We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DITY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Madawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Madawi to your Saves list
Puri Madawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68 | Batu Belig, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“DITY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

The adventure in getting to the place is part of the attraction - like no-one seems to know where it is. Including taxi drivers and courier drivers from the airport. Having studied Kerobokan road maps before we arrived, I knew more than the drivers.

Compact hotel, and loved the two-storey Lumbung we booked, but it took about ten minutes to get any attention when we arrived at about 21.00. The sole attendant was "On the toilet'.

Breakfast was included, but its restricted menu became a little boring after a few days. We didn't try any other meals.

Best features, quiet and secluded, excellent accommodation, clean and functional, top service, mainly from young and attracive ladies. Great place to crash out. There is a beach about 5 - 10 minutes walk away - but if you can say this about a beach - pretty scruffy, but again, you would sure have it to yourself.

Minus features - can' think of anything significant, apart from that the management or owners seem to observe strict 9 to 5 hours - maybe they have other interests. A little off the beaten track, but that suited us.

If there were not so many other great places to stay in Bali, we would sure stay there again.

  • Liked — It was really like the website promised
  • Disliked — Needs a handrail on the staircase
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
33
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

Puri Madawi is a beautiful boutique hotel, we enjoyed our stay overall, however there were a couple of small hiccups. I would recommend that you hire your own vehicle, the resort is a little far out from the main areas of Seminyak for restaurants and shopping purposes. It is ideal if you want "out" of the busy Kuta scene. The reception staff seem to need more training. When we arrived the staff member who greeted us did not seem to initially understand that we had already paid for the accomodation and that we only had to give her the vouchers from our travel agent. This was I admit resolved fairly quickly. When we were leaving several days later there was another problem when the same staff member overcharged us substantially for our food bill on our credit card. She did point this out to us so there was no dishonesty involved, however she did not know how to cancel the transaction. The manger was away for a few days which meant that there was no one at the resort who could resolve this. She then recharged the correct amount telling us that she would get the manager to cancel the previous transaction on his return. We were obviously a little concerned about this but as we were staying on the island we decided to accept this and contact the manager after a couple of days and ensure this was followed through and ask for a fax of the cancelled transaction.It took several follow up phone calls to rectify this. The food is the restaurant overall is very average. The rooms are beautiful and well kept, it is also wonderful and quiet. So for me very mixed views, I am not sure that I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The quiet location, the accomodation and the pool area.
  • Disliked — The food was average and reception staff need more training.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

Puri Madawi is a great find, quiet and just far enough away from the busy areas without costing too much to get there. The room (a suite) was well-designed with a good eye for detail, very spacious and good value.
We enjoyed the breakfasts (included) and lunches in a pleasant dining area by the pool and the service was good. It is run (and was built) by an Austrian and maintained and cleaned to a very high standard.
It's about 5 mins. to the beach and then a pleasant walk (15-20 mins) to some very good restaurants.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

Stayed there for 2 weeks in late August 06.

I have been to Bali several times and Puri Madawi beats all the other places I have stayed before at.

The rooms are beautifully designed and really good value. Highly recommend to go for the suites, which offer an outside lounge.

Location is sufficiently far removed from the hustle and bustle to be peaceful, but still close enough to enjoy what Bali's nightlife has to offer.

Staff is well trained and very friendly.

  • Liked — beatutiful rooms and peaceful atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

If you can ignore the worrying drive down the lane to the hotel, and the slightly more disturbing walk through a building site to the (excellent) beach, then this place is a gem. Extremely reasonably priced, very friendly and helpful staff, a wonderful pool and beautiful rooms, with outdoor bathrooms. We stayed for two nights and wished we stayed for longer. It's a great base for exploring the south of Bali, or to start a tour of the Island (we went on to the north from here). The food's not the greatest, but the bar and bar staff were lovely, and there are plenty of very good restaurants nearby. We'd definitely go back.

  • Liked — Peaceful, luxurious and affordable.
  • Disliked — Probably the menu in the evening, although it wasn't a problem at all - good for snacks, but not really an evening meal kind of place.
  • Tips/Secrets — The pool's open 24 hours, the club sandwich is great and there are some lovely restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

Me and my spouse, we stayed at Puri Madawi for 5 days at the end of March. We loved the place from the moment we stepped into it. Although when we first entered the small road leading to Puri Madawi we were wondering what to expect.
Greeted personnally by the Manager we were brought to our rooms. We have been to Bali already a couple of times, but I have to say this is the most tastefull place we have been so far (our budget has its limits thogh). After we had settled in we went back to the reception to get some information about transportation and what to do arround the area. We were given a number of suggestions on restaurants, nightlife and tours - which we found very valuable. We hired a car for a very reasonable price and did not have to do anything as everything was smoothly organized.
The breakfast at Puri Madawi was the full treat - fresh croissants, fruit and more we could ever eat.
We had snacks during the afternoon a couple of times - yummy!
The beach is inviting for long and very private walks, yet the currents can be too strong for swimming. We prefered the beautiful pool anyway.
The staff was always helpfull and friendly - no more can be expected.

We will be back in August with some friends and looking very much forward to it.

Anna Spiegel

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

Our stay at Puri Madawi began a little strangely given that we were the only guests. It is a small hotel at the Kerobokan end of Seminyak, so it's important to have transport to get around. The hotel is nicely appointed in the 'Bali style', though I wouldn't say cutting-edge. Our double storey villa was spacious and comfortable, with everything we required. We had an outdoor sitting area overlooking the garden and pool, and a tiny courtyard next to the bathroom (however, no bath). The area is very peaceful, flanked by rice paddies, and a short walk to the beach. The beach nearby is also very quiet, but not one of the best I have seen in Bali. The staff are friendly and helpful and everything is well maintained. The breakfast (an additional cost) is not recommended, but we felt obliged to eat there because we were the only guests for several days! On the upside, that meant we could drink and listen to our own music by the pool. Overall, the distance from happening things was a downside, but the peace and quiet and spaciousness of our room (for the reasonable price) was a positive.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Madawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Madawi

Address: Jalan Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68 | Batu Belig, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Madawi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Madawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Madawi Seminyak
Puri Madawi Hotel Seminyak
Puri Madawi Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Madawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.