We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 86 hotels in Seminyak
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our first trip to Bali, for the first night we decided to splurge on one of the better accommodations there. We weren't disappointed, it was superb, from the lovely service to the very private pools we just had an amazing romantic time.

The massage session was averagely good and the breakfast cooked in the villa was something special. this was simply one of the best places I've stayed in. Their attention to details are simply excruciatingly amazing.

Stay here & you'll be sorry if you didn't!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear “AsianFamily”

It was a pleasure having you with us on your first ever Bali trip. We wish to thank you for taking the time sharing your review at tripadvisor.com and I am very happy to read that your holiday with us was fabulous and you found the level of services were simply amazing. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
240
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Three couples stayed at Ulin late Novermber 2012 in a three bedroom villa. It was our first visit to Bali, and for some of us, our first trip overseas. I found Ulin on Trip Advisor, and it has always rated very highly with great reviews which is why we picked it.
We were all very hot and stressed when we arrived at the airport, and all breathed a sigh of relief when we saw our driver Sudi with our name on a sign. Sudi was terrific, gave us cool towels, and got us quickly away from the crowds to the sanctuary of Ulin.
The welcome from all the staff was wonderful, they took us straight to our Villa which was like a cool and quiet oasis.
Throughout our entire stay, all the staff were very friendly and obliging - i would like to thank them all personally here - but there are so many names to mention!
The Villas were ideal - we wanted a quiet and relaxed setting - not the fake glitz. The location is about a minute walk to the main street of Seminyak, but in the Villa you could not hear any of the noise. Every day when we returned to the Villa, it was like coming home.
We spend most of the time relaxing in the (very clean and well maintained) pool and day-beds, And when it was time to sleep, the villas were all cool and quiet.
I have seen other reviews on here mentioning the hardness of the beds. Three of the six of us founds the beds hard for the first few days, but the rest found them ideal. I think its a personal choice.
The daily breakfast cooked in-Villa was a great way to fill-up before the heat of the day. A good range of choices - we all found that breakfast kept us going all day.
The in-Villa banquet was amazing, and easily a highlight. The villa was decorated by a team of staff, and the food was sumptuous. We chose to banquet on our last night, and it made for a memorable conclusion to the whole stay.
The villa staff assisted us greatly with travel advice, bookings, recommendations, and were happy to oblige any request - even though we didn't really need to ask for anything.
The location is great. Seminyak shops at the doorstep, close to Jl Sunset so travel to and from was quick, and lots of restaurants within an easy walk.
I'm sure i could keep commenting for ages about Ulin, and it would all be singing it's praises. Don't just take my word for it - all the reviews here are the same as ours. I think if you want to stay somewhere that epitomises Bali, is quiet, honestly luxurious without being arrogant, and very stress-free, then you have to stay at Ulin. We can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: All are well designed to catch the light, sun, and shade, so any villa would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “Johnno3350”

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review of your holiday with us on your first Bali holiday. It was a real pleasure having you with us and I am pleased to read you loved the friendly service that made you feel were really well taken care of. I am indeed happy to also know that you enjoyed the in villa breakfast, the BBQ and our prime location. Once again thank you very much for your review and we do hope to see you again on your next stay with us.

Your sincerely,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed The Ulin Villas last year, but it's left such an impression on me that I now rate all of the hotels I stay in against this one and they never seem to come close in comparison. We had an amazing 5 night stay including a BBQ dinner one night. We also utilized their spa, which was very nice, but wasn't the best massages I have ever had. The staff were wonderful and the villa was amazing. Have a look at their website for good packages and deals. I would highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “Courtney10”

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted to find how much you enjoyed your holiday with us. I highly value you high credit to the high level of service performed by our team of staffs who were out of their way to ensure your stay perfect and faboulus. We can not wait to welcoming you again in on your next visit to our island of Bali.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

All the reviews are incredibly accurate.

These villas are in the perfect location to get around Seminyak easily. Walking distance to the main shopping strip.

Clean, well maintained, great villas, service with a smile day after day. They remember your name, are willing to drive you anywhere locally without fuss and make everything EASY.

Only qualms - the beds are hard and the lighting in the bedroom/bathroom could be improved.

Do not hesitate to book this villa. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “RexandMel”

I am happy to note that your most recent stay with us at The Ulin Villas and Spa was a true bliss which made by the great villas and the friendly non-intrusive service. I agree with you that our perfect location is the real benefits, just steps away from restaurants, shops and the beach. We also thank you for the suggestion you have made. We are committed to bring this into our attention and to address it promptly. We are very happy and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ulin is in a great location for Seminyak shopping and eating/drinking, friendly staff, a haven away from the street noise, the villas were a great alternative to a big hotel experience and to see the way a bali experience should be.
The pools were as filled with what seemed like evian water, meticulous gardens and a breakfast that made you feel special .Perfect for quiet families or couples who want some quiet time. i was there on business and happily set up my laptop under the roof of the openair kitchen ..took a dip every 20 minutes an hlped mydlef to the fridge stocked each day with complimentary beer and softdrinks- perfect

Room Tip: all rooms are great- i got to see most of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “Nic G”

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedbacks and experience with us at tripadvisor.com. We are all very pleased to read that you had an amazingly relaxing stay and such a superb holiday experience. We are a boutique hotel with an all private pool villas property which help you to enjoy Bali and to experience the luxury of being yourself. Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you in the future again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Upon arrival we were met by a freindly smile and we were at the villa within 30 minutes. We wanted a romantic get away with peace and quiet and we got more than that. The villa is beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail throughout. The staff were all warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The location was great also with many superb restaurants within 5 minute walk and the free hotel shuttle to the local area was very handy.
Only slight downside was that the bed was a little hard but that's it.
All in all thia is an amazing place that we will return to again and again. having a personalised breakfast menu and an 'in villa' chef was also a real treat. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: All the villas are of the same standard - excelent/ Whichever you choose you will be extremely happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “Nick N”

I am happy to hear that your holiday with us was perfectly a romantic get away from the beauty of the villa, the amazing attention to details, privacy to the friendly sincere service from our team members. I am also delighted to know that you loved the personalized in-villa breakfast and our superb location. In our quest for excellence, we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service by continuously appraising the standards of our products and services. We sincerely appreciate your comments and suggestions as we know they will assist us in improving our standards and also enable us to meet your expectations on your next visit to The Ulin Villas and Spa. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next Bali holiday.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My 9th visit to Ulin in 4 years and I simply won't go anywhere else. Always great service, always welcoming us back with a friendly 'Welcome home!', just simply superb. The villas are still great, the spa still fabulous and the location cannot be beaten!

Can't rate them highly enough. Where is the 6 star button?

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “AlexMove”

We were honored to have you staying with us again on your 9th visit with us. We are happy to read that your stay was again amazingly fabulous and were feel like coming back home more especially made of the superb quality of service and the friendliness of our team members. We are very excited and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.