We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon excellence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor DEAL-FREE BBQ
Ranked #3 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Honeymoon excellence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Upon arrival we were met by a freindly smile and we were at the villa within 30 minutes. We wanted a romantic get away with peace and quiet and we got more than that. The villa is beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail throughout. The staff were all warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The location was great also with many superb restaurants within 5 minute walk and the free hotel shuttle to the local area was very handy.
Only slight downside was that the bed was a little hard but that's it.
All in all thia is an amazing place that we will return to again and again. having a personalised breakfast menu and an 'in villa' chef was also a real treat. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: All the villas are of the same standard - excelent/ Whichever you choose you will be extremely happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “Nick N”

I am happy to hear that your holiday with us was perfectly a romantic get away from the beauty of the villa, the amazing attention to details, privacy to the friendly sincere service from our team members. I am also delighted to know that you loved the personalized in-villa breakfast and our superb location. In our quest for excellence, we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service by continuously appraising the standards of our products and services. We sincerely appreciate your comments and suggestions as we know they will assist us in improving our standards and also enable us to meet your expectations on your next visit to The Ulin Villas and Spa. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next Bali holiday.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
97
242
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My 9th visit to Ulin in 4 years and I simply won't go anywhere else. Always great service, always welcoming us back with a friendly 'Welcome home!', just simply superb. The villas are still great, the spa still fabulous and the location cannot be beaten!

Can't rate them highly enough. Where is the 6 star button?

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “AlexMove”

We were honored to have you staying with us again on your 9th visit with us. We are happy to read that your stay was again amazingly fabulous and were feel like coming back home more especially made of the superb quality of service and the friendliness of our team members. We are very excited and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As has been said by all other reviews, this property is fantastic. We stayed in a one bedroom villa for a week. The service is excellent, the rooms are cleaned well every day and breakfast service is very professional. The location is the best part, just a short walk to Jalan Oberoi where you can eat, shop, drink and as far as I am concerned this is the best area in Seminyak.
The free car drop off service anywhere in Seminyak is fantastic, and we never had a time when a car was not available.
The only criticisms I have are really to do with the wear and tear of the villa - could do with an upgrade, and the very poor lighting throughout the villa - the bathroom is way to dark. I liked the outdoor shower, but the outdoor toilet was a bit much for me, especially when using in the middle of the night and getting bitten by mosquitoes!
There are many villa properties around Seminyak and I would probably try a newer property next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear “sxstraveller”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write a review at tripadvisor.com. I am happy to hear that you found The Ulin Villas is a fantastic choice and the same also goes to the excellent service delivered by our team members. We sincerely value your suggestions which we will use to persistently improve. Once again thank you very much for your review. We truly hope you will stay with us again in the future.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ulin Villas in Seminyak in the last week of October (we were a group of 5 girls!). We arrived in the evening and were greeted by lovely soft lighting and candles lit up around the pool. Immediately the staff made us feel welcome and provided us instantly with items we requested (mostly ice and limes!). We have stayed in many villas in Seminyak and so have quite high standards when it comes to the villa, food and service, and I have to say, Ulin Villas rated very favourably. The best part about the villas were:- cleanliness, location (within Seminyak and in terms of quietness), service (fantastic), pool size, breakfasts (probably best so far), complimentary items which were part of cost (car use within Seminyak/Legian/Kuta, soft drink mini bar restocked every day and breakfast).
To say there was a down side would be wrong as there ws absolutely nothing which made our stay anything but great. However, just a few little things which were not quite as good as we might have expected:- the communal area is a bit dated and basic - no real room for sitting together as a group for drinks, other than sitting on the lay beds. The fridge is right next to 2 small, quite old sofas. The individual rooms were comfortable and met all requirements, but the basin area was quite small (especially for 2 girls sharing one sink) and lighting not overly conducive to putting makeup on (couldnt see very well after dark!). Finally there were no full length mirrors. I hesitate to mention these as overall everthing was fantastic and didn't affect our enjoyment at all. These minor comments were more than overshadowed by the best service we have ever had in a villa and the fact that the villa had everything we wanted in terms of size, cleanliness etc. We also commented that the pool was just about the best we have ever had as well.
Overall I would certainly recommend the Ulin Villa and with a few minor superficial improvements it would be pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception might be quieter. Villa 12 is as far away as you can get and it was so qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Roberta B”

Thank you very much for the excellent review you have posted for The Ulin Villas and Spa. It is a great pleasure to read that you just had a such wonderful stay with us and to hear that you were very well looked after by our team members. I am pleased to know that you highly talk about our high standard of cleanliness, the great location, the beautiful pool villas and the fantastic service. I wish to thank you for letting us know some concerns you consider required improvement, very much appreciated. Thank you very much and we very much look forward to welcoming you again to the beautiful island of Bali.


Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found villas excellent. Very private but at the same time central location with good shops and restaurants. The service was very nice, really good breakfast. We loved the pool, which was at a nice temperature. You could stay the entire day in villa just chilling and doing nothing.
Spa, however, was a massive disappointment. I have booked the treatments for the entire stay of 10 days but we had to cancel after 3 treatments, because it didn't look like they knew what they were doing and I ended up in bruises, no matter how much I asked them to be more tender. Like most women I have done quite a few beauty treatments in my life and this was just unprofessional and a big let down.

But don't make this to put you off from villa. I think it might be the same thing for other hotels around but there are plenty of places where you can have an excellent massages that are not attached to the hotels, in a near proximity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
“Dear Nadezda S”

I wish to thank you for sharing your review at tripadvisor.com. I am very happy to learn that your time with us at The Ulin Villas and Spa was amazingly relaxing. I am pleased to know that you found our villas was excellently private coupled with high level of personal service and the great breakfast. I highly value your feedback regarding the spa which was less positive. We will immediately share and discuss this further with related department within the hotel. Please accept our commitment to continuously improve and your comments will help us to enhance the quality of our products and services. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Ulin Villas for 10 days in October 2012 and we were really impressed.
The villa is fantastic: quiet, clean, spacious, 1min walk away from lots of shops & restaurants but in a very quiet street. The staff is really friendly and was always here for us.
Pick up from and to the airport + daily breakfast in the villa was a plus. Every time we were coming back from a trip, the villa was impeccable.
The pool is warm and you can just stay there all day with this heat!
We were really sad to leave and wish we can still be there.
The spa was average though...even if the facilities are great, we found better massages in town but hey...
Overall 10 days of dream that I won't forget. Thanks Ulin Villas!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Stephane L”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review of you most recent stay and I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much, the impeccable villa, the high level of personal service and the friendliness of our team members. I sincerely value your comments over the spa which was not up to your expectation. Please accept our commitment to use your comments to persistently improve. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second stay at Ulin. It's not cheap at approx $400 per night for the one bedroom villa, but this price includes brekky daily, complementary pickup and drop off at airport, and breakfast daily. We chose the 'nutritionally balanced' meal and our personal chef came to the villa each morning at a time of our choosing to prepare our healthy brekky and serve us. He would then leave and await our phone call to say we were finished before coming back to clean up the dishes. Good lord... this truly is luxury!

Staff are so incredibly friendly, and some even remembered us from a five day stay about six months ago! We took a look at the 3 bedroom villa with a view to bringing the family next time, and it's stunning. Very large pool with sizeable deck area including six deck chairs. Outdoor undercover dining area and full kitchen with three separate air-conditioned bedrooms each with its own full outdoor bathroom, including a sunken bath!

Ulin is situated down a small lane off the main street of Seminyak. Just a short walk from Grocer and Grind which is a nice coffee place where you can eat pretty much what you'd eat at home but we ate in the Villa often from the room service menu which was inexpensive, fresh and delicious. Also pretty close walk to Seminyak Square where stallholders set up during the day and there's a strip of restaurants, all of which seem pretty good. The Bakery is particularly nice!

Back to Ulin, the welcome bbq provided as a part of our package was delightful with three courses, and they even came in earlier to spread frangipani flowers over the grass and place decorations in the eating area... it's the small things that set Ulin apart from other Villas. If you'd like to go to dinner somewhere the Ulin drivers will drop you at the restaurant of your choice, and we wanted to head over toward Kuta one morning for shopping and the driver happily offered to take us. So nice.

We'll be regulars at Ulin. Just one little thing... the beds are quite firm, actually very firm so if you like a soft mattress perhaps you should mention this when you book. We don't mind the firm mattress so didn't ask but I'm sure they'd make arrangements somehow to accommodate your request... it seems nothing is too much trouble!!!

Room Tip: We've seen quite a few of them and they're all stunning and all very quiet. Be sure to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “wilsoncm65”

It was a true pleasure to have you staying with us on your second visit. We are very happy to hear how much you loved your holiday and to find that your stay with us was fantastic right from the start to the end. The private in-villa BBQ is a indeed a great thing to have on your stay, I am happy to know that you loved it. Thank you very much for the high credit you have given to our team members to their friendliness, sincerity and professional level of service they presented during your stay. We highly value your comments on the mattress. We plan to provide pillow-top to the mattress so that we can meet individual preferences. For your information we have added it to our two and three bedroom villa while the one bedroom villa will be added soon. Thank you very much for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager –KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.