We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL
Ranked #4 of 89 hotels in Seminyak
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You just can't go past these amazing villas for your next trip to Bali. Fabulous location right in Seminyak but quiet as it's set down a side street. The staff were truely exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
Pros: Breakfast cooked daily in the villa
Car service to and from Airport and as far as Kuta and surrounding areas
Large private pool
Welcome foot massage on arrival
Delightful garden and setting which is candle lit nightly and continous mosquito coils to deter the insects
Fantastic staff
Brilliant location
Large very comfortable bedroom, livingroom, change area and a spectacular outdoor bathroom
Outdoor kitchen with fridge, oven and cooktop if you feel inclined
100 Candle Dinner which for our special celebration was divine. More food than we could eat and our villa garden decorated beautifully with even more candles than usual.
If you are after a beautiful villa where your privacy is respected, you are treated beautifully then this is for you. Although at times it would have been nice to sit around a busy bar and meet fellow travellers ( not that my husband and I grew tired of each others company of course!), the complex only has a tiny cafe which was generally empty. For that type of scene you only need to venture 100 metres and you're in the heart of Seminyak where there are a multitude of bars and restaurants to chose from.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 8 right down the back but I think any of them are just as quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear “Australianginny”

It was our pleasure to welcome you to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. On behalf all team members I wish to thank you for taking your valued time to share your review at TripAdvisor.com.

It is very rewarding to learn that you had a wonderful holiday experience and to know all team members were wonderful, friendly and went out their way to ensure your stay is relaxing. Thank you to your high appreciation to our villas, facilities and your special recognition to our “signature romantic candle light dinner” upon your special celebration which was divine. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
240
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ulin Villas are absolutely deserving of their outstanding reviews on Trip Advisor; and they work very hard to maintain their excellent standard of service.

PROS -
* Beautifully appointed and spacious villas, decorated in the traditional Balinese style. Very private!
* Large private pool which gets a good amount of sunlight during the day
* Beautifully maintained gardens in each villa - with an area of lawn for children to play.
* 1BR villas have a separate living space, separated by a door from the main bedroom. We used this for our 2 young children; Ulin Villas kindly set up cots for both our daughters (even our 3yo fit in a cot, as it was very large, and she loved it!). This is a huge plus as the area is still air conditioned but separated from our bedroom, without being in a separate building like the 2BR villas.
* Very child-friendly. The staff went out of their way to assist in every way possible to ensure a comfortable stay for our 1yo and 3yo. They provided a pool fence, microwave to sterilise bottles, cots, all at no extra cost. Nothing was too much trouble!
* BRILLIANT location, just off Eat Street. Lots of fabulous restaurants and clothing / homeware stores just around the corner. Yet Ulin Villas is set back from the main street so once inside it is a haven of peace. Walking distance or short inexpensive taxi ride from the main beach clubs like Potato Head and KuDeTa (be sure to take the blue taxis and insist on the driver using the meter!).
* Complimentary shuttle service to all the local restaurants and shops
* Very friendly staff and excellent level of service
* In-villa BBQ is a real treat
* Staff went out of their way to ensure our daughter had a very special 1st birthday - on the afternoon a large group of staff all came to our villa with a cake to sing Happy Birthday to her!

Thanks to all the staff at Ulin Villas for making our time so relaxing. We will most definitely be back, hopefully in the not too distant future :)

Room Tip: Villa 5 was positioned half way along the driveway and we found it perfect! 1BR villa layout worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear “Lisaski”

It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we are very happy to hear that your experience at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was perfection in every way, right from the spacious beautiful villas, the private pool, child-friendly lay out, the brilliant location and above all the exceptional service from all team members.

We are pleased to know that your daughter had a pleasant birthday (her 1st birthday celebration) at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. Thank you once again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ulin Villas are a luxurious and romantic place to stay, and the best part is that while they are sleekly fashionable, they still feel Balinese. The one bedroom we stayed in was furnished in international style but it's outdoor bathroom and shower and iconic Bales made it feel classically Indonesian. We were impressed with every detail. The pool is elegant, absolutely private ( good for romance) and large enough to exercise in. A lovely touch is having your breakfast cooked for you in your outdoor room adjacent to the pool. The breakfast was first rate- and it felt like having your own house ( we should all be so lucky). Other nice touches are an included foot rub (not sure that is offered to everyone) and a welcome drink ( that is offered at most Bali hotels). While the price of the Ulin Villas is considerable- about 425 for the one bedroom model, we felt it was comparable to Villas that cost twice as much. Lots of little extras, like a delicious afternoon tea delivered to your room make you feel extremely well taken care off. One note: some of the villas are being redecorated and the outdoor bathrooms will become indoor with windows that let the fresh air in. The new color scheme is even more elegant than the old one, Unless you are looking for something more truly traditional, its hard to think you can do better than the Ulin Villas, One final note though: this is in the thick of Seminyak about a ten minute walk to the beach. Seminyak is, to say the least,, intense. The beach (Kuta) is wide and the waves are great for surfing, but you can get various beach salespeople bugging you there... If you are looking for a quiet , isolated neighborhood, this isn't it. While it is an oasis of calm inside your beautiful villa, the outside is jumping.
Finally, we ate at a terrific restaurant, on the recommendation of the extremely well prepared and sweet staff.-- I definitely would go back to Metis if I could. Gorgeous, glam place but looks didn't sacrifice taste- the desert soufflés, especially the chocolate and Grand Marnier were just amazing. Perfect.

Room Tip: If you want the newly decorated rooms they should be done by next April- but honestly I think the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear “couplessPS”

We are truly pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed the experience you had at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review.

All of our villas are designed to deliver the ultimate pool villa experience, tropical luxury, Balinese cutting edge architecture and the modern comforts. We have successfully completed our moke-up (villa sample) to figure out on how the new interior would look like in the future. We are planning to change our color mood and the interior to be even better and to represent the elegant Balinese design. I am also happy to know all staff members looked after you well and were very attentive to all your requests. All of us at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a small luxury boutique hotel just next to happening 'Seminiyak' street. Once you enter your villa you will forget the busy street & the villa will mesmerize you. Lavish private pool, open kitchen,separate spa area, open bathroom & beautiful four poster bed, TV lounge, etc....make it an exotic place to be.

I found ULIN Villas value for money in terms of location & luxury in heart of Seminiyak. If you like stay slightly further away from the main happening place, you would be able to find other nice smaller boutique hotels in slightly cheaper tariffs with similar luxuries. One could explore & choose. If you are happy to get the best luxury at a convenience location...this is a good place.

We had breakfast every morning which was a delight. Maria our cook use to come & cook fresh omelets or anything you like from the menu. Very delicious & very well presented.
Reception staff could be more courteous & welcoming. Which I though needs improvement. Besides this no flaws at all.

Kids friendly hotel & overall an excellent experience....
Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear “amitsawhney”

I am delighted to read that your recent stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was a wonderful experience with a great value for what you spent.

THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA perfectly located close to all the restaurants, award winning night life, beach and shops. I am pleased to know you have made the most of our prime location. I will also be very happy to pass your personal recognition to Maria (our Food and Beverage service team), she must be very happy to know.

My self and all team members are very much look forward to share the beautiful Bali has to offer again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ulin was our choice after a lot of research. We wanted somewhere special for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Villa 9 was perfect behind the spa so very quiet and had the sun on the pool most of the day. Our BBQ dinner was wonderful including Frangipanis scattered all over the gardens. Our pool lanterns were lit every night and our mozzie coils burnt nearly 24/7... Nothing was ever too much trouble our breakfast was served quickly and efficiently and our villa clean was always done when we returned from being out. The staff were delightful always smiling and ready to help. You are spoilt for choice with Eat Street 50 metres away and in villa dining was also really good. Will never stay anywhere else when in Seminyak.

Room Tip: Villa 9 was the first Villa on the right hand side half way down. It was exceptionally quiet and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear “Robbielowep1”

It was our pleasure to welcome you to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA on your special celebration “30th wedding anniversary”. We were honored.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your villa and the sincere friendly service from all team members who were always ready to help. We are also happy to hear that you loved the in villa BBQ, the breakfast and the romantic setting of the villa that bring you a holiday experience you will always remember.

All of us at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and didnt want to return.

The resort is located amid the busy Seminiyak street yet secluded enough to have a peacuful stay.

And one of the nicest part of the stay was to wakeup in the morning at our own leisure, yet the breakfast being served inside our villa, that too custom made to our liking.

Thank you Ulin for making our Holiday a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The bathroom & shower area of all the villas fall adjacent to each other due to which one may he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear "dijamk"

We wish to thank you for reviewing your experience of your recent stay at The Ulin Villas and Spa. I am very excited to read that your honeymoon has been very romantic, relaxing and enjoyable.

The Ulin Villas and Spa is a mix of ultimate privacy, great location and sincere care that Bali is famed for. I am pleased to know that you loved the in villa breakfast and every single little touch that made your stay memorable. Once again thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review.

My self and all team members look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I could not fault the Ulin Villas. Location is excellent. Service is amazing. Villas are in excellent condition. Food is great. Staff are very friendly! I am so glad we spent the last two nights of our honeymoon here. Absolute bliss. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear “Jess H”

On behalf all team members I wish to thank you for taking your valued time to share your review at TripAdvisor.com. I am very happy to hear that your honeymoon stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was simply an amazing experience.

I am also delighted to learn that our team members were all very friendly and helped you to make the most out of your stay. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.