We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL
Ranked #4 of 89 hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed The Ulin Villas last year, but it's left such an impression on me that I now rate all of the hotels I stay in against this one and they never seem to come close in comparison. We had an amazing 5 night stay including a BBQ dinner one night. We also utilized their spa, which was very nice, but wasn't the best massages I have ever had. The staff were wonderful and the villa was amazing. Have a look at their website for good packages and deals. I would highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “Courtney10”

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted to find how much you enjoyed your holiday with us. I highly value you high credit to the high level of service performed by our team of staffs who were out of their way to ensure your stay perfect and faboulus. We can not wait to welcoming you again in on your next visit to our island of Bali.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
240
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

All the reviews are incredibly accurate.

These villas are in the perfect location to get around Seminyak easily. Walking distance to the main shopping strip.

Clean, well maintained, great villas, service with a smile day after day. They remember your name, are willing to drive you anywhere locally without fuss and make everything EASY.

Only qualms - the beds are hard and the lighting in the bedroom/bathroom could be improved.

Do not hesitate to book this villa. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear “RexandMel”

I am happy to note that your most recent stay with us at The Ulin Villas and Spa was a true bliss which made by the great villas and the friendly non-intrusive service. I agree with you that our perfect location is the real benefits, just steps away from restaurants, shops and the beach. We also thank you for the suggestion you have made. We are committed to bring this into our attention and to address it promptly. We are very happy and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ulin is in a great location for Seminyak shopping and eating/drinking, friendly staff, a haven away from the street noise, the villas were a great alternative to a big hotel experience and to see the way a bali experience should be.
The pools were as filled with what seemed like evian water, meticulous gardens and a breakfast that made you feel special .Perfect for quiet families or couples who want some quiet time. i was there on business and happily set up my laptop under the roof of the openair kitchen ..took a dip every 20 minutes an hlped mydlef to the fridge stocked each day with complimentary beer and softdrinks- perfect

Room Tip: all rooms are great- i got to see most of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “Nic G”

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedbacks and experience with us at tripadvisor.com. We are all very pleased to read that you had an amazingly relaxing stay and such a superb holiday experience. We are a boutique hotel with an all private pool villas property which help you to enjoy Bali and to experience the luxury of being yourself. Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you in the future again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Upon arrival we were met by a freindly smile and we were at the villa within 30 minutes. We wanted a romantic get away with peace and quiet and we got more than that. The villa is beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail throughout. The staff were all warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The location was great also with many superb restaurants within 5 minute walk and the free hotel shuttle to the local area was very handy.
Only slight downside was that the bed was a little hard but that's it.
All in all thia is an amazing place that we will return to again and again. having a personalised breakfast menu and an 'in villa' chef was also a real treat. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: All the villas are of the same standard - excelent/ Whichever you choose you will be extremely happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “Nick N”

I am happy to hear that your holiday with us was perfectly a romantic get away from the beauty of the villa, the amazing attention to details, privacy to the friendly sincere service from our team members. I am also delighted to know that you loved the personalized in-villa breakfast and our superb location. In our quest for excellence, we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service by continuously appraising the standards of our products and services. We sincerely appreciate your comments and suggestions as we know they will assist us in improving our standards and also enable us to meet your expectations on your next visit to The Ulin Villas and Spa. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next Bali holiday.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My 9th visit to Ulin in 4 years and I simply won't go anywhere else. Always great service, always welcoming us back with a friendly 'Welcome home!', just simply superb. The villas are still great, the spa still fabulous and the location cannot be beaten!

Can't rate them highly enough. Where is the 6 star button?

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “AlexMove”

We were honored to have you staying with us again on your 9th visit with us. We are happy to read that your stay was again amazingly fabulous and were feel like coming back home more especially made of the superb quality of service and the friendliness of our team members. We are very excited and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As has been said by all other reviews, this property is fantastic. We stayed in a one bedroom villa for a week. The service is excellent, the rooms are cleaned well every day and breakfast service is very professional. The location is the best part, just a short walk to Jalan Oberoi where you can eat, shop, drink and as far as I am concerned this is the best area in Seminyak.
The free car drop off service anywhere in Seminyak is fantastic, and we never had a time when a car was not available.
The only criticisms I have are really to do with the wear and tear of the villa - could do with an upgrade, and the very poor lighting throughout the villa - the bathroom is way to dark. I liked the outdoor shower, but the outdoor toilet was a bit much for me, especially when using in the middle of the night and getting bitten by mosquitoes!
There are many villa properties around Seminyak and I would probably try a newer property next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “sxstraveller”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write a review at tripadvisor.com. I am happy to hear that you found The Ulin Villas is a fantastic choice and the same also goes to the excellent service delivered by our team members. We sincerely value your suggestions which we will use to persistently improve. Once again thank you very much for your review. We truly hope you will stay with us again in the future.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ulin Villas in Seminyak in the last week of October (we were a group of 5 girls!). We arrived in the evening and were greeted by lovely soft lighting and candles lit up around the pool. Immediately the staff made us feel welcome and provided us instantly with items we requested (mostly ice and limes!). We have stayed in many villas in Seminyak and so have quite high standards when it comes to the villa, food and service, and I have to say, Ulin Villas rated very favourably. The best part about the villas were:- cleanliness, location (within Seminyak and in terms of quietness), service (fantastic), pool size, breakfasts (probably best so far), complimentary items which were part of cost (car use within Seminyak/Legian/Kuta, soft drink mini bar restocked every day and breakfast).
To say there was a down side would be wrong as there ws absolutely nothing which made our stay anything but great. However, just a few little things which were not quite as good as we might have expected:- the communal area is a bit dated and basic - no real room for sitting together as a group for drinks, other than sitting on the lay beds. The fridge is right next to 2 small, quite old sofas. The individual rooms were comfortable and met all requirements, but the basin area was quite small (especially for 2 girls sharing one sink) and lighting not overly conducive to putting makeup on (couldnt see very well after dark!). Finally there were no full length mirrors. I hesitate to mention these as overall everthing was fantastic and didn't affect our enjoyment at all. These minor comments were more than overshadowed by the best service we have ever had in a villa and the fact that the villa had everything we wanted in terms of size, cleanliness etc. We also commented that the pool was just about the best we have ever had as well.
Overall I would certainly recommend the Ulin Villa and with a few minor superficial improvements it would be pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception might be quieter. Villa 12 is as far away as you can get and it was so qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Roberta B”

Thank you very much for the excellent review you have posted for The Ulin Villas and Spa. It is a great pleasure to read that you just had a such wonderful stay with us and to hear that you were very well looked after by our team members. I am pleased to know that you highly talk about our high standard of cleanliness, the great location, the beautiful pool villas and the fantastic service. I wish to thank you for letting us know some concerns you consider required improvement, very much appreciated. Thank you very much and we very much look forward to welcoming you again to the beautiful island of Bali.


Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.