We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town, tired, poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Madawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Madawi to your Saves list
Puri Madawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68 | Batu Belig, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Out of town, tired, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked this 'boutique' through I-escape.com, which in the past had helped us find some amazing boutique hotels. Unfortunately this time we were disappointed. Rooms whilst clean and of a good size, are tired and require investment. A number of things did not work in the room on check in (safe, shower holder, slow draining shower) and strangely the taps on the shower were the wrong way around - hence the first night I had a cold shower needlessly! Breakfast was absolutely horrible - my banana pancake was uncooked, cakey, and tasted of cheap margarine. My boyfriends eggs benedict looked horrible and tasted the same, with the hollandaise sauce more of a grey coloured floury white sauce over basic white sliced bread and cheap ham! The next day we choose the fresh fruit option! Other disappointments were the beach (unpleasant walk to the beach along an alley way, littered, red flagged) and the distance out of town. Whilst we knew to expect this, we hadn't planned for the advanced booking rate on the taxis (as it's down a side road so no passing traffic). Positives, in fairness, were the quietness/tranquillity,the pleasant pool and the friendly service. However I wouldn't go back, and I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
33
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is for you if-

- You want some peace and quiet
- Don't mind being a little walk from shops/ restaurants (We had a motorbike and it was perfect)
- Enjoy nice, fresh, Indonesian breakfasts and really friendly staff

We stayed here in Jan 2013 for 3 nights and loved it. Simple, but beautiful Bali style design with a nice pool, garden, outdoor bathroom, strong A/C, DVD player (perfect for watching those new DVDs when you are recovering from the sun), mini bar with Bintang, free tea/ coffee. Nice and easy. We hardly saw any other guests while we were there and that was fine with us! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We just had a standard and it was more than adequate, nice outdoor shower, view of garden, just a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked a suite for four days but unfortunately checked in and checked out the next day. The room has nice high thatched ceilings but unfortunately is very musty and most importantly the air con did not sufficiently cool the room. We had it on 16degrees all night and the air still felt like a fan and as the room was so dusty it became very hard to breathe in there.
They did offer to put us in a new room but as it cooled over breakfast we could see there was no difference so we checked out.
The bathroom was great. Nice design. great shower head and the towels were clean and fluffy.
This is a good budget hotel but not for our needs.
There is also a sitting area downstairs but it felt a bit more like an old smoking lounge than one to rest to pass the time reading.
Some people are mentioning it's a bit of a distance away but we hired a motorbike for the time and so we felt it was in a perfect spot as it was off the beaten track but close to everything you need in seminyak. When we moved hotels we actually stayed on the same street. I suppose if you are only on foot then it would definitely be a long walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful. The garden and pool looked lovely. It was quiet and peaceful but only a short walk from the beach or taxi ride from the bars. Would highly recommend. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The 2 storey bungalows are spacious and well designed.
The pool and gardens look beautiful and are perfect for relaxing.
The location is about a 10min walk from shops in one direction and 15min to the beach which means you're away from the noise of the main road but still close enough to access local amenities. Perfect for us.
Kuta beach is a taxi ride of around 50,000Rp (£3).
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A peaceful setting with attractive well kept gardens. If you just want to lie by a pool & relax it's ideal. The location means that unless you fancy a 20 minute walk you will need to get a taxi to go anywhere. The walk to the beach is down some narrow alleyways & the beach is not picturesque as you might expect. The staff were friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and could not have been better for us. Small hotel, lovely setting, bungalow room just gorgeous with great outside bath room. Pool set amongst garden was big enough. Breakfast was very good, prepared for you a la carte, not buffet. All staff very friendly. The location is out of the way and was very quiet, but also within walking distance to good food and shopping. Great beach bar just 5 minute walk away, as well as a good cheap spa on the way to the beach. Yes the road to it it a little broken up in parts, but no problem for walking or taxi. If you want quiet space with lovely landscaping, good comfort with style and great location, this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Madawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Madawi

Address: Jalan Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68 | Batu Belig, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Madawi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Madawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Madawi Seminyak
Puri Madawi Hotel Seminyak
Puri Madawi Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Madawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.