We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPA, DINNER & MANY MORE!!
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived at The Samaya with high expectations following 5 nights spent in Borneo where we were a little disappointed with our hotel. Well our expectations were certainly met and exceeded. The Samaya is a beautiful hotel - you really do get a wow factor when you step through your villa front door (check-in is taken care of in your villa, no sitting around in reception) and see your private pool, huge bathroom and outdoor shower. We booked the Escape in Paradise package but decided to stay in a one bedroom Pool Villa rather than a Royal Courtyard property as we wanted to be nearer the beach and restaurant. Although this meant a smaller villa we didn't feel we had downgraded as our villa was still huge and we preferred being closer to the main facilities. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and it has a village like feel not like some of the other large 5* hotels we saw in the area.

The hotel enjoys a lovely position. The beach in front is relatively quite compared to further down but you are still walking distance to some good restaurants and other hotels - we walked along the beach to Ku De Ta and the W Hotel in the opposite direction and also wandered around Seminyak looking in the boutiques and tourist shops.

Breakfast was always a real feast with so many mouth watering options (the french toast, pancakes and breakfast burrito being favourites!) always leaving us feeling very full - we didn't need to eat again until afternoon tea time which was a lovely treat enjoyed daily on our sun loungers over looking the ocean. We only had one lunch at Breezes and this was because it was included in our package. They could not include afternoon tea meaning guests would then have to dine at Breezes for lunch if they didn't want to go far so it is a lovely touch. We ate dinner twice at Breezes including a special Honeymoon dinner on one of the pool islands. We watched the staff decorating the islands during the day and although I find these kind of things a little cheesy it did look beautiful and you have to appreciate the effort which has gone into it. The food on both nights was very good and it is certainly a beautiful setting for a romantic dinner and sundowners.

The staff are a credit to Ray Clark (the GM who does an amazing job) - always professional but smiling and friendly, willing to go the extra mile and addressing you by your name. A special mention must go to Adi who we enjoyed chatting to every morning at breakfast and Mul who served us during our honeymoon dinner.

I was very sad to leave after our 5 nights and if we ever return to Bali we will definitely be back at the beautiful Samaya.

Room Tip: Although the Royal Courtyard villas are only a short walk (or golf buggy ride) away from the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    91
    29
    7
    14
See reviews for
159
894
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We are a family of 3 (our 7 year old came with us) and we stayed for 4 nights in one of the Beach villas. Many reviews do not include children, so we felt perhaps we were taking a gamble at the Samaya as a family. It was no gamble at all. The beach is amazing and very much enough of a place to play for children, and there are merchants selling really fun kites on the beach. Plus, the staff at the Samaya is incredibly welcoming to children. We typically stay in 4 to 5-star hotels and the Samaya far exceeded expectations. As others have noted, the villas are very spacious, have plenty of storage space, and the bathrooms are huge, with indoor & outdoor showers. Service is very important to us and was outstanding from the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment we left. Drivers went out of their way to be helpful and Mr. Clark (GM) was incredibly kind and also helpful when we lost some items. He also told us that while the Samaya does not have a children's club, they can arrange a nearby club that children really love. We also really enjoyed the restaurant, Breeze. The pounding surf made swimming a bit treacherous, but provided a great back-drop. Loved that we could walk to dinner along the beach. The staff were incredibly warm and helpful at all times and even knew our son's name. The Samaya spa is also wonderful. The Samaya is one of the most wonderful hotels we have ever stayed in. It is peaceful, beautiful, exceptionally well-appointed, and truly, it is the staff that makes all the difference. They are the most lovely people, in the most lovely setting.

Room Tip: While we were told that the Royal Villas are much more spacious, the reality is that the Beach Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What an unbelievably sublime experience our holiday at The Samaya was! We stayed five nights in total at the Royal Courtyard Villa, which are the villas across the road from the main building and were completely floored by how beautiful it was. The room was spacious, the bathroom was huge (loved the two showers!), and what an indulgence it was to have our own pool – not a plunge pool, but a proper one where laps were possible! We absolutely loved everything about our stay – the staff are so professional and very gracious, the food is fantastic (great breakfasts, and dinner at The Breeze is a must!), the grounds are stunning and lovingly maintained, and the long hours spent on the sunbeds overlooking the beach. The afternoon English-style tea was also a treat, even more so when lounging in your bathers!

Overall, my husband and I definitely felt very special and cared for while staying here – we weren’t just another pair of guests checking in, we were amazed that even the buggy driver knew it was my birthday and restaurant staff greeted us by name. After a three night stay, we returned for two more following a brief trip to the Gili islands and were in a different villa (322) to the original (306). I was amazed to find that following my initial feedback to have bigger coffee mugs, I found these were already in the room – just two days after I had filled in the feedback form! The one thing I didn’t like about the pool here was that it was all one depth, but everything else was just as wonderful. Our butler Agus was a gem, so helpful and friendly. Thank you also to Ray Clark, the general manager who took the time to write to us despite being overseas at the time. All these are very impressive touches, which makes staying at The Samaya extra special. We also celebrated our wedding anniversary at The Breeze restaurant and were very touched to receive a cake and flowers from the hotel.

Now that we are back to the daily grind, memories of our stay still keep us smiling. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice private villas ( although nothing resembling a Balinese ambiance ) We voted this the best bathroom we have ever seen in our travels. Lovely staff. Excellent location - which is really what you are paying for here. We had a really nice break although I'm not sure it's worth the money overall. Some of the finer details were missing after a few days ie, the daily newspaper stopped coming, breakfast & afternoon tea services were sent out without a checklist prior to leaving the restaurant ie, missing condiments, butter knives, butter, salt / pepper etc.
The villa garden & painting needed a little TLC as did the outdoor lounge furniture & when comparing to the Dusun, for example, not sure the beachfront location is worth the extra US$400 a night.
Kids club not necessary as there is always so much to do!

Room Tip: If you are in a room beachfront side behind the restaurant, it may be really noisy if there is a cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

totally perfect. we have stayed in a courtyard villa it was very good very spacious. you can take your breakfast at your room whenever you want and it was delicious. there is a complimentary car service around seminyak area. I suggest booking a massage in an oceanview room in advance. also breeze restaurant has the best food around seminyak area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Never ever we stayed in such a spacious clean room before . Even to the point where we felt that this was exaggerated. Everything, really everything is beyond expectations: rooms, cleaning, beach service, sea access, breakfast, spa, staff, bar. The fact of having this hotel on the beachfront is a big surplus. A place to remember.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed at many luxury hotels including several Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons properties but have never received service like we had from Ray and his team. The hotel is in a good location on the beach; the restaurant is excellent and the whole place looks wonderful in the evening when the lanterns are lit. But without question the highlight for us was the way we were made to feel like a part of the family. The staff at the Samaya are the nicest people in the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.