We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Shinta Dewi - Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakshmi Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakshmi Villas to your Saves list
Lakshmi Villas
Jl. Laksmana No 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Villa Shinta Dewi - Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I like to think I have travelled fairly extensively, visiting Sth East Asia, the South Pacific, USA, Canada etc. In all my travels, this rates as the most memorable and amazing exotic experience I have ever had! The villa is absolutely STUNNING! 4 rooms filled with immaculate marble bathrooms, showers with pull-out windows to the leafy surrounds outside. So close to the chic eateries of Seminyak and surrounds, yet far enough away to feel a real sense of calm an isolation. The staff were attentive and very hospidable, teaching us Indonesian and always with a smile on their face. The pool is imaculate and the surrounds and gardens are amazing. Go here with a group and revel in the divine atmosphere! Best suited for a group of 4 couples, you will not be dissapointed!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Bali was the last stop on our honeymoon and boy was it a great place to end it! After doing tons of research and being overwhelmed by the all the choices of private villas in Seminyak, we finally decided on Lakshmi Villas due to its proximity to the beach and the beautiful photos online. The photos definitely do not do it any justice!
We stayed in Villa Toba, a two bedroom villa that was only being used as a one bedroom. We couldn't believe how big the villa was when we arrived! The pool, the decor, the furniture - everything exceeded our expectations! The customer service was on point as there are only 4 villas in the complex so you truly get personal service. The butlers were always there to help you immediately and were always so friendly! They even went out of their way and drove my husband to the ATM on their scooter so he wouldn't have to walk.
The daily breakfast inlcuded in the rate was on time every morning and very delicious! You could chose from traditional Balinese breakfast or American breakfast , we chose the American breakfast (french toast, pastries, eggs, bacon, etc.) and it was hot and fresh every morning.
The location was great too......a 5 min. walk to the beach through La Luciola, a 10 min. walk to Ku De Ta and all of the shops, and less than 5 min. walk to Grocer and Grind through the back.
If you were as overwhelmed as I was when it came to picking out a villa in Seminyak, do yourself a favor and just go with Lakshmi -- you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed three nights for our wedding and were very happy with the villa and staff. Service was first class from the chef and butlers through to Nong the villa manager who looked after everything. The villa is in excellent condition with a great upstairs lounge area to watch the sunsets from. Pool area is great and again well maintained. The gardens are small but beautiful and the rooms are are finished to a high standard. Would be very happy to return and spend more time next visit to Bali.
Lloyd & Anne Jones

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in the Villa Solo which is the smallest of the villas in the Lakshmi Villas complex. The villa couldn't have been better situated (10 mins walk from front door to the Oberoi, Ku De Ta, 5 mins to the beach through the Samaya Hotel) and great rate as compared to the 5 stars (Legian, Samaya, Oberoi) that were nearby.

The villa was extremely spacious with a decent sized pool, outdoor living/dining area and full kitchen. The bedroom was well appointed with double bed and separate seating area. My only criticism of the bedroom was that it was a little dark. The bathroom is outdoors but since the villa is completely detached with a high wall you're guaranteed complete privacy at all times. However, there is some traffic noise from the road at night (mainly motorbikes) so if you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was good. I didn't have any other meals so can't comment on the rest of the food.

Would highly recommend for location and represents great value for money as compared to the other options immediately around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Lakshmi villas (part of the Laksmana Villas group) were fantastic. We stayed for 5 nights. Great location. Very close to all the great restaurants, across the road from the beach and located up a little pebble drive away from the crazy streets of Seminyak. It was a treat to hang out by the pool, enjoying delicious fresh meals overlooking our own pool, the staff were fantastic. Very welcoming, happy funny staff. We had a ball and can't wait to tell everyone about it. So give the big hotels a miss and try something more personal, relaxed and enjoy the pampering. Big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Beaches, Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Excellent villas in a good location. Just cross the road from the Samaya hotel and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Very private villas with nice pools and outdoor bathrooms. The staff are very attentive and Agus the manager takes great care of everyone. The 1 bed villa doesn't get much sun so if you want to relax at the villa and sunbake you need to book the 2 bed as they are more open to it. We had dinner at Ku-De-Ta and La Luciola and while Ku-De-Ta was one of the best meals we've ever had the dinners we had at the villas were right up there. The chicken dish we had on our last day was the best chicken we've ever had. The wireless internet is free but very unreliable and in some areas would not even connect. Don't stay here if you want to people watch as it's very private but when compared to the price at the Samaya or Legian it's great value.Highly recomended and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Well, I can't believe that my family and I are already back from our fantastic holiday in Bali. I hope you enjoy part 1 of my JBR.

Myself, hubby, Mr 18, Miss 16, and Miss 9 left for Bali for 12 nights on Friday April 9th, 2010. Hubby and I had been to Bali many times prior to 2000 (we had a Balinese shop in Oz), the teenagers had been once when younger and for Miss 9 this was her first trip. We planned 2 nights in Villa Sembilan and 10 nights in Villa Shinta Dewi, both in the same complex. Both villas were booked through Prestige Bali Villas who were very professional to deal with. I will review Shinta Dewi in Part 2 of my JBR.

We arrived in Bali at aprox 11pm (our flight was slightly delayed). It was very humid and it brought back memories of my last trip in 2000, like it was just yesterday. We managed to get through customs very quickly. I exchanged A$50 at the airport as a just in case measure. The rate was 8100Rp. Upon exiting the doors of the airport there was a sea of signs. Hubby quickly managed to find ours "Mrs Deborah". We had two drivers to collect us, Made and Leong, from the Villa Complex. Hubby had two surfboards. Hubby and Mr 18 went with Leong and the girls and I went with Made. Hubby was apparently asking lots of questions and Leong had good but minimial english. Mr 18 thought it was quite funny... Made was excellent in his english and I also conversed in a little Indonesian. " Saya bisa Bahasa Indonesia sedikit" - meaning, I can speak a little Indonesian. Made was impressed.

After about 20 - 25 minutes, we arrived at the villa. There were two security guards at the top of the very long pebbled driveway. Up went the manual boom gate and then we were at beautiful Villa Sembilan. We were greeted by two of the villa staff at Villa Sembilan with a necklace of beautiful yellow franjipanis. Once the two massive wooden doors opened to the villa we were totally amazed. It was absolutely gorgeous... Mr 18 thought we were in the lobby of a hotel and his jaw dropped when I told him that this was our own private lobby. The staff gave us a welcome drink and a cold towel and then the villa tour. Fish ponds edged the pathway to the huge outdoor dining area which was opposite our beautiful crystal clear pool with the waterfall flowing. In the middle of the pool was a king sized bale perfect for reading or just relaxing. The gardens were lush, the franjipani trees looked very healthy. The villa can be used as a 5 bedder or a 3 bedder, we chose a 3 bedder. Mr 18 had the room upstairs (very narrow and steep) with its own private little balcony. A huge king size bed all to himself and an ensuite equipped for two to die for! I believe this was the master but that didn't matter to hubby and I. Downstairs were two other bedrooms directly opposite each other. Both had king sized beds, very high thatched roofs and outdoor ensuites. All rooms were airconditioned. The girls were a bit shocked about an outside bathroom but after I convinced them that no-one could see in, they were fine. Although it was late, we had a swim and then all headed off for bed. So comfortable...

We woke early and refreshed and ready for our breakfast (complimentary every day). There was a choice of eggs - omlette, fried, scrambled with sausage, bacon, tomato and mushrooms or cereal, bakery, nasi goreng and mie goreng. Piping hot Bali coffee and tea or you could opt for a cappucino. All cooked perfectly. After brekky another swim was decided and then we asked to look at the other part of the villa that were were not using. For the villa to become a 5 bedder, there was another door to a master suite with a private ensuite, a private smaller pool, a kitchen and another separate dwelling which was a study/movie room. Quite beautiful. Villa Sembilan was halfway up the pebbled driveway so not too far to go to the street. Security guards were there day and night and were very friendly and appreciated a Selamat Pagi or other greeting as we passed through the gate. The Samaya Hotel was directly opposite us. As we turned right from the driveway we found the beach not too far away - about a casual 5 minute walk. "Jalan, jalan" we would say to the secutity guards after they suggested transport. The beach at Seminyak was okay, never compare a Kuta/Legian/Seminyak beach to our beaches in Australia or you will be very disappointed. Best you go to Sanur or Nusa Dua for a nicer beach. I was quite disturbed to see the amount of rubbish that flowed from a creek and into the ocean at Seminyak. Such a shame. As we paddled our feet in the warm ocean water, we were "greeted" by the sellers with sunnies, hats, bracelets and watches. Bought a couple of sunnies for the kids. My advice would be to take a copy of the suggested rough guide fo rmarket prices in Bali from the TA site. I found it very useful when bargaining as I hadn't been to Bali for quite some time. I notice that they started very high in their initial price but would come down amazingly low in the end. Just bargain fairly and with a smile.

It wasn't long until our 2 nights at Villa Sembilan were over. I was now wishing that we were staying there for the entire 12 nights. The staff were more than amazing, the food was sensational, the ambience was incredible. We spent time quality time as a family eating, swimming, relaxing, playing cards and laughing. From the moment we entered this beautiful villa it felt so right. I fell in love with this villa from the first moment we walked through the door. It was very sad to leave but I know we will be back, hopefully next year. I would more than recommend this villa. You won't be disappointed staying here.

Enjoy!
Deb :))

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakshmi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakshmi Villas

Address: Jl. Laksmana No 22, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous setting within the Laksmana enclave and just 200 metres from the beach in Seminyak, this luxurious cul-de-sac of four fully staffed one and two-bedroom villas, each with private pool, is ideally located for exploring Bali's cosmopolitan hub. The iconic beach club Ku De Ta is just a short stroll away, as are some of the island's most acclaimed dining venues. Each villa is built to a stylish tropical design incorporating open-plan living area, spacious bedrooms and swimming pool fringed by lush gardens. The one and two-bedroom villas are equally suited to couples and small families, while larger groups can rent the entire complex, giving a total of seven bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lakshmi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakshmi Villas Hotel Seminyak
Lakshmi Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakshmi Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.