We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ulin Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Ulin Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor DEAL-FREE BBQ
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

A very very nice resort where you feel you are the king of the world with you own private villa and swimming pool.
The staff respect you privacy very much and more importantly are available for help at a moments notice.
The entire staff including the general manager Mr. Winawan treat you as their own personal guest helping out in every way possible.
The location is quite good with some very good eating and shopping options. the two of us were vegetarians and we were impressed by the variety nd quality of the veg options available in the resort as well as the nearby eateries.
It was really an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear “aceacharya”

I wish to thank you for taking your valued time to post your review. It was a pleasure to be able to meet you during your stay. I am delighted to know that you loved your stay, the villa, the privacy and the romantic ambience. We do our utmost effort to cater the every need of our guest including “vegetarian food” and I am happy to hear that you loved our selection. We really look forward to welcoming you on you future Bali vacation.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    46
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
255
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was our second stay at Ulin. The first time we were here, Ulin changed our entire Bali experience. We can never come back to Bali staying at other hotels every again - Villas are the way to go and Ulin Villas are the epitome of what living it large in Bali!

The first one we took was the one-bedroom. This time round was a two bedroom so its all things fantastic about Ulin, twice the size!

Its a little expensive, but its worth it :)

Room Tip: Nothing extra really... Been to both types of room - one and two. They're both great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear “Travelling_Teddies”

We highly appreciate your return and your loyalty to The Ulin Villas and Spa. We were honored to have you staying with us again. I am happy to read that you had a great stay again and enjoyed your holiday so much. We can not wait to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards from all here at The Ulin Villas and Spa,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We have just returned from staying 5 nights in a 2 bedroom villa
These villas are just divine. they are so comfortable and beautiful that we just did not want to leave.
The staff are very nice and friendly and the service is excellent.
We were picked up at the airport and the service began with cold towels and water.
When we arrived it was a real wow moment. The villa was lit and the mosquito coils burning.
The villas look exactly as on the website. They are very large and the pool is a good size.
The breakfasts are delicious, and afternoon tea was a lovely added bonus.
As part of our package we had the BBQ dinner. This was very tasty and we loved how the villa was prepared for the evening.
What I really loved the most was the frangipani tree that dropped its flowers on the lawn. It just looked like a picture.
The location of the villa was also excellent. a 2 minute walk to Eat street and a 10 minute walk to Ke De Ta.
I would not hesitate to recommend the villa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear “Millie2112”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write a review. I am so grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much, loved the villa and were satisfied with the level of services presented by our team members. Our mission is to deliver a truly memorable experience with genuine commitment to service. Thank you very much for your high credit to our villas, the divine ambience and the manicured garden. Once again, thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your forthcoming visit.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Ulin Villas for a week just before we headed to Sanur for our wedding. We initially planned to stay at Sentosa which was fully booked so we chose Ulin due to it's top trip advisor ranking and were not disappointed! The villas look exactly as they are represented on the website and are sizable and complete with all the modern conveniences. The 1 bedroom we stayed in had an outdoor massage pavilion / bale which we used on day 1 (recommend against getting massages outdoors in the midday heat by the way) as well as a decent sized pool, outdoor kitchen and dining and indoor living room. The indoor / outdoor bathroom was lovely - no unwanted creepy crawlies and my main disappointment was that I didn't make use of the enormous stone tub! My friends stayed at the 3 bedroom villa in the same complex which had an enormous pool and outdoor dining /lounge pavilion.

Major ups: the unlimited mini bar, the bottle of wine and in room check in upon arrival, a wide breakfast selection including local, western and even Mexican options cooked in our room daily, a free hour long massage and BBQ, free rides around the area whenever the driver was available (which was often!), brilliant location right next to the dining district, and finally - in spite of us running between rooms and leaving / returning to the villas separately from each other they were able to keep track of us and our separate bills.

Minor downs: the aircon in our room was quite loud- we mentioned this on our check out and they have since communicated to us via email this has been fixed. There is no restaurant on the property so all meals need to be taken in the room but this didn't affect us too much as the rooms were beautiful and the restaurants are so close. Security does not feel as high as some other hotels I've stayed at in Seminyak however there is a security guard and the staff are so honest that when my friend accidentally left cash in her room upon check out, they followed her car on a bike to pass her the money!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear “zanaida”

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us in one of our One Bedroom Villa. I am happy to read your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us very much. Our One Bedroom Villa is a real gem probably one of the biggest in Seminyak and they all comes with a private spa gazebo and a decent size private pool. I am delighted to hear that you have made the most of our facilities including a wide selection of the daily breakfast, our prime location and the sincere services performed by our team members. I highly value your feedbacks that are listed on your “minor downs” list. Please accept our commitment to use your comments to persistently increase our standard of service. I will immediately liaise with related department to address the issue that you raised. Our policy for security standard is to present a most secure ambience without being intrusive. We are happy to inform you that we have just received “a gold” certificate presented by Bali Police authority for hotel security standards and equipments. Once again, thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Bali with another couple. The absolute hightlight for all of us was the amazing ulin villas. From the moment you arrive at the airport, until the time of departure, the service is absolutely impeccable. There was not one staff member that didn't go above & beyond to make our stay unforgettable.

Great value for money, a beautiful setting, we had villa 15 right at the very back of the complex. 2 separate huts (bedrooms) with their own outdoor showers & huge bath, then a outside living area with kitchen and large plunge pool. Sooooo breathtaking.

Included in our package was daily breakfast in your villa, the staff come in and cook for you (delicious!), a 60 min massage per person (very relaxing) and a BBQ dinner in our villa (very romantic all lit up and heaps of food for the 4 of us!).

Great location, walk down a short ally to a variety of some great restaurants, very high standard plus shopping (boutique style) and good quality weekend markets.

Some recommended restaurants/bars include;

Jemme (short drive by courtesy bus)- gorgeous little restaurant with adjoining jewellry shop. Cornfed chicken for two is a must, great cocktails but just overall quaint setting.

Kuduta - we missed sunset but arrived to gorgeous candlelight, day beds, very romantic setting. Very trendy, pricey in comparison to Bali prices, but very classy & gorgeous views. The place to be seen!

Chandi - along restaurant strip just down from ulin. Amazing food, my friend ordered the ribs and they were bloody fantastic!!! Great lychee martinis, jaw dropping white chocolate dessert. One of the best meals. Very popular so try and book in if you can.

Khaima - great atmosphere, belly dancer performs, try the local Indonesian cuisine, the mee goreng was very yummy! Cocktails also great. Right near Chandi on front restaurant strip

Champagne bar - red carpet welcome, good atmosphere, music, waitresses bring around complimentary canapes, the cocktails are huge and come light up in very cool glasses!

Ultimo - great setting, very very popular - they don't take bookings so you may have a short wait for a table, but well worth the wait. I had the raviolli and it was one of the best pastas I have ever eaten. Great meal, highly recommended.

All in all ulin & seminyak was unforgettable. Definitely highly reccommeded.

Thankyou ulin!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear “Danandmitch”

I am happy to read that you had an unforgettable experience that was composed by an impeccable service presented by our team members, the amazing villas, the breathtaking private pool surrounded by greeneries and of course “a great value for money”. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your forthcoming stay.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I spent a beautiful honeymoon at the Ulin Villa in Seminyak with their 'honeymooners' package. We booked into a one bedroom villa with private pool. During our stay there, the staff went all the way out to ensure that we were taken care of and that we were comfortable. It was literally a stress-free vacation and I would recommend staying at this villa especially for honeymooners. The special '100 candles' candle-lit dinner specially arranged for us was the highlight of our stay at the villa and was definitely went beyond our expectations. However, it would be better to make your own arrangement for the desired private tours around Bali due to the limited choices offered by the villa. Nonetheless, we will definitely be back there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear “MandyWong”

I highly value you have taken your valued time to post a review and share the experience you had during your stay with us. I am very delighted to find that you had a wonderful stay, more especially a great honeymoon. I am also thrilled to hear that you talk so highly about the service rendered by our team members. Our aim is to ensure our guest could make the most out of each stay and to deliver an experience that is beyond expectation. Our signature 100 candles candlelit dinner is indeed special and I am happy to know that you loved it very much. I am excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again on your future Bali holiday.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We spent 4 nights stay at Ulin for our honeymoon. When we made enquiries online, the General manager, Wayan and his team attended to us, and it makes the service very personalised and tailored according to our preference before we even booked the place. We didn't take alcohol, so they kindly substituted the drinks in the mini bar with non-alcohol items. The only disappointment was a miscommunication between the reservation and front desk team, that left us waiting for more than an hour at the airport for the hotel pick-up. After multiple calls to the villa, we finally got picked up. The driver, Made was nice and explained the miscommunication and also the heavy traffic that took him a longer time to reach us. He also gave us an introduction to Bali as he drove us back to the villa. The staff at the villa and the place itself make up for the initial disappointment with their helpful and sincere services. Most of the time, we relied on them to give us recommendations and drop us off to the places we want to dine or visit, and one of the drivers was very helpful to recommend us a nice shopping place with reasonable price with lots of T-shirt variety after we told him what we were looking to shop for. They were very flexible to adjust the items in the package included in our booking, we were offered to replace the half day shopping tour with a half-day tour to Tanah Lot, when we express our preference to do some sight-seeing. It certainly saved us a lot of trouble looking for alternative transportation to get us there.

The in-villa breakfast at Ulin is fabulous, there's a wide selection, and the foods are really nice. There was some mistake to the orders for the breakfast on our first morning, and after we feedback to the staff, they made sure the staff who delivers the breakfast stayed and give a brief introduction of our breakfast every subsequent morning. We felt it was a nice move to make sure that the foods are right according to order before he leaves. The spa is good too, the ambience was excellent, simply perfect for a relaxing and pampering spa. The masseuse are very courteous, and skillful. They checked with us about the strength applied during the massage. However it would be also great if they were to prompt us in advance before they apply the body scrub and polish, which was very cold. It took us by surprise.

After one of the spa that we had, we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely and romantic set-up at our villa for our five-course candle-light dinner, and it was really wonderful. We simply love the privacy we had in our villa, and the private pool, open concept bath tub and shower is simply wonderful!

We were pleased to find a basket of flowers from Wayan in our villa on the third day, we also had a nice chat with him and he was keen to find out if everything was alright with us. It was very warm gesture, and we were made feeling at home and welcomed. It was indeed a memorable honeymoon for both of us, thanks to Wayan and his team in Ulin.

Room Tip: Smaller number rooms are nearer to the spa and reception. Room 1 is next to reception, and you may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear “HweeMei”

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we were honored that you have chosen us for a precious moment “your honeymoon”. Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write to tripadvisor, sharing your experience of you most recent stay at The Ulin Villas and Spa. We are delighted to read that you had a great holiday and memorable moments. I was also very delighted to be able to meet you in person during your stay and to have a short chat with you. We are happy to know that you loved our signature candle light dinner, the daily breakfast and the overall services performed by our team members. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the miscommunication that caused the pick up service slightly delayed. We encountered a slight problem with our hotel computerized information system where some information posted by reservation department did not show up on front office section. We have immediately solved the technical issues with our information system and now decided to also have hard copies contains arrival information for front office. Once again we apologies for the inconvenience this have caused. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari | P.O. Box 2062, Seminyak, Bali Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an intimate award-winning boutique villa experience in the heart of Seminyak, Bali’s most fashionable destination to dine, drink and dance. The Ulin Villas and Spa is steps away to an array of most sought-after restaurants, chic boutiques, funky shops and within walking distance from the white sand beach for which the island of Bali is famed. It’s a tropical retreat that invites seasoned travelers to experience each day as it slowly evolves. Offering luxury living space, cutting-edge Balinese design and modern comforts, all villas feature private swimming pool, designer kitchen, en-suite bathroom, pool-side dining area, your very own tropical garden and most everything you would possibly expect. The Ulin Villas and Spa is created for you to stay in, chill out and relax. Experience an impeccable sincere service that everybody have been talking about. Create your own love story and make the most of this magical island has to offer. From the soft whisper of morning breeze, to the tropical noonday sun and topping it off with a romantic rendezvous beneath a star studded night sky – at The Ulin Villas and Spa, you would never fail to fall in love.We actively involve and proudly support “Bali Caring Community” a Bali based non-profit organization initiated by a group of hoteliers to bolster the Balinese unfortunates.The Ulin Villas and Spa has also been a proud sponsor of the “Comedy for Cancer Fundraiser” since 2007. “Comedy for Cancer” is a charity initiative to support the work of ANZGOG (The Australia and New Zealand Gynecological Oncology Group) for ovarian cancer research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ulin Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.