We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true - absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | Steps Away to Eat Street, Award Winning Restaurants, Boutiques, Funky Shops and the Beach, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$325 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
south of Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true - absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We are so grateful for having chosen The Ulin Villas for our one-week stay in Seminyak. It is a perfect 10!

The staff is friendly and they will do everything to fulfil your needs and desires. The service is fast and precise. The laundry service is cheap, fast and efficient. They returned our clothes fresh and clean on the same day. The breakfast menu has a good list to choose from so that you don’t get bored of the same items. It’s very tasty also and nicely set up on the plate.
In the evenings candles are set up around the pool which is a nice touch.

The location of the villa is excellent: it is close to Jl Laksmana where there are many good restaurants to choose from and it is not that far from the beach. The hotel car will take you there if you wish. We preferred our own pool to the beach for its privacy.

As I said there are a few good restaurants around the corner on Jl Laksmana that we can recommend: the Último, Chandi and a Moroccon restaurant (can’t remember the name, but the lamb is delicious). However, the highly praised La Lucciola was a real disappointment to us. It has a nice location by the beach and it looks very lovely with the lightning at night but the food was nothing to praise for and it is highly overpriced. Do not go there!

All in all, The Ulin Villas exceeded our expectations in more than one way. You cannot go wrong when choosing it! Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    50
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
109
266
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Cannot express enough how excellent this Villa is. To be honest I thought I was in an endless heaven/paradise. Would recommend this Villa to anyone without hesitation. The service provided by the staff was excellent, the rooms so clean and not just an ordinary villa - in fact is extraordinary. Great "turn down service" included such beautiful candles around the pool area. So close to all the good restaurants in Seminyak - will definitely go back to this Villa. Have had many stays in hotels/villas over time - this would have to be one of the best ever. Twenty four hour service and I felt very safe. At the end of the day you really do get what you pay for and this was hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

There are so many villas to choose from in Seminyak, but I'm glad to have chosen Ulin. The location is superb - just off a road packed full of restaurants, with a couple of mini marts and a few other shops.
Being in the Travel Trade line, I've been promoting all the Villas in Bali for my mostly expat client. However, I missed out Ulin Villas & Spa in my recommendation list. After experiencing Ulin Villas & Spa on my recent holiday trip, Ulin Villas will be on my top recommendation list to all my clients, friends and extended family.
We've stayed in their Three Bedrooms Villa for 4 nights.The villa was just fabulous.Your private pool is actually big enough to swim in, and it was great to have a fridge (which is stocked with complimentary drinks and crisps). There is also a full sized water dispenser which is a great idea - saved us having to constantly buy bottled water but a kettle should be included for my little one which they unable to provide, but that was just a minor that we managed to solve. And the living area was too....warm. While there are 2 ceiling fans in the kitchen and dining area, there is none in the TV area. Apart from that everything was perfectly heaven. The ground, pool, and outdoor bathroom are all well-maintained. The housekeeping staff were very efficient in setting everything to order and putting out mosquito coils and pool lights at dusk.
It's a great Villa in Semiyak area. A team with professional skill and services.Guest service manager Wira is very capable in handling customer issues.
To say I would recommend these villas and would stay here again in a heartbeat. For your record, I'm coming back again in March and just got my booking secured with Ulin Villas Three Bedrooms Villa. Can't get enough of both Ulin Villas and Bali :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

In our experience, it is unusual to find a property that delivers everything promised on their website. The Ulin Villas was a very pleasant exception. The Villas are very private, self contained and (from our investigations) some of the largest on offer in the Seminyak area. The property is very well maintained and at 4 years old is not showing any signs of aging. Level of service is perfect - very friendly but not annoying. Every staff member was helpful, happy and full of information when required. Breakfast was cooked in the private kitchen every morning at a time to suit us and the BBQ cooked in our Villa (way too much food and all very tasty). The fridge was stocked every day with a couple of beers, soft drinks, chips and nuts - complimentary. We enjoyed the bicycles (complimentary) and when it came time to hire a motorbike, the staff arranged for an third-party to bring it to us at no additional cost. Although the Villas are very quiet and peaceful, the entrance is only metres from Jalan Laksmana with many restaurants and shops. For visits to restaurants and shopping in other areas, transport was available when required and also provided without additional cost. We will definitely return to The Ulin Villas and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, NT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Ulin Villas for 4 nights as an early anniversary celebration. We chose these villas based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The villa actually exceeded our expectation. We really loved it all....the pool was the biggest bonus. It was long enough to get some exercise & we loved being able to swim early or late at night. While not glitzy, it was so comfortable yet indulgent that I'm thinking of ways to incorporate the style into our own tropical home.
The breakfasts were fantastic and we enjoyed being able to sample different meals each day. The chefs were very efficient and professional. The rooms are spacious and well fitted out. The only very minor quibble was that it was difficult to see inside the wardrobe, especially for access to the safe. The rest of the lighting in the dressing room was fine.
The housekeeping staff were very efficient in setting everything to order and putting out mosquito coils and pool lights at dusk.
The location near Jl Laksaman is ideal --only a couple of minutes walk to shops, mini-mart, a bookshop, coffee shops, restaurants...what more could you want?
We both had great massages from the Spa and also a wonderful body treatment.

If you're coming here from somewhere else and the driver doesn't know the location, look out for the large sign for Ultimo restaurant which is on the corner you need to turn at.
Thanks to all the friendly and helpful staff at Ulin.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Winawan the operation manager was very helpful & patient with my endless questions and requests before I confirm my reservation.
Everyone was very friendly and service was generally quite good thou a tad slow at times (but then pace of life is much slower here)
We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and the pool was great. Wooden fences (not very pretty but for safety sake) was provided because they know I had a toddler with me. They also arranged for a microwave so I could easily heat up my child's food. Kitchen is quite well equipped but a can opener can be included.
Though they have quite a no. of villas, it was really quiet throughout our stay. I love the privacy we had and the space. Lots of room for the little one to run around. The property is located in a little back lane but it's a mere 2-3 mins walk from the main street. Didn't see alot of stray drogs if u r worried abt them and rabies.
The massages are good. I tried the hot stone massage and it was complete bliss! So good! I highly recommend it. Go for the 2 hrs if u can afford the time.
My only complaints were that the dressing area was too dark. The light at the basin was not working and was not fixed after we told the staff twice. Then on the 2nd nite the main lights stopped working. So it was totally dark. But this was fixed on the next day.
And the living area was too....warm. While there are 2 ceiling fans in the kitchen and dining area, there is none in the TV area. We planned to have some family time here, watch some DVDs but it was just too warm to do so. I saw on some pictures that some villas living area is air conditioned, maybe only selected ones are.
Overall, was a good stay. Great for family with children.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The Ulin Villas & Spa were wonderful - Having our own private villa was a perfect way to spend 12 glorious days with my husband celebrating 20 years of marriage. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The food was outstanding and the Spa was glorious. We just want to know where they hide the noise cancelling equipment because it was just so quiet. I really could fault nothing and would definitely like to return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | Steps Away to Eat Street, Award Winning Restaurants, Boutiques, Funky Shops and the Beach, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.