We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPA, DINNER & MANY MORE!!
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Exceptional service, friendly staff, beautiful pool villas, elegant atmosphere, breakfast by the ocean... We had an early morning arrival, got a complimentary breakfast, had a late flight back, and got a late checkout. They do everything to make your stay wonderful. This was my third time on Bali, but Samaya is the most memorable one.
Plus, Siminyak is a great location, many shops, restaurants and bars at the walking distance, Much better than Nusa Dua of example, which is far from everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    101
    30
    7
    14
See reviews for
169
945
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have been to the Samaya, on the last 2 holidays in Bali, and I loved it there. I emailed them today after looking at their 'wedding packages/commitment ceremonies' online, and asked about prices etc for a same sex commitment ceremony. I was told I could not hold our ceremony there, as they do not take these types of ceremonies/weddings, due to 'religious reasoning and sensitivity to other guests and the local fraternity in the areas where the hotels are based'.
We were very disappointed at this response, as its something again we have to miss out on being 'different', and were told of other hotels that do specifically assist with same sex unions.
Very disappointed 'The Samaya', believed we were hopefully progressing to a world with equal rights and opportunities, but sadly a long way to go. I will remember that next time we decide where to holiday and dine.

Thought it was important to make this fact know to other couples trying to find venues, to not have the same embarrassing refusal as I did.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed at the courtyard Villa for 5 nights with my 2 kids. My Kids loved the golf buggy experience from our villa to the main hotel unit. They absolutely loved it!!
The general Manager Ray was fantastic and helpful and the staffs were very friendly.
The breakfast were variable and delicious. The beach front...Wow... was amazing.
The spa was one of the best masseur I've ever had before.
Our courtyard villa was spacious and clean. Just impeccable!!
I ended up to book 3 more Villas for my relatives who stayed different hotels to attend my brother's wedding. They also loved The Samaya Villa.
Big thank you to Ray to sort out our relatives villa and we will definitly be back soon!!!!!^^

Room Tip: The courtyard villa we stayed is very good for kids to add another fun experience as we need to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Vila for 3 nights, love the breakfast options including Japanese breakfast and the view at the restaurant and pool side was picturesque. Enjoyed the most having tea time by the beach and it's walkable to the shopping area. Food and service was average.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived on 29th April at the Samaya Seminyak - we had the most amazing honeymoon here. We chose to stay here for one week first and then moved onto the Samaya Ubud for five nights.

We were collected from the airport but a Samaya car - greeted at the hotel with fresh flower garlands and cool drinks. We were shown straight to our villa and all amenities were shown to us. We felt right at home straight away and after almost 30 hours of travelling we were more than ready to sleep but managed to stay up and just relaxed by our private pool.

What an amazing place this was!

We stayed in a private pool villa - just sensational! The villa itself was huge, living space, bedroom and then a huge section with jacuzzi bath, two showers - one inside and one outside and plenty of space with lots of storage.

The staff could not do enough for us. They are always smiling and more than happy to help!

We ate in the Breeze restaurant on the first night - beautiful setting and great food although much more expensive to eat here than in Seminyak itself. We were jetlagged and they fit us in no problem - it was lovely.

The Breeze restaurant works as the breakfast/lunch/dinner place. Breakfasts are amazing - you order everything fresh and whether you want toast/fruit/full breakfasts or pancakes there is everything you could want! There is also no time limit on what time you can go for breakfast which is great.

The villa was immaculate - by the time we had eaten breakfast someone had already been in to tidy up the room - make bed/replace towels.

Whether we wanted to book a restaurant or a taxi or take the hotel car somewhere there was always someone on hand to organise this for us.

It is about a ten minute walk out of the hotel to where there are lots of bars and restaurants - we tried lots of different places.

Remember - when you walk out of the hotel, we spent the most part of the week turning right but make sure you turn left, follow the road round to the left and keep going - there are lots of good restaurants and bars up that way too! We went out to the left one night and because it was dark didn't think that there was much up that way but go beyond the bend in the road!

The spa was lovely - we had a Ritual of Royalty treatment together - BLISS!

For very very cheap massage there is a place just over the road too that does great foot and leg massages.

We spent most days by the pool, this was such a quiet and tranquil place. The pool attendants were great, as soon as they saw you on the lawn they would set up beds where ever we wanted. There was a pager button on the parasol should we want drinks or food - lunches we just ordered and shared a nice hot sandwich and fries as that's all we could manage after the great breakfast!

Plus, we had to leave room for the complimentary afternoon tea which we would get around 4pm - served either at the pool or in the villa.

Such a great place - I'm glad we stayed here as it was everything that I imagined our honeymoon to be.

Thank you to Ray and all the staff for making our stay so special - we will be back very soon!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 222 - this was a two minute walk from the pool and was very quiet and was no over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I wanted to stay at the Samaya Seminyak after getting engaged at their Breezes Restaurant back in July 2011. All I can say is WOW! This property is absolutely stunning. We had a 1 Bedroom Pool Villa and did not want to leave! They are very spacious with a living room, decent size bedroom and very very comfortable bed, the biggest bathroom I have ever seen including a good size spa bath, and an outdoor day bed by the pool. The breakfast at the Breezes was a la carte and was definitely the best we have experienced in Asia. The restaurant also has beautiful ocean views and is amazing to sit watch the sunset with a cocktail at the end of the day. I found all of the staff to be very professional, friendly and kind. I would have no hesitations in recommending this resort - definitely suited for honeymooners. I cannot wait to stay here again the next time I am in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at The Samaya twice now and both times have been amazing. The staff especially Kamaya go out of there way to make sure ur stay is the best it could possibly be. Can't say enough about this beautiful place on earth everything is just superb. They recommend places for u to go for dinner even tho they have an amazing restaurant at the resort and they book and take u. Nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff and the villas are amazing and kept immaculate. We are sad when we leave and come home and start planning our return trip. The samaya is the only place we will stay when in Bali as I think it would be impossible to find better. Location, villas, staff, breakfast, restaurant all fantastic. Can't wait to return

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.