We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Villa in Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPA, DINNER & MANY MORE!!
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Villa in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Another amazing property of Seminyak.

The villa, the pool, the private beach, are all good.
Celebrated my birthday over a simple (but amazing) dinner at Breeze restaurant.
Again, Samaya is extraordinary when it comes to the details. The details of the property as well as the services.

Sincere smiles from all staffs, always brighten our days.

Definitely, this is no choice in Seminyak. Way over others.

Room Tip: choose Samaya Bali.... not Samaya Courtyard. Courtyard is not by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    91
    28
    7
    14
See reviews for
158
883
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Samaya in Seminyak, Bali. We were incredibly impressed with the high attention to detail, such as small extra special touches in our room and around the resort. We were greeted with flower leis, scented cold towels and welcome drinks, with a staff member taking us to our room, explaining the resort and room amenities while taking care of registering in such a relaxed personal manner vs the "standard" check in at a lobby desk. Ray, the General Manager took time each day to say hello and check if there was anything we needed or could be of help. The simple ability to have breakfast at any time was truly appreciated, so we could plan activities accordingly without trying to adjust or adapt to fit into a certain window. It may seem a small thing, but it was a lovely aspect that actually ended up impacting our our planning in such a positive way.
The warm and very personal service continued throughout our stay, we were continually impressed by the amazing level of care from every staff member. Their open, warm and friendly approach was genuine and sincere, making us feel a part of their "family".
We celebrated my husband's birthday here, and were surprised with a birthday cake at breakfast. We decided to have dinner at Breeze, with Ray assuring us that it would be a unique and special night. We were delighted with a very special table and location, decorated with flowers and flower petals, and personal service and attention.
It was an incredible, decadent stay at the Samaya, Bali in Seminyak with memories of a lifetime for us!

Room Tip: The property actually have two locations for rooms, one at the beach with the main reception and ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The first time I stayed at the Samaya was by chance. The private villa I had originally booked was very nice but unfortunately the next door villa was being renovated and having a continual "bang bang bang" noise during my massage by the pool was not, understandably, very relaxing. My husband told me to take the driver and come back when I found something that was perfect - and when I walked in through the front doors of The Samaya with a view straight through to the beach, I knew I had found it. I didn't really need to see the room - which was actually a private villa - but of course I went to have a look anyway and 2 hours later I was in that room! I was very lucky by the way as this was the only villa they had available. I have not stayed anywhere else in Seminyak since and probably won't. The service is impeccable - one feels truly special and especially when the very charming staff call you by your name after what seems like 3 minutes of being there. It is incredibly luxurious and even the standard villas seem like palaces with bathrooms larger than some one bedroom city apartments with both indoor and outdoor showers (the shower heads are so big you feel like it's raining on you) as well as sunken spa baths. Each villa has it's own large pool and separate sitting room so really you are in your own house within the hotel grounds. There is a very well equipped gym, you can have your breakfast any time of the day - seriously, ANY time - and they even bring you fresh fruit to your sun-lounger (which, by the way, is one of the most comfortable sun loungers I have every relaxed on, and there have been many! There is also a call button for each sun-lounger) around midday and provide afternoon tea consisting of sandwiches, cakes and scones - all complimentary. The spa is sensational; obviously one can find many many spas locally in the area and at much lower prices but there is no way the whole service can compete - ambience, tranquility, amenities etc etc - and all right by the pool! Another very attractive service is the Samaya's local transport service - one only has to wait 2 or 3 minutes for a driver to take you wherever you wish to go in the area in one of their very posh air conditioned vans. For a relaxing and very luxurious holiday, look no further. You will feel very pampered, very looked after and very, very relaxed.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask about where the different villas are located as some are not within the main hotel co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was my first trip to Bali, so perhaps my expectations were a little unrealistic. Let's see....

Firstly, the staff were fantastic. Always smiling, always helpful. Five out five for them!

Villa - beautiful. It was huge and private. It had everything you could think of. I did get bitten by an insect (or possibly two) which I didn't notice until the next day but this is entirely my own fault as I had read Bali had some insects and in the cupboard were a multitude of options to keep them away. They are invisible little things - I didn't actually see one but had a few bites on me on my last morning. So suggest you avail yourself of the sprays, candles etc.

The villa was always spotless and so was the pool. It could not have been cleaner. Sure, on some days I swam with a few frangipanis floating around - but how lovely! They were certainly gone when the villa was serviced though and there was never anything on the floor of the pool. It was immaculate, as was the whole resort.

I stayed on the other side, which was only a few minutes on foot to cross to the main side. This didn't bother me at all and there were security everywhere between the two points who made sure the traffic stopped and you could travel between safely. I mainly walked but a buggy service is available and they were often at my door before I'd hung the phone up - so make sure you're ready to go before you call!

One thing I would have liked was a map of the resort, both sides of the road. I had no idea where the second restaurant was nor where the stairs were to Seminyak Square. I took the buggy the first time I went over to the main side because I had no idea where I was.

Food - there are many review here raving about the food and the breakfast. It was a bit hit and miss. The strawberry & cashew pancakes were the best breakfast I had and they were delicious! I initially thought the juices were watered down. When I tasted the fruit I realised the juice wasn't, the fruit just wasn't particularly flavoursome. OJ was best. Watermelon and pineapple were not sweet. The all day dining and dinner at Breeze was great. The dinner was actually superb.

Spa - Gorgeous rooms and lovely staff. Service was also excellent.

Ambience - the pool was quite understated. It appears like a lagoon and upon first seeing it I thought it was more for decoration and the pool was elsewhere. The beach was incredibly ordinary and quite rough, I didn't go in but think it may not suit young children. I think you could find other places to spend the day though at sunset it was quite magical.

General comments - I had a great time and my low rating shouldn't suggest otherwise. It just wasn't worth the $$$. Perhaps if it was $400 to $500 (absolute max) it would be more appropriately priced.

My villa was lovely however I happened to see through the doors into villa 109 and it looked spectacular. Not sure if it was a few bedrooms, but it was next to the restaurant and looked striking.

On reading the comments I had expected to be greeted at some point by the General Manager. I was also told by staff one evening that he was planning on meeting me in the morning at breakfast. I had not asked to meet him, but wasn't surprised by this as I had read online this was quite common. I never actually did. Which isn't a problem but it did leave me feeling a little awkward, given he is so well known for this I am left wondering why he didn't want to meet me!?!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We moved here from another hotel for our last night in Bali and we were fortunate enough to be upgraded to their Royal Pavillion by the pool area adjacent to the beach. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Their manager Ray was fantastic, he personally showed us around and we instantly felt relieved after our ordeal at our previous hotel. The Pavilion was amazing, the biggest bathroom I have ever seen with Jacuzzi bath, large bedroom and lounge area and big private pool with hot tub (although was a little too hot to get into). The room was very clean and we were given champagne on arrival and lots of other honeymoon welcome treats such as flowers in bath and a large chocolate cake!

The hotel has a fantastic location, right in Seminyak near all of the life and activity and some great restaurants and bars. It is still a boutique hotel so doesn't feel huge like some of the nearby big hotels so you're given a real personal service. The complimentary afternoon tea is a real treat and we watched the sunset over the beach which was amazing.

Our only regret is that we didn't book here from the beginning so if and when we do go back to Bali we would definitely stay at The Samaya. Thanks to Ray and his team for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

During our stay in bali we stayed everywhere from a 50 dollar night bungalow to staying here during our last night. I must say this is def pricey and a different crowd. If you like staying at expensive 5 star hotels that offer great service this is the place for you. The property is beautiful and has a great pool and overlooks the beach. Our rooms were very nice. My favorite was the bathroom. Had two huge spacious bathrooms..one outside and one inside. Had a nice jacuzzzi style bathtub. We stayed on the beach side and had our own private pool which was nice. Had a nice afternoon tea and snack selections. Def wish we would have stayed longer to be able to relax because the staff at the pool is very attentive with very nice relaxing chairs. We ate at the restaurant breeze. The atmosphere and service was excellent but the food was just okay. I also had a massage at the spa. The spa was beautiful. Try and spend some time and relax there. They had my favorite tea at the spa...a cinnamon, ginger, and lemongrass tea..yum.

Hotel is very nice and pretty. Service is great! nice stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed for the third time. April 2014. Accomodation was a Pool Villa. We were again delighted to stay at The Samaya, in short: Operational Excellence, Highest Quality Standards, Superb service, Great location and very well kept grounds, Staff is very professional, cordially, friendly and will "go the extra mile". The same applies to the restauarant Breezes. Absolutely number 1 in Seminyak. We will be back !

Room Tip: Pool Villa's are located extremely well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.