We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful memories of our 30th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL
Ranked #3 of 92 hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful memories of our 30th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ulin was our choice after a lot of research. We wanted somewhere special for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Villa 9 was perfect behind the spa so very quiet and had the sun on the pool most of the day. Our BBQ dinner was wonderful including Frangipanis scattered all over the gardens. Our pool lanterns were lit every night and our mozzie coils burnt nearly 24/7... Nothing was ever too much trouble our breakfast was served quickly and efficiently and our villa clean was always done when we returned from being out. The staff were delightful always smiling and ready to help. You are spoilt for choice with Eat Street 50 metres away and in villa dining was also really good. Will never stay anywhere else when in Seminyak.

Room Tip: Villa 9 was the first Villa on the right hand side half way down. It was exceptionally quiet and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear “Robbielowep1”

It was our pleasure to welcome you to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA on your special celebration “30th wedding anniversary”. We were honored.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your villa and the sincere friendly service from all team members who were always ready to help. We are also happy to hear that you loved the in villa BBQ, the breakfast and the romantic setting of the villa that bring you a holiday experience you will always remember.

All of us at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
95
241
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and didnt want to return.

The resort is located amid the busy Seminiyak street yet secluded enough to have a peacuful stay.

And one of the nicest part of the stay was to wakeup in the morning at our own leisure, yet the breakfast being served inside our villa, that too custom made to our liking.

Thank you Ulin for making our Holiday a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The bathroom & shower area of all the villas fall adjacent to each other due to which one may he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear "dijamk"

We wish to thank you for reviewing your experience of your recent stay at The Ulin Villas and Spa. I am very excited to read that your honeymoon has been very romantic, relaxing and enjoyable.

The Ulin Villas and Spa is a mix of ultimate privacy, great location and sincere care that Bali is famed for. I am pleased to know that you loved the in villa breakfast and every single little touch that made your stay memorable. Once again thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review.

My self and all team members look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I could not fault the Ulin Villas. Location is excellent. Service is amazing. Villas are in excellent condition. Food is great. Staff are very friendly! I am so glad we spent the last two nights of our honeymoon here. Absolute bliss. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear “Jess H”

On behalf all team members I wish to thank you for taking your valued time to share your review at TripAdvisor.com. I am very happy to hear that your honeymoon stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was simply an amazing experience.

I am also delighted to learn that our team members were all very friendly and helped you to make the most out of your stay. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I just returned from a 5night stay at Ulin Villas and quite enjoyed it.

Pros:
- Location!! The villas are located just off the middle of the main shopping/restaurant street.
- Villa size. We stayed in a 1bdr villa and it is perfect for a couple. The pool is also huge (the biggest 1bdr villa pool in Seminyak I'm told)
- Villa staff are lovely. All the staff were always sure to say hi and were always very polite.
- The gardens. Need to make special mention to this. From the villa surroundings to inside the the villa itself, everything is lovely and well kept. (We especially loved the frangipani tree)

Cons:
- The breakfast menu may be limiting to some. While it has many choices I found that it was really centred around eggs for the more 'western' mains.
- Some of the furniture seemed like it needed an update. Our couch had a small hole in it and our TV was out of sync. Our iPod dock also didn't have an adaptor for it (not sure if previous occupants made off with it?)
- Wifi drops in and out sometimes regardless of where you are in the villa.
- Bathroom was quite dark (lights aren't overly bright) as there is no natural light from the outside (*A little note, the bathrooms are outdoors and may back onto more of an open garden to the villa next to you. This may bother some people, but in Villa 9 we had the spa next to our bathroom so it was bliss for us.)

The only personal issue I had was part of our package we had a 20min foot massage and canapes upon departure included. During check in nothing was mentioned about massage. My mum has also stayed at Ulin and when I came home she told me I needed to book this, but again I was not told this by staff. When I departed, no canapes either! I only realised these were missing when I got home and checked the email the villa sent me upon booking! That said these are minor issues and would not stop me from staying here when I visit bali next

Thanks for the lovely stay Ulin Villas

Room Tip: If you book a 1bdr ask for Villa 9. Its very private (spa on one side, bedroom of villas on the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear "nattyw"

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review on tripadvisor. My self and all team members are very happy to hear that your had a lovely stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. We are pleased to read how much you love the location, the private villa, our team members who were lovely and the manicured garden. Your feedback and comments you have mentioned on your cons list is very much appreciated. We are committed to use your suggestion and feedback to persistently improve.

We are excited and would love to welcome you back again on your future visit to the island of Bali.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overview: I've traveled to Bali over 20 times and stayed in many villas across the Island. Simply said: Ulin Villas is at the very top of the list! You have no fear at Ulin Villas that you are not going to get a top-notch experience; everything you read here on the reviews, and as illustrated in the photos, is accurate. This is a first class villa, with first class service and management. Given all the many choices I have when I return to Bali each year, I always come back to Ulin Villas!
Specifics: Great location; highly professional and polite staff; large, well appointed villas; excellent pool. All of the villas are of the same quality and style. Superb!
I highly recommend a stay at Ulin Villas...it will exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear "MadePaul2014"

Please allow me to thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you again at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA, moreover on your most recent return visit. It is very rewarding to know a loyal customer like you voted us as your top list of your choice when visiting Bali. Thank you very much also for recommending us to other travelers, highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA, your home in Bali.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

From the airport pick up to drop off we could have asked for anything else. Breakfast cooked in our Villa each day even at 5.00am due to early flight. BBQ in Villa was awesome food and decorations. Staff were excellent from emergency first aid late at night to advice where to eat when our preferred option was not available. We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear "Alison B"

It was our pleasure to welcome to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA and thank you for taking your valued time to review your stay.

We are very happy to know that your holiday was very relaxing and exceeded your every expectation right from the the timeless beauty of the Balinese ambience of our villas, the perfect location and the exceptional service from all team members who were always helpful and went beyond their way to ensure your stay is comfort and perfectly enjoyable. My self and all team members here are also pleased to read that you loved the in villa BBQ some much.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ulin Villas for 1 week and had the most wonderful time. I have rarely stayed anywhere that I was so comprehensively satisfied as I was here. The location is simply superb - so central but also hidden away. The place feels so private and exclusive with your own wonderful private pool and everything you need a hassle free call away. The villas as simply gorgeous - designed wonderfully both inside and out. Service from the team wad exceptional. We really missed this place when we left. If I had one small complaint it is that the wifi and internet need to be better. It is there, it is free but it is not very good - small but necessary room for improvement.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear “Ian R”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review.

I am delighted to learn that your stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was simply wonderful, right from the exceptional service level from all team members, the super-central location, the villas that were simply gorgeous and the every little touch that made your stay comfortable and super relaxing. We highly value your comments on the internet connection which was not meeting your personal expectation.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again on your future visit to the island of Bali.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.