We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found villas excellent. Very private but at the same time central location with good shops and restaurants. The service was very nice, really good breakfast. We loved the pool, which was at a nice temperature. You could stay the entire day in villa just chilling and doing nothing.
Spa, however, was a massive disappointment. I have booked the treatments for the entire stay of 10 days but we had to cancel after 3 treatments, because it didn't look like they knew what they were doing and I ended up in bruises, no matter how much I asked them to be more tender. Like most women I have done quite a few beauty treatments in my life and this was just unprofessional and a big let down.

But don't make this to put you off from villa. I think it might be the same thing for other hotels around but there are plenty of places where you can have an excellent massages that are not attached to the hotels, in a near proximity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
“Dear Nadezda S”

I wish to thank you for sharing your review at tripadvisor.com. I am very happy to learn that your time with us at The Ulin Villas and Spa was amazingly relaxing. I am pleased to know that you found our villas was excellently private coupled with high level of personal service and the great breakfast. I highly value your feedback regarding the spa which was less positive. We will immediately share and discuss this further with related department within the hotel. Please accept our commitment to continuously improve and your comments will help us to enhance the quality of our products and services. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    46
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
256
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Ulin Villas for 10 days in October 2012 and we were really impressed.
The villa is fantastic: quiet, clean, spacious, 1min walk away from lots of shops & restaurants but in a very quiet street. The staff is really friendly and was always here for us.
Pick up from and to the airport + daily breakfast in the villa was a plus. Every time we were coming back from a trip, the villa was impeccable.
The pool is warm and you can just stay there all day with this heat!
We were really sad to leave and wish we can still be there.
The spa was average though...even if the facilities are great, we found better massages in town but hey...
Overall 10 days of dream that I won't forget. Thanks Ulin Villas!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Stephane L”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review of you most recent stay and I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much, the impeccable villa, the high level of personal service and the friendliness of our team members. I sincerely value your comments over the spa which was not up to your expectation. Please accept our commitment to use your comments to persistently improve. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second stay at Ulin. It's not cheap at approx $400 per night for the one bedroom villa, but this price includes brekky daily, complementary pickup and drop off at airport, and breakfast daily. We chose the 'nutritionally balanced' meal and our personal chef came to the villa each morning at a time of our choosing to prepare our healthy brekky and serve us. He would then leave and await our phone call to say we were finished before coming back to clean up the dishes. Good lord... this truly is luxury!

Staff are so incredibly friendly, and some even remembered us from a five day stay about six months ago! We took a look at the 3 bedroom villa with a view to bringing the family next time, and it's stunning. Very large pool with sizeable deck area including six deck chairs. Outdoor undercover dining area and full kitchen with three separate air-conditioned bedrooms each with its own full outdoor bathroom, including a sunken bath!

Ulin is situated down a small lane off the main street of Seminyak. Just a short walk from Grocer and Grind which is a nice coffee place where you can eat pretty much what you'd eat at home but we ate in the Villa often from the room service menu which was inexpensive, fresh and delicious. Also pretty close walk to Seminyak Square where stallholders set up during the day and there's a strip of restaurants, all of which seem pretty good. The Bakery is particularly nice!

Back to Ulin, the welcome bbq provided as a part of our package was delightful with three courses, and they even came in earlier to spread frangipani flowers over the grass and place decorations in the eating area... it's the small things that set Ulin apart from other Villas. If you'd like to go to dinner somewhere the Ulin drivers will drop you at the restaurant of your choice, and we wanted to head over toward Kuta one morning for shopping and the driver happily offered to take us. So nice.

We'll be regulars at Ulin. Just one little thing... the beds are quite firm, actually very firm so if you like a soft mattress perhaps you should mention this when you book. We don't mind the firm mattress so didn't ask but I'm sure they'd make arrangements somehow to accommodate your request... it seems nothing is too much trouble!!!

Room Tip: We've seen quite a few of them and they're all stunning and all very quiet. Be sure to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “wilsoncm65”

It was a true pleasure to have you staying with us on your second visit. We are very happy to hear how much you loved your holiday and to find that your stay with us was fantastic right from the start to the end. The private in-villa BBQ is a indeed a great thing to have on your stay, I am happy to know that you loved it. Thank you very much for the high credit you have given to our team members to their friendliness, sincerity and professional level of service they presented during your stay. We highly value your comments on the mattress. We plan to provide pillow-top to the mattress so that we can meet individual preferences. For your information we have added it to our two and three bedroom villa while the one bedroom villa will be added soon. Thank you very much for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager –KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Ulin villas about three years ago and loved it. This time, without kids we stayed in a one bedroom villa. The one bedroom villas are lovely, more air-conditioned living space than the two and three bedroom villas. The pool is smaller, but overall they are lovely villas.

The rooms are lovely, very spacious with a separate living area. The pool area has lots if space, banana lounges, a dining area and a full kitchen. Very comfortable, very private, and very quiet. An ideal refuge from the hustle and bustle of seminyak which is just outside the villas.

Breakfast is really good, lots of choice and cooked in the villa while you wait. Afternoon team is served every day in the villa. Delicious.

Our only minor criticism is the villas are not really well lit, a but gloomy at night and not great for reading. This can be essay fixed although we raised it three years ago and surely others have made similar comments, yet it hasn't been addressed yet.

Staff are friendly and very attentive to your needs. We highly recommend it and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Fitzroytraveller”

We were all very happy to have you staying with us again for your second visit. It is a pleasure to read how much you loved your stay and we are pleased to hear a positive comments from a savvy traveler like you. Our One Bedroom Villa is indeed very spacious (probably one of the largest of its kind in Seminyak), private and come with lots of open space while the bedroom and living are air-conditioned. I am happy to find you highly talk about the friendliness of our staffs and the were very attentive to your every request. Thank you very much for letting us know that you loved the breakfast and also the afternoon tea service. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting where in fact we changed some lightings in our One Bedroom Villas already. We will of course look at this issue to ensure it meets our guest expectation. Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review.


Your sincerely,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just came home from 5 nights at the Ulin Villas and Spa. The experience was top notch. The staff were so proactive and helpful in every way and the Villas was beautiful. The location is perfect for a bunch of great restaurants like Ultimo and Chandi. The Ulin staff drove us around Seminyak to the various dinner places we needed that weren't within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Pip M”

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedbacks and experience with us at tripadvisor.com. We are all very pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay and such a wonderful experience. I am also very happy to know that you loved the service rendered by our members of staffs where they were very helpful in every way and made you feel very comfortable and welcomed. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at the Ulin Villas in September/October 2012 for our honeymoon. Ok, so my husband and I are very well travelled. We have stayed in some of the worlds best hotels and therefore have high expectations of anywhere that we book. Upon arriving at the airport we were greeted by a staff member who took us back to the comfortable airport transfer vehicle and offered us some cold towels and a bottle of water. Our check-in went smoothly and someone carried our bags to our villa. When he opened the big wooden doors that lead into our very own piece of paradise were knew that we had booked the right place for our honeymoon. We could not believe the privacy and special touches that made this the most memorable travel experience. We arrived to a four poster bed, rose petals everywhere, the bath full with floating petals, candles everywhere and a bottle of wine in the lounge with a fruit basket. We immediatley were swept away to relaxation and awe of the gardens, and the enticing pool. Our days consisted of waking up to having breakfast made in our villa, to then having a morning swim followed by a stoll down the streets of Seminyak. The location is perfect and after day trips, we found ourselves longing to return to our villa. The food on the breakfast menu has great variety, and we had a bonus "BBQ dinner" cooked in our villa. We felt like celebritys. Anything that we needed we called "0" to reception and the response was always immediate. We were also treated to a spa massage by our poolside where two ladies came and messaged all the stress from our wedding away. We also enjoyed it so much that we made another booking in the spa rooms on the premises and had the red wine and cocoa massage which was a dream.

Nothing was too much for the staff who were all genuinely lovely and unlike some places we have visited in asia, who always stand there waiting for a tip.. the Ulin staff were gracious and did not have this attitude, however were appreciative when offered one. The service experienced at the Ulin was wourld class. We could tell that they enjoyed their jobs and were pleased to help us with anything. We were so happy with the service that we started writing a list of the names of people who we had recieved outstanding service from (so we could leave a tip for them on checkout) however by the third day we realised that EVERY person who we had been in contact with was equally great and should be applauded. An example of this is as follows:

We were about to leave to return to Australia when we realised that one of the souviners that we purchased at the market, made of coconut had a crack in it. We asked the receptionist where we could buy some glue to fill it in, as I knew it would be an issue for customs. Before I knew it, there were two maintenance men whisking the souviner away to be repaired, returning it a few minutes later.. fixed. Unreal.

We used the drop off service to the local areas and the concierge a few times and this was always a good experience. They booked us dinner at restaurants and dropped us there.

We always felt safe with a security guard out the front 24 hours and never had any concerns.

Every detail including the soaps and bath salts were dreamy and left our skin feeling great, we wanted to take some home with us. Well actually we were very sad when it finally came time to return to Australia.

The only thing that I would suggest to the management is to add to the room service menu is something as simple as a piece of good quality chocolate mud cake, served with strawberries, cream and vanilla icecream. C'mon! do it for us chocolate loving Aussie women :) feel free to name it after me "Mrs A" and I will order it daily when we come back next year for our anniversary.

Anyway I cannot say anything bad about the Ulin, thank you for giving us the most memeroble experience that we will never forget. Keep up the good work, and please don't change too much, we love the 'vibe' of the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Susan S”


It was a pleasure having you with us for such a precious moment, your honeymoon. I am very happy to find that your holiday was very relaxing right from the airport pick up service, to the sincere genuine service from all team members, the beauty of your very own private pool villa, the breakfast, BBQ and of course our spa service. Our aim is to deliver a memorable experience to all guests and exceeding individual expectations with genuine non-intrusive service. We sincerely appreciate your suggestions to add “sweet treat” into our in villa dining menu such us chocolates and ice creams selections. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future visit to the beautiful island of Bali.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently spent 13 nights at Ulin in a 1 bedroom villa with my partner and had a wonderful time. From being greeted with a big smile at the airport and with cool drinks and towels in the car to the villa to a smooth check in and a very sad to leave check out we had an amazing time! We were in Villa 6 which is perfectly located about halfway down from reception. The villas themselves are in excellent condition with all the amenities you could ask for with a good sized pool and nice garden areas. For the size of the villa and pool plus extras like breakfast, afternoon tea, mini bar and transport service that are included you really are getting good bang for your buck! The outdoor bathroom area is lovely plus having the dressing area inside in air conditioning is a good idea! The bedroom and living area are cosy and well laid out - my only gripe was the bed was rather hard - in fact very hard! However seeing this is my only quibble they're doing rather well! The room servicing was very thoroughly down every morning when requested - they would even straighten and tidy everything we'd leave out on the table which was a lovely touch! And coming home every evening to candles lit around the pool was wonderful and i never tired of seeing that when we came "home" each evening. We ate breakfast in the villas most mornings and ordered lunch in a few times and the food was all fine - decent serves and good variety. Coffee was the usual Bali style - if you do need a proper Australian style caffeine hit i recommend Sea Circus - great breakfasts as well if you feel like a change!
The car service at Ulin was one of the best parts and much more convenient then walking down to hail a taxi plus its nice to chat to all of the staff! - in the almost 2 weeks we were there they didn't have a car available maybe 2 or 3 times which was amazing seeing we were using them a few times a day!
I had a spa treatment and a massage and ear candling done through the spa - the treatment i had done in our villa and the ear candling and massage done in the spa. Although it was a novelty to get the treatment down in villa beside the pool and was still lovely i would recommend getting it done in the spa rooms - which are very nice and well equipped plus air conditioned! Plus the ginger tea they serve afterward is delicious! (You can get this with your afternoon tea in the villa and i recommend it - unusual and delicious!)
The location of the villas were great - just a minute or so walk from Ultimo, Trattoria and our personal favourite - Chandi (highly recommended). There is also a Circle K just up from Ultimo which is handy for extra Bintangs, etc plus they have a Commonwealth Bank ATM if you need extra cash (handy tip - they ATM will tell you that you can only take out 1,500,000RP however if you go back to the main menu you can type in your own amount up to 3,000,000RP). The staff there are lovely as well - I actually accidently left my card in the ATM and didn't realise until around 12 hours later and when i went back expecting the worst they had it safely behind the counter for me! Also considering how close they are to all the action it was whisper quiet at night! We were amazed that we could be floating in the pool in blissful silence yet in 2 minutes could walk to Oberoi Street and the associated noise and traffic!
The staff at Ulin were all without exception great - always smiling, friendly, nothing was too much trouble! From booking restaurants to organising transport they did at all! All in all we had a wonderful time at Ulin and i would highly recommended it to everyone as the perfect Seminyak hideaway - trust me you wont want to leave!

Room Tip: Villa 6 is perfect - far away enough from reception to be perfectly quiet yet close enough to make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear “Craig T”

Thank you very much for sharing your very comprehensive review of your most recent holiday with us at The Ulin Villas and Spa. It is always a pleasure to hear that you loved the every moment of your stay and to know that you were very pleased with the high level of service presented by our team members. As you outlined on your review, our aim is to present clear price policy with “no hidden charge” and I am very happy to read that you found our villa, service, food and our location is a great value for money. I sincerely value your comments on our mattress where we will immediately address. Our plan is to add “pillow top” over the bed to suit individual expectation on the firmness of the bed. Once again thank you very much for your review and look forward to seeing you again on your future Bali holiday.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.