We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, nice staff, great location, but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Braban No. 77 x Banjar Taman, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Seminyak
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, nice staff, great location, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Firstly I was expecting something a lot better for the money paid. But Seminyak's accommodation are generally overpriced.
We were upgraded to a Deluxe room which I thought was great! But wasn't.... the room (130) we got upgraded to was on a hidden corner of the hotel with no sun light, no pool views and because of the high humidity of the room's location it had a strong mould smell. Also, the internet did not work on that room.
We asked to be moved to another room and the staff (who were very nice and attentive) could only get another room for us on the following day.
We went to a Superior room (a downgrade) as was our original booking, and we found the room much better that the deluxe. It is basic the same room, but with a smaller bathroom. But the room was great, clean, well lit, and had a nice view of the swimming pool. Internet signal also worked well on this room (225).
The breakfast was pretty disappointing. I stayed in much cheaper hotels in Bali that served a much better breaky.
I wouldn't stay there again for the price of over $90/night. I would price this accommodation at a max $65 for what is provided.

Room Tip: Stay away from deluxe rooms 130 and 131. Get a superior room upstairs, 225 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear cesarhanke

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Resort room. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc and we glad you experience it during your stay Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    211
    51
    15
    6
See reviews for
87
164
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked what I thought was a new villa but it turned out not to be. When I was shown in to the villa, late at night, after a very trying few days and desperately looking forward to the villa in the photos I was really upset when shown to one I had seen no photos of anywhere.
Not being able to change at that late stage we had to settle for what we were given which is a Deluxe villa, private pool etc. Well of course after a few days it doesn't seem to matter as much as the deluxe villa is very comfortable, roomy and clean. The pool is really big and a lovely ,garden as well out the front. Very private and clean, well looked after by the staff and very handy to Jl. Laksmana and all the restaurants you could want.I would probably be much more careful when booking anywhere next time and speak directly to the front desk and get exactly what I want, but for this trip it was better than I expected and also the spa has lovely girls who make relaxing part of your daily routine very pleasureable.
Your breakfast is cooked in your villa which is nice, by some really lovely girls and it is whatever you order and they do it well. Better than the restaurant but I don't know why. It has no atmosphere whatsoever so stay in your villa.

Room Tip: If you want their best rooms ask for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear RubyAustralia

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Resort room. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc and we glad you experience it during your stay Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Mutiara for four days and found the service great. The staff was very friendly and always helpful with advice on what to do etc. Also helped use their contacts to book for us. We had 3 days at a standard room and were booked for a villa but they upgraded us too because we'd been staying for a couple of days already. The breakfasts were fantastic and the location was good as it was close to all shops and some of the nightspots.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ash R

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc. Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I love the resort but not the area of seminyak!!sooo crowdy..
What a great single villa with swimming pool!!i stayed 3 times here,dec 2010,July 2011 and dec 2011
The villa so comfortable,plenty of free soft drink in ur refrigerator(bintang beer,sprite,coke,juices n fanta) upon arrival,yes for free!..but I dunno for normal room.
Breakfast included,just call n choose the menu from ur room n the staffs will come to the villa room n cook there,so gud!
They clean up ur villa,garden n swimming pool everyday.
But I never go to Mutiara resort again bcuz I want to try another hotels in different areas :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Rickandjude

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc, the government are having a construction to improve the sidewalk and hopefully it will be much better than before and yes we provide the villa with free mini bar consumption. Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Recently stayed at the Mutiara in Seminyak. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect for Jalan Oberoi area and Seminyak Square. Lots on offer in regard to eating and drinking in the area. Pool area very relaxed, although I am not keen on those who are guilty of laying out towels early in the morning and only turning up in the late afternoon!!!!! This happens everywhere and I find it totally unfair, rude and selfish - but here it is more annoying as there is only about 10 beds which means that if you get there after 9.30 there you will probably miss out. On the upside, the pool is very quiet and serene. I had breakfast inlcuded and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear allimars

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Resort room. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc and we glad you experience it during your stay Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed 12 nights in a deluxe room on the ground floor right by the pool. The room had everything we needed and was cleaned every day to perfection. We found the breakfast fine wih plenty of choices.A highlight was the freshly prepared local juices. As others have said the location was great, 5 min walk to the shops and restaurants and 15 mins to the beach,but still quiet and peaceful. The highlight for us were the fantastic staff. Nothing was any trouble . All went out of their way to help ,answer questions and make our stay enjoyable. Everone always had a smile on their face . One tip I would give is to book with the hotel directly. We paid much more by going through an agent. We certainly will be going back to renew our friendship with the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Rickandjude

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Resort room. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc and we glad you experience it during your stay Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Five of us stayed in a two-room villa on May 21 for 3 nights.

Villa:
Is very spacious and clean, with an equally spacious and partly open-air bathroom. Wonderful. The bedroom possibly needs a wardrobe or shelved cupboard to store clothes in, but this can be overlooked as it really is very nice. Beds are super comfortable and linen is fresh and clean.
The pool and outdoor breakfast area were private, comfy, clean and well-kept. Breakfast was cooked for us each morning at the outdoor kitchen in our villa and it was quite good, tasty and very fresh, if a little on the small side.
The staff were immense! They held into our bags after check out and supplied us with towels and toiletries when we returned from the beach to shower. They also collected and returned us to the airport, which is a half hr ride, free of charge.

Location:
It is a 10min, or less, walk from the beach through Seminyak's main streets. There are great, funky little shops around the corner from Mutiara and two very good Italian restaurants, Ultimo and Trattoria. Ultimo has a fantastic set menu at an absolute bargain. Although Mutiara is beside all the action, you won't hear a thing from the streets as the villas are tucked away down a side street and have high walls. Heard nothing from our neighbors either.

One teeny weeny problem we had was over an extra bed request. We booked Mutiara through a website which quoted us much cheaper for this extra bed than the hotel was going to charge us. However, when we explained the situation the hotel eventually matched the price given to us by the website.

Mutiara-Highly recommended!


Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mutiarabali, Director of Sales at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear ecd135

Thank you very much for your review regarding our Villa. I'm really happy to hear such a wonderful experience and to be remembered by our guest as we hope to keep serving you at our best again. Our resort still using the Balinese traditional architecture as we believe our guest who comes to Bali along way from their hometown, would definitely experience the authentic Balinese touch during their stay in the island, without forgetting the essential of today's technology which we also provide in our hotel's facilities. Our location is also very strategic with easy access to famous restaurants, pubs, beach, boutique, antique shops, groceries etc and we glad you experience it during your stay Last but not least we really appreciate our valued customers like you and therefore we always come up with a new facilities and promotion rates especially for our return customers so please booked through our website and check out for any promotions on going especially for a long stay inquiry. Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Best regard

Ivan Sutanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas

Address: Jl. Braban No. 77 x Banjar Taman, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonder if you’ve ever wanted to find a place where culture, nature, and style are mixed to form the unique touches of the heaven? The Bali Island will definitely occupy those needs. And while you spending your time experiencing the peaceful paradise island of Gods and Goddess, we are here at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa offering you our own unique touch of Balinese hospitality that will ensure you have a pleasant stay during your holiday away from home with the consists of resort and private villas designed with a touch of modern convenience is blend perfectly with the traditional Balinese Architecture.Each villa is equipped with designer kitchen, dining pavilion, beautifully manicured garden, private pool, wireless internet access, air-conditioned bedrooms with stress-reliever stylish bathroom giving an atmosphere where you can truly be yourself. Nestled at the heart of Seminyak district, Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa is only 30 minutes away from the airport, centrally surrounded by high fashion boutiques, art galleries, world class dining venues and night life entertainment. Our welcoming and friendly staffs are looking forward to make sure everything is right during your stay at Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa.Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort Villas & Spa is pleasantly welcoming you to experience Balinese hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort And Villas
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas Hotel Seminyak
Mutiara Bali Boutique Hotel
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.