We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusun Villas Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dusun Villas Bali to your Saves list
Dusun Villas Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on route to a touring holiday to New Zealand (North & South Island) and Australia. We were met at the airport as promised and efficiently transported through a busy Bali to the Dusun in Seminyak. We were slightly concerned as we drove in, as the entrance was fairly uninspiring. However, we were soon to learn that this was true of many of the holiday locations in Bali.
When we were taken to our villa, we were not disappointed at all. Every thing about it was perfect. Our own secluded swimming pool, excellent living and dining facilities and a fantastic bedroom/bathroom area (bath almost big enough to swim in!). In the evenings we didn't bother to eat out because it was so easy to order food to be delivered. The staff would then arrive, lay the table and set the food out for the two of us to enjoy alone. Paying was also easy, it is just added to the bill et the end (extremely reasonably priced food as well).
We took a tour with the hotel car to the mountain area and Ubud, which was not quite so enjoyable in that we were shown a number of places for making jewellery, batiq and paintings, where the main objective was for us to buy something. However, to be fair, we were always asked whether we wanted to stop and we were probably not directive enough about what we did want.to see.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    34
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
109
133
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Dusun from the 16th through the 20th of March and were completely blown away by the villa. We were booked into a one bedroom and upon showing us our room the manager noticed construction on the building next door. Without us complaining or even mentioning anything to them we were whisked away to a 3 bedroom villa away from the construction at the same rate as the one bedroom. The Villa is in a nice location, about mid-point between eat street and the beach. Walking distance to tons of shopping and restaurants along with free drop off anywhere in Kuta/ Seminyak. Breakfast was cooked to order daily and the pool is a real pool, not just a plunge pool in both the 1 and 3 bedroom villas. They offer in-room delivery of food from a large number of local restaurants and the staff will accomodate any request you have. We booked the honeymoon package which included a 2 hour spa package right on the porch of our villa. Thank you to the Dusun staff for making our stay so romantic and enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

What a sensational villa. After countless website searches and Trip Advisor reviews,
my familly of 3 Adults & 2 children chose the Dusun with a 3 bedroon pool villa. As we had my wife's sister travelling with us, the seperate 3rd bedroom villa was perfect for added privacy.
What can I say? Absolutely everything about our stay here has been fantastic. The villas themselves are definately 5 star, the pool is sparkling clean with enough ledges all around for our youngest child to always be in reach of safety. The service was amazing - breakfast cooked for us each morning (and always cooked to perfection), the villas always cleaned while we were out (how lovely to come home after a day of fun in the sun to a spotless villa), and a free shuttle service to anywhere we wanted to go. The staff are truely the Dusun's best asset - friendly and always ready to help. One night we decided to walk up to Eat street, only a 2 minute trip, when a Dusun car drove past, stopped, and offered to drive us the rest of the way. You just don't get service like that!!! We organised day trips to both Waterbom and the Safari Park through the Dusun, and all the details were taken care of in a matter of minutes,and at a cheaper rate than any of the tour guides around. The hotel arranged tickets and transport, and both days went off without a hitch. One night, with tired kids after a big day out, we decided to have dinner in our villa. The staff ordered our food, picked it up and even served it to us!
I had read one review saying that the Dusun is looking tired, the only things thats looking tired were my children after swimmming in their magnificent pool!! This place is absolutely world class, and perfect for that family holiday!! The position of the Dusun is just perfect - 2 minutes i one direction to the madness of Eat street and all the fantastic restaurants and bars, and 2 minutes in the opposite direction to the beach. If you are looking for a once in a lifetime holiday experience then I couldn't reccommed the Dusun highly enough. We have enjoyed every moment of our stay here and will definately be back. Thanks to all of the staff and management for a wonderfull holiday, we hope to see you soon!!!

Room Tip: For a large family, go the 3 bedroom however, they also have one bedroom Villas for that romantic ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent the last part of our honeymoon at Dusun Villas in Seminyak after spending a few days in Singapore and then Ubud.
The location of the villas were good, only 10 minute walk to "eat street" and similar walk to the beach.
The Villas were superb. We had a private pool, an excellent outside eating area, huge bathroom, walk in wardrobe, big comfortable bed, large tv. The kitchen area was fitted with large fridge which had beers/wine.soft drinks available. There was also a water dispenser where you can get ice cold water or hot water to make tea/coffee.
The seating area was great, and there is a speaker system where you can plug in an mpr player or use cd's, this was handy for relaxing in the evenings or prior to going out
The breakfast was made each morning in the villa, with the order taken the previous day. the portions were just right, I usualy opted for an ommelete and bacon, but you also had local option which I also tried and loved.
The staff were all great and friendly, we went fishing one day, after getting advice from the manager(or owner?) who organised a taxi for us. We caught 6 fish, ate 2 at the fishing place which was prepared for us and gave the rest to the staff at reception - who seemed happy to receive them!
We ordered a bbq one of our nights and this was great, you leave the villa for a few hours and come back and they have decorated the place with flowers and candles, they have a couple of local musicians playing while they cook and you eat - and there was an unbelievable amount of food for the two of us.
The pool was just the right size for 2 of us, the villa we had in Ubud had a "plunge pool" this was too small we felt, but the one in the Dusun must have been 4 times the size of that one!

The only bad thing about Seminyak/Bali is the amount of stray dogs wandering about and the pavements could do with being upgraded around the villas.

All in all we loved our stay at the Dusun Villas and would love to return in the future, its just a pit its so far away!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our 4 night stay at The Dusun was the highlight of our 18 night SE Asia trip. From initial booking right up to the follow up e-mail once we were home, the level of service was fantastic! Every single staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The villa and pool were gorgeous. The bed was so comfy and had a mosquito net (there were also electronic repellers in the bathroom and bedroom and a coil lit outside everyday), the kitchen made it feel very homely and it was so nice to be able to help ourselves to chilled water and the contents of the fridge (included in our package). The refillable bottles of shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom was a nice (and environmentally friendly) touch. Wireless internet was useful and pretty fast to access on our smart phones, there is a computer and printer available to guests in the back office which we used to print our boarding passes.

Breakfast was lovely and very generous, we sampled the American (with proper crispy bacon) and fruit pancakes but there was also the option of continental and Indonesian. It was lovely having it prepared freshly in front of you while you read the paper! Room service consists of a list of local restaurant menus, reception phone your order through, collect and then deliver it to your villa. We did this on the first night as we arrived much later than anticipated as we had to take a VERY long route back from the Gili Isles due to inclement weather. We ordered from the Italian Trattoria and the food was very good. If you like to get out once in a while (and with the enticing pool this is sometimes hard to do!) the local shops, spas and restaurants, are only a few minutes walk away.

We booked the spa package, this included a romantic 4 course set-menu in the villa and a couples massage. I arranged the meal on the night of my boyfriend’s 30th birthday, and although the setting was gorgeous (they put lots of candles around the pool), and the staff wonderful as always, the food was only average and there was so much that we had to put dessert in the fridge for later! They also arranged a birthday cake, which was complete with candles and 4 members of staff singing! A very memorable experience! The massage was fantastic, one of the best I’ve had for ages, and it was lovely to have it in the outside living area with our own soundtrack playing from the speaker system using the ipod cable. We followed this with a trip to Bodyworks (2 mins from The Dusun) for manicures and pedicures.

We also arranged a day trip to Ubud with one of The Dusun’s drivers, although you can probably get a slightly less expensive driver, it was nice to go with a familiar face and they did include nice touches like bringing an cool bag full of chilled water for us.

Writing this is making me wish I was back there! Hopefully we will visit again one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

What a lovely little piece of paradise. We had a private compound with two villas and three bedrooms. Breakfast was great and cooked in the villa by the staff who were very friendly and professional. Great private compounds with beautiful gardens. The rooms were well fitted and luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Fantastic resort, fantastic placement, great service, great privacy. Recommend to anyone. Pool was a delight as was the sound system, open kitchen, air conditioned rooms, open air bathroom. Beautiful Bali in every way. Very secure. Stayed in a pool villa - hoping to come back with a larger group next time & try the master villas with the massive pools. Local spa (Bodyworks) is so worth the expense - try the couples massage it was divine. Can't say enough but note that we travelled two years ago so things may have changed since then...Oh the breakfasts cooked to order are magnificent! Plenty of fabulous restaurants & night spots within easy walking distance as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusun Villas Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Villas Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusun Villas Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Dusun Villas Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Villas Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusun Villas Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.