We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali

Save Saved
You added The Samaya Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
More B.E.N.E.F.I.T.S.!
Ranked #6 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
Goulburn, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3rd time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just return home from a 14 day break at the Samaya Seminyak for our third time, this time we stayed in the new beach side villas, and they did not disappoint. I would recommend the Samaya to anyone. The staff make you feel like a king with nothing a problem. Last stay I ask the girls at the Breeze about organising my wife 50th for 20 guests. Everything was perfect, from the flowers, food and cake. They couldn't do enough for us.
Beautiful place with the best staff
Thanks again Samaya
Sam and Jenny

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with your choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    994
    82
    28
    7
    14
See reviews for
151
826
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Samaya Seminyak as part of our honeymoon in June 2013 and stayed here for 6 nights.

I can safely say that it was the most relaxing 6 nights of my life!! We stayed in a Royal Courtyard Villa which was across the road from the main complex but a short buggy ride away whenever we wanted it. Every aspect of the villa was designed to make your stay as luxurious and comfortable as possible and it definitely did that! The bathroom was huge, the bed massive and so comfortable and there was a dressing room area with lots of wardrobe space. The landscaping in the villa was beautiful with lots of greenery and fresh flowers which would fall into the pool and look stunning!

The food is also amazing with a huge choice for breakfast and a lovely afternoon tea with the best scones I’ve ever had!

The Breeze restaurant is not to be missed with a picturesque setting on the beach. The food was lovely and reasonably priced.

The main thing about the Samaya however is the staff. Everyone you encounter says hello, smiles and clearly loves their job. There was no need they couldn't or wouldn't cater for and this is without a doubt part of what makes Samaya such an amazing place. I also have to mention how amazing the staff were when my husband misplaced his wedding ring. They immediately sprung into action making calls to numerous people to start looking. The ring was found at the bottom of the pool which was a huge relief! The staff were so calm and helpful we were sure they would find it!

There are no negative comments I can say about the Samaya!

Room Tip: While the Royal Courtyard villas are away from the main complex this in no way makes them a second c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here in December for 5 nights and it was outstanding, huge villa with an amazing bathroom, spa bath, tv room, huge bed and big private pool. We would 100% stay here again and recommend this place to any of our friends that could afford it. Was worth the money for us.

Room Tip: The pool at the hotel is lovely, so although we loved having a private pool it is not a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is pricey, especially for Bali! But if you can swing it, it's worth it. Everything is top notch, from the villas, to the butlers, to all the staff, to the food, and definitely to the service. Electric golf carts take you everywhere and are at your beck and call. Everything is easy and there are no dumb rules you have to obey like pool rules or walk here but not there or you can bring your food there but not your drink there. Do what you want! The beach area is wonderful as is the pool right there next to the spa. I wish we had booked the pool island romantic dinner, but alas we left too soon. Do you want to be a tourist? Perfect, they have tours ready for you to take of local attractions. Do you want to shop? Fine, they can take you to some good places.. both stores and street markets, and even provide you with a local guide (that's a good deal or that's not is a big help). Want to be lazy and relax.. perfect. It is so quiet and peaceful at your villa or by the pool or by the beach you will melt.

Room Tip: Get a villa with a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Location is great. We got the beach and seminyak square in close proximity. The courtyard villa is clean and comfortable. It is also of very good size. The amenities are amazing. The in villa pool is of very good size and we need not use the hotel pool.
the food at Breeze is also delicious. It is the best at seminyak though it costs more. But certainly good value. We had almost all our meals there. Very outstanding breakfast and the free high tea every afternoon make the stay special.
what can be improved is the service. Granted this is peak season, but many occasions the pickup buggy were slow, almost 15 min late. Also we hardly saw our butler throughout the 5 days stay. We stayed at ubud 2 years ago and were amazed by tge level of service then. That was why we booked the seminyak this time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Samaya in Seminyak was the final week or our honeymoon. We had stayed in Ubud before here and seen the sights, experienced the culture etc so that when we got here we did NOTHING for a whole week - it was heaven on earth!!!! As soon as we arrived we were presented with a beautiful frangipani flower garland and taken by golf buggy to our villa over at the royal courtyards. When we walked through the private doorway and entered our villa we were lost for words! It was absolutely HUGE with a beautiful private garden with our own swimming pool, table and chairs and outdoor daybed There were flower petals as we were on honeymoon at the doorway to the inside of the villa which was out of this world, the bed was humongous with lovely curtains round, a huge dressing area and a massive bathroom with a double shower, bug jacuzzi bath with tv on the wall his and hers sinks etc etc. We had a honeymoon cake, welcome drinks, a beautiful flower bath all awaiting us, and a bottle of sparkling wine keeping cold in the minibar for us :-) The minibar was include in your room rate - no alcohol but lots of soft drinks, water chocolate and nuts, was brilliant!
There were 52 villas in total at this resort but we were amazed - literally every member of staff you passed/encountered just knew your name and always addressed you personally!! I don't know how they do it, its fantastic! They literally cannot do enough for you, and always took time to ask how you are, if you needed anything, were enjoying your stay etc. This truly is luxury at its highest and the most amazing honeymoon spot you could wish for. We both had a balinese massage at the samaya spa and this was wonderful and very reasonably priced bearing in mind the standard of the hotel and the fact that the spa was beautiful with fantastic staff. The breakfast is out of this world, full a la carte menu and you can literally order as many things as you want! you can have it served to your villa but its a real treat having it down at breeze restaurant on the beach - which truly is a beautiful spot. Best breakfast weve ever had anywhere. hen if you are sunbathing by the beach at about 12.30/1pm they bring you fresh fruit which is lovely and very refreshing. Between 3-5pm you can take your afternoon tea, again you can have it by the beach/pool or served to your villa we did a mixture. The tea itself was a beautiful selection of sandwiches/pastries, scones and a drink - latte etc. Gorgeous! The hotel restaurant is simply fine dining - we literally ate there every single night of our stay - yes we may have been able to get something a bit cheaper if we went out into Seminyak but really the Samaya was too beautiful to leave and Breeze restaurant was so amazing we just couldn't risk going anywhere else. The pumpkin soup starter is a must try! We literally had that same starter every night ;-) The staff are so thoughtful even giving you a little reading light with the menu (as the ares is just beautifully candlelight for dinner) and even giving you mosquito spray every evening to use! This place really and truly is paradise - heaven on earth! Don't hesitate on booking if this is what your looking for... we'll be back for a future anniversary!!!!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where you stay - all villas are private and beautiful. If staying at royal court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having heard lots of good reports about the beachside villas at The Samaya in Seminyak after 15 years of staying out yearly in Jimbaran we felt it was time to come back and check out the new Seminyak / Kerobokan area. We were not disappointed ! We were met when the plane landed and taken to their fast check in where their staff helped and within moments we were on our way to this beautiful villa set right on the best part of Seminyak beach. We were very lucky and stayed in one of their Royal Pavillions . Once we opened out beautiful security gates we looked on to the main pool and the beach! Most of the new top restaurants were just a stroll away or a short taxi trip..
Each Villa a private haven to relax if you wish or walk the resort and chat to other holiday makers. Lounge room , bathroom and bed room all have access to your own private pool. Large outdoor living area. Beautiful 4 poster bed with the biggest bathroom i have encounted in any hotel or villa with enormous spa bath. . Also a fantastic outdoor shower set up if you want to take advatage of the weather. A large Hot tub sits on the decking next to the pool.
I have stayed at many 5/6 star resorts. This is different. Not overly flashy just a small check in area with staff who make you feel they want you to enjoy your stay in every way. Staff there to do any possible wish you could have but never in your face as you always felt you were the only people in this small boutique style resort. Your privacy was respected in every part of the resort. It feels like your home not like some resort where there are loud guests everywhere.
Its restaurant Breeze was fantastic. Breakfast no trashy smorgas board but any thing you could imagine the chef could cook to prefection and then some! I commented one day i had heard they were famous for their marmalade jam. Lots had been consumed in their free high tea served every afternoon. You guessed it, by breakfast the next day the chef presented me with a fresh batch he had made during the night!! Service beyond and above! I had several dinners set on the beach boardwalk at Breeze and it was faultless. Its cocktails superb.Each guest was asked how they prefered their cocktails made and the staff remembered for our full 11 day stay.
As you left for breakfast you were asked did it suit you if the staff cleaned your room. Instead of one or two staff members taking ages. A large crew entered and the rooms were left spotless the garden freshly racked and the pool and hot tub left spotless. Rooms cleaned twice a day with all Crabtree and Everlyn beauty products replenished. Cakes or cookies layed out for you before bed and the mini bar loaded with all drinks even chocolates free of charge < except alcohol> all day.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. At least once a day their staff offered to drop me off shoping at no cost to me. If i wanted a taxi for the day that was arranged at a very reasonable rate.
To sum up not a pretentious flashy resort where you could ever feel uncomfortable but a spotless home where you are everyone who works theres number one priority is to please you. The spa resonably priced and one of the very best i have visited. It was a full pampering holiday one that even at 11 days was just not long enough!

Room Tip: Beachside Royal Pavillions are great! Nothing better than the crash of the waves to put you to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Samaya Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali

Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Samaya Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Samaya Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.