We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Restaurant

Bambu Restaurant
Jl. Petitenget no. 198, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 8469797
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 305 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Bar, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A nice space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Taken here by a local, it certainly didn't disappoint us from its chic & spacious ambience to the wonderful flavours and presentation of the meals we chose. The service we received was attentive although not too friendly with prices slightly above the average compared to similar top class restaurants in Seminyak. Still its a must try to experience the ambience and the flavours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    170
    45
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantabulous !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful food, ambience and service. Definitely has the wow factor! We went with a group of 7 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals including the young adults.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sublime setting, service & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved every aspect of our family dinner at Bambu. The food is fresh & modern, and the setting is something else.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sophisticated indonesian food and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Bambu offers sophisticated indonesian food in a spectacular venue. The food is interesting and refined and the service is charming and subtly attentive. Definitely a highlight to return to.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indonsian Food in a Modern setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We gave up a reservation at another top Bali restuarant to ensure we didn't go home without visiting Bambu and it didn't disappoint. The setting is somewhere between a Roman bath house and a modern resort. Very cool indeed. We started with soft shell crab and tuna ceviche, both great but the tuna was sublime, a must try dish. For mains we shared lamb curry and barramundi cooked in banana leaf. Both fabulous dishes. The staff convinced us to order our food medium spicy, clearly over cautious of our ability to deal with too much chilli. We didn't find the food hot at all so thankfully we had a red and green sambal on the table - now these were outrageously hot so be careful. Deserts were relatively simple but delicious. My one small negative, and something easy to fix, is that there were no placemats or drink coaster on the dark stained wood tables. As a result the staff we continually wiping down the table to remove the condensation from the drink glasses and plates. It became a bit annoying and I found myself doing it before they saw it.

The wine list was comprehensive enough and okay prices for Bali standards. The staff were probably the best of all the resturants we have been to this holiday...which is the majority of the top 10.

I found the serving sizes more in line with good restaurants in AustralIa, not big but enough that it allowed room for desert, something we usually skip.

Great new addition to the Bali restaurant scene

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bambu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.