We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation and service in Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | Steps Away to Eat Street, Award Winning Restaurants, Boutiques, Funky Shops and the Beach, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$355 (USD)
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best accomodation and service in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My Partner and I stayed at Ulin from 27/12/2012 - 04/01/2013 and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The staff including Yusnawa, Widi and Wira were friendly, extremely helpful and went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed every second of our stay. This was our 6th trip to Bali and Ulin is by far the best accomodation we have stayed in. The rooms were cleaned to perfection every day. The gardens and pool were spotless. Every evening the staff came around and put out mosquito repellent and candles around the pool and outdoor bathroom area. Breakfast and complimentry afternoon tea were delicious.
We wanted to visit Ayana and we were driven out by an air-conditioned coach and then bought back once we had finished there. Location is perfect because you can walk to most things, but its not too close to be noisy. We can't wait to go back to Ulin!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear “Meagan C”

We wish to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to find that you made the most of your holiday and enjoyed your time with us from the beautiful villa, location and above all the sincere non-intrusive service delivered by our team members (most especially Yusnawa, Widi and Wira). We are all excited and hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    51
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
110
273
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Actually last reviewer couldn't be more concise, so before writing my review about Ulin Villas, just want to add few words about Seminyak.

I've visited Bali the first time 10 years ago. It felt magical, unspoiled and inviting
My second time was last July and we decided to go to Jimbaran..since we live back in Asia, lately we've heard so much about Seminyak and all its choices available for dining, so we decided to scape from our über quiet villa and head to Seminyak..it took us more than an hour. This time we visited we almost missed our flight because we were stuck in traffic for more than an hour for mere 6 miles!
My first advise to you, know exactly what's the area you want to see in Bali, either the better beach, the rice fields areas, charming Ubud, etc, etc. and stay there if possible. Bali is nothing like before, you leave your oasis villa or hotel, thinking you are going to explore out-of-the-way places and you end up sitting in the car for more than 5hrs. Traffic is madness.

That's why we opted for Seminyak this time considering that it was NYE and we were in the mood for lots of partying; dining and shopping. That's all that Seminyak has to offer, indeed shops are a treat for eager shoppers, lots of amazing concept restaurants (lack of local, real and cheap restaurants) and nice bars but the beach is the worst I've seen. Exploring other areas except your own seems like nightmare these days.

Now back to Ulin villas, considering the chaos, traffic and noise in the main street it's true what other reviewers say, it felt sooo quiet. Make sure when you book, to ask for the villas far from the entrance. Due to high occupancy we were in villa No. 2. It was quieter than expected though.

Service impeccable, very discreet, helpful. Airport pick up, such a relief. Our driver was so nice, he explained about all the amenities in the villa so by the time we reached the place, we gave our passports and head straight to the villa. He also offered to stop along the way to fill our car with groceries, we found a bit odd at the beginning but the villa is equipped with kitchen, large fridge, and mini bar with lots of drinks and snacks. The pool and gazebo area are so inviting despite the fact that the villa compound is a bit like cluster house style. We were delighted to have bought a few snacks.
Service staff came to our villa every morning and prepare breakfast on the spot. They will turn down the beds and believe me you want to be disturbed every afternoon just to see all the lighted lamps around the villa and pool. Romantic!! We had BBQ at the villa, selection was O-K but this time I could t care less after seeing how they fixed the place.
Garden is impeccably manicured. Nice pool and very good size compared to other villas in Seminyak. Villa quite spacious.
Not a complain, but we found the deco a bit outdated and dark, not that bother me at all but compared to other places I've been, this one was a bit dark.
Also bathroom, you do have lots of space for your clothes, but the sink area is so small that you always end up having a mess, I guess the bathrooms need some revamping.

If you are planing to head to Seminyak, I would definitely recommend this place. Other reviewers also hit in the spot about this place.

Room Tip: Go for the ones further away from entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear “MsTravelbug76”

I am happy to read that your time with us was amazingly great and I am delighted to hear that you loved the impeccable service, discreet and helpful staffs that inimitable Bali. Our island of Bali indeed experienced some changes since your fist visit 10 years ago but the sincerity of the people, the spiritual life and the friendliness of the Balinese are remain. Our government has been doing some positive effort to overcome the traffic issue. Some new road and traffic control system are being developed where I believe will positively solve the issue very soon. It was a pleasure having you with us and really look forward to seeing you again on your future Bali trip.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were really looking forward to beginning 2013 with a short 5 days visit to Bali and had checked into one of the designer villa resorts in Seminiyak. Much to our dismay, the Villa lacked even the most basic of services. Luckily for us, I had been in contact with Pak Wayan, the General Manager of The Ulin Villas and Spa. I reached out to him by email re the possibility of getting a villa and within a matter of minutes he responded positively and sent over a car to fetch us.

In hindsight, it was the best decision we made throughout our brief holiday. Despite the rainy weather, just staying at this small resort made it all worth while:

- It is brilliantly located at the center of Seminiyak
- The service is impeccable - Particular mention to Ibu Wira and Ibu Delma
- The room service food is very good
- The SPA is just perfect
- And finally, the Villas are just perfect. Clean, well maintained and top quality.

We will certainly be recommending this to all our friends and family and personally look forward to visiting again......soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear “Ranjit K”

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your review. I am thrilled to hear that your holiday with us was fantastic and exceeded your every expectation. It was also a pleasure meeting you few times during your stay. Thank you for talking highly about the level of service performed by our team members especially Ms. Wira and Ms. Delima. Glad to hear that you got the chance to try our spa and our food services. I am happy to hear that you loved it. Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

1. Impeccable services - Friendly staff, flexible check in and check out timings (we got extended check out time till 6pm as our flight was shceduled at night), complimentary drop off at Kuta and Seminyak area (loved this), complimentary bicycles rental, free drinks (including Bintang beer) and snacks topped up daily....etc..just too many freebies

2. Breakfast - great varieties from local to american breakfasts, all cooked a la minute at your villa, and the food was great!

3. Personal touch - we celebrated one of our most unforgettable anniversaries at Ulin Villa, and the staff were so sweet to arrange rose petal bath and rows of candles along the bedroom corridor.

4. Location - very conveniently located at the heart of hip restaurants such as Ultimo, Trattoria and Rumours. High end fashion shops are also within walking distance.

5. Finally the Villa - the living room and bedroom are separated by doors, and they each have a sliding door that opens up to the outdoor private pool, so you wake up to the view of your very own private pool right in front of you. The bathroom is outdoor, with and shower area and an amazing bathtub fit for two. The dining area has a kitchen, completed with a fridge and all the utensils and cookwares. The pool water is crystal clear. The landscapes are manicured daily and the whole villa is flawless and clean. You can also enjoy a massage session at your villa as they have a dedicated area to place the massage beds. Everything is very well maintained and taken care of.

You will feel spoilt staying at this villa, even if it's just for a few days.There's really nothing that we can picked on! Thank you all the staff and managers from Ulin VIlla! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear “Mich A”

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time sharing a very comprehensive review of your stay at The Ulin Villas and Spa. I am pleased to find that you loved the every moment of your holiday right from the superb service, the personal touch, the in villa breakfast, our prime location and the beautifully designed villa that jeweled by the private pool, the flawless garden and the high level of cleanliness. We are boutique hotel and aim to present a genuine care and attentive non-intrusive service. Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our first trip to Bali, for the first night we decided to splurge on one of the better accommodations there. We weren't disappointed, it was superb, from the lovely service to the very private pools we just had an amazing romantic time.

The massage session was averagely good and the breakfast cooked in the villa was something special. this was simply one of the best places I've stayed in. Their attention to details are simply excruciatingly amazing.

Stay here & you'll be sorry if you didn't!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear “AsianFamily”

It was a pleasure having you with us on your first ever Bali trip. We wish to thank you for taking the time sharing your review at tripadvisor.com and I am very happy to read that your holiday with us was fabulous and you found the level of services were simply amazing. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Three couples stayed at Ulin late Novermber 2012 in a three bedroom villa. It was our first visit to Bali, and for some of us, our first trip overseas. I found Ulin on Trip Advisor, and it has always rated very highly with great reviews which is why we picked it.
We were all very hot and stressed when we arrived at the airport, and all breathed a sigh of relief when we saw our driver Sudi with our name on a sign. Sudi was terrific, gave us cool towels, and got us quickly away from the crowds to the sanctuary of Ulin.
The welcome from all the staff was wonderful, they took us straight to our Villa which was like a cool and quiet oasis.
Throughout our entire stay, all the staff were very friendly and obliging - i would like to thank them all personally here - but there are so many names to mention!
The Villas were ideal - we wanted a quiet and relaxed setting - not the fake glitz. The location is about a minute walk to the main street of Seminyak, but in the Villa you could not hear any of the noise. Every day when we returned to the Villa, it was like coming home.
We spend most of the time relaxing in the (very clean and well maintained) pool and day-beds, And when it was time to sleep, the villas were all cool and quiet.
I have seen other reviews on here mentioning the hardness of the beds. Three of the six of us founds the beds hard for the first few days, but the rest found them ideal. I think its a personal choice.
The daily breakfast cooked in-Villa was a great way to fill-up before the heat of the day. A good range of choices - we all found that breakfast kept us going all day.
The in-Villa banquet was amazing, and easily a highlight. The villa was decorated by a team of staff, and the food was sumptuous. We chose to banquet on our last night, and it made for a memorable conclusion to the whole stay.
The villa staff assisted us greatly with travel advice, bookings, recommendations, and were happy to oblige any request - even though we didn't really need to ask for anything.
The location is great. Seminyak shops at the doorstep, close to Jl Sunset so travel to and from was quick, and lots of restaurants within an easy walk.
I'm sure i could keep commenting for ages about Ulin, and it would all be singing it's praises. Don't just take my word for it - all the reviews here are the same as ours. I think if you want to stay somewhere that epitomises Bali, is quiet, honestly luxurious without being arrogant, and very stress-free, then you have to stay at Ulin. We can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: All are well designed to catch the light, sun, and shade, so any villa would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “Johnno3350”

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review of your holiday with us on your first Bali holiday. It was a real pleasure having you with us and I am pleased to read you loved the friendly service that made you feel were really well taken care of. I am indeed happy to also know that you enjoyed the in villa breakfast, the BBQ and our prime location. Once again thank you very much for your review and we do hope to see you again on your next stay with us.

Your sincerely,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed The Ulin Villas last year, but it's left such an impression on me that I now rate all of the hotels I stay in against this one and they never seem to come close in comparison. We had an amazing 5 night stay including a BBQ dinner one night. We also utilized their spa, which was very nice, but wasn't the best massages I have ever had. The staff were wonderful and the villa was amazing. Have a look at their website for good packages and deals. I would highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “Courtney10”

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted to find how much you enjoyed your holiday with us. I highly value you high credit to the high level of service performed by our team of staffs who were out of their way to ensure your stay perfect and faboulus. We can not wait to welcoming you again in on your next visit to our island of Bali.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | Steps Away to Eat Street, Award Winning Restaurants, Boutiques, Funky Shops and the Beach, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.