointments and booked Kunja Villas right away. The accommodation was just beautiful.

ACCOMDATION

The villa accommodation is just stunning. We hired out three bedroom villas and a one bedroom villa. The pool is the feature of the garden – the pool in the three bedroom villas is 13 metres long! The gardens are lush and green and full – the walls are high to ensure maximum privacy – but the gardens make you feel you are in a tropical paradise.

The bedrooms are very spacious and all have a very spacious wardrobe. Each room has an en-suite. These are beautifully decorated and the floor is a sea of stepping stones and river rocks. The bathroom is closed in on three sides and has a ceiling over it all – there is one open wall (the side with the massive bath) that has a bamboo curtain.

There is a fully equipped kitchen supplied in each villa. Every morning a staff member arrives on a push bike with a picnic basket. This basket contains all the food to make your breakfast with – they cook a feast for you each day.

The location is north Seminyak, so it is a little bit away from the main streets and the beach – although not a very long walk. Kunja offer one free drive into the Kuta/shopping area each day and then you find your own way back. I like the area because it is quiet – but still within walking distance to very nice places to eat and shop (only 500 metres down the road from Café Jemme).

The staff were only too happy to help and always had a lovely smile for us as we past. The villa complex is quite large, and if you would like, there is a golf buggy that the staff will use to drive you to and from your room.

On the night of the wedding, the villa was beautifully decorated with rose petals, a flower bath and a ‘happy honeymoon’ cake in the fridge. They also advised us that we could check out whatever time we liked so that we were not rushed the next morning.


SANTI CHAPEL AND WEDDING

Yani and Melly who handled most of my queries and the staff who were there on the night of the wedding were just fabulous. They were incredibly professional, organised and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them – I had emailed through lots of details about how I would like the event set up and they were more than happy to help.

We had our ceremony in the chapel – which is just a stunning venue. We had our reception in the three bedroom villa at the very back of the complex. There was a noise condition though – we had to wind down the night at 10pm, so as to not disturb other guests. As we wanted a band – there was a condition that we booked out four villas. We booked all the villas back from the chapel to meet this condition. Kunja were willing to offer us a discounted price on the villas.

Kunja organised everything to do with the ceremony – they organised the flowers, the legalities and decoration. I was given pictures of different options to choose from.

The reception was beautiful. Tables were set up around the pool, and we used the lounge room as the dance floor and the dining area for the band. The staff were only too happy for all the furniture to be moved from the lounge into the bedrooms.

We did have to ask that the bedrooms be opened (they were locked when we arrived) so that we could use the bathrooms – the one bathroom was not enough for 50 people.

Everything ran very smoothly thanks to the staff – dinner was cooked and served on time.

The Kunja were also willing to negotiate on certain things. Because we agreed to a minimum spend on food, beer and soft drinks, they allowed us to bring in our own wine and did not charge us corkage. We had to rent each wine/champagne glass for a set price. There were lots of other areas were the Kunja were willing to negotiate/alter plans.

The staff were also very kind – I emailed to ask if they knew where I would be able to hire a guitar (as we had asked a guest to sing at out wedding) and one of the staff members offered their guitar for use, for free. They even offered to let us have it for a few days prior to the wedding so that our guest could practise. As I said, nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would recommend Kunja Villas very highly. We had an amazing experience and can not wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

We had the most amazing stay at the kunja! From the minuite Bagus picked us up from the airport to the minuite we left The Kunja staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you! We arrived at the airport and Bagus had cold towels and bottles of ice cold water for us he then drove us to the hotel with details about Bali and the villa.
on arrival there was no faffing around with check in he took us straight to our villa and gave us all the info we needed there!

The villa is stunning!!! Meticulously cleaned every day at a time of your choice and they are all very friendly and speak great english!

We had breakfast cooked for us every morning by Wadika who was brilliant, you have a choice of American, continental, indonisian, pancakes (you have to try these) and cereals all are served with juice tea fresh fruit and toast and cousiants those who thought there isn't enough choice are being unrealistic!

We had the BBQ on our first night I would recommend it the food was great and created a real feel of Bali!

The villa is nice and privet with high Walls but it's huge high roof creates the feeling of lots of space. The staff never enter uninvited and always seek your permition before entering!

As for the town, those who say it is not in walking distance to shops are clearly VERY lazy!!! There is a mini mart a 2 minuite walk down the road and various small restaurants also only a 3/5 minuite walk away! Lots of spas and small clothes and bag shops also only 5 mins away.
I would recommend sarong a 3 min walk with beautiful food and setting! Seminyak square is about a 20 minuite walk, here u will find shops both designer and craft and markets I can only assume this is why people feel the kunja is too far from
Shops but the hotel provide a very good drop off service all we had to do was walk to the reception desk and ask for a lift, we never had to wait any longer than 2 minutes to get a car or buggy! A great service!
Taxis from seminyak square were only 20,000 R and are very easy to find!

Some have mentioned that the kunja is in a dirt track, I wouldn't go that far! Yes the read needs resurfacing but the road is only
Dammaged for about 100-200meters and really isn't a problem to walk on there are other hotels and villas sharing the road! The only thing I will say is it could
Do with being slightly more lit.

Oka the manager came into see us with gifts on our seconday day and popped in throughout our stay to make sure we were happy and gave us some recommendations, always handy!
My favourite was the breeze! Set on the beach with the mist amazing food and cocktails you have to visit!!!

You also have to have the in villa spa treatments all amazing and so relaxing!!

All in all the kunja made our honeymoon the most amazing Balanise experience for us! We plan to return on our 30th wedding anniversary lol!!!
Thank you to absolutely every one at the kunja especially bagus Wadika and oka!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have just stayed in a 3 bedroomed villa at the Kunja and had a wonderful time. We had booked the Dusun villas for 11 nights but our villa was burnt down in a recent fire. Due to them being fully booked we were " re housed " at the Kunja for 8 nights. The Villas are tastefully furnished and staff are very friendly. We loved our cooked breakfasts and the "open limo" ( golf buggy) to take us out and about . The Kunja offered a superior service compared to the Dusun. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed at the Kunja over NYE's last year.... a chance event at the last minute that they had a gorgeous 1brm villa available when we asked! A fabulous place, with every detail catered to. Pick up from airport went smoothly and check in all fantastic after our very early morning flight.. unfortunately we couldn't get into our room earlier than the check in time, so we were dropped at Grocer and Grind to hang out for a few hours...

Typical Bali villa - just magic. Breakfast cooked in your villa each morning for you by the staff (usual american or indo bfast, fruit & coffee) which was nice, but kinda strange because instead of just heading down to the restaurant each morning when you eventually got up, you had an 'appointment' each morning which you either had to stick to or ring up beforehand and change if that morning you didn't feel like getting up yet!

They don't have a restaurant on site and so have arrangements at each of the nearby restaurants to pick up "room service" for you... we didn't try this as we were feeling more like going out to eat on this trip, and also we thought that the food might be cold by the time it got to you? especially with Bali traffic? but as I said, we didn't try it..

Also be aware! the only aircon part of the villa is the bedroom... the lounge and dining is 'open air' under a gorgeous high ceiling with fans... whilst didn't matter too much for us generally, if you want respite from the bali tropics, you have to be in the bedroom! even the gorgeous massive bathroom is 'outside' of the aircon part...

overall a nice place to stay...but a few little things mean I'd probably try another place before going back for a 2nd time...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The balinese villas are large and spacious and the pool is the biggest we have seen for a 1 bedroom villa. you have your own breakfast chef which is great and all the staff are very friendly and very helpful. It is in a quiet area of Seminyak but too far to walk to the beach every day so we hired a scooter to get around although the staff will take you anywhere in the villa transport. there are lots of bars and cafes in the area just 100 metres down the road. the villas are good value for money and can be highly recommended. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: the kunja is a great place to stay and is good for families as they can put a pool fence up and plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Spent 8 days at The Kunja recently. What a fantastic place!

The entire team, lead by Oka were fantastic. They couldn’t do enough to help. I would recommend the in room BBQ. For the price it was a steal and included two musicians playing traditional music.

The rooms were perfect. Private, clean, spectacular. The private pool was a highlight.

I would recommend this resort to anyone and would stay there again without a doubt.

Oka and the team, thanks for all you did. We truly enjoyed our stay!!

Lindsay and Ben

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kunja Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.