We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Family Package (4D/3N)
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Just returned from a 9 night stay at the Elysian and our whole stay was everything we dreamt of. The whole place had a feeling of pure luxury about it and the staff couldn't do enough for you - everyone was so lovely. From the moment we arrived (we arranged a pick up from the airport - just email ahead) everything was so special - we were greeted with ice cold water and cool towels at the airport. The villa itself (we had the 1 bed villa - Number 10) was fantastic - everything you needed including a swimming pool! Even though it felt cold at first (compared to the Bali heat) it was a perfect way to cool down. All the food we ate in the hotel was so tasty and presented so nicely - the a la carte breakfast was very nice - perfectly cooked Eggs Benedict was my favourite! Would recommend both the Candle Light dinner and then BBQs which the hotel offer to do in your private villa - both very reasonably priced. We had the Seafood BBQ which included fish, prawns, lobster etc and then many salads etc. to accompany - the BBQ is bought into your villa and cooked especially for you - many special touches!

Seminyak is a great town to be near with many restaurants. To reach the town you have to either walk down the lane to the Elysian or catch a taxi (taxis are c.20,000RP into the town - v reasonable). We'd recommend the restaurant Chandi for fantastic food (Asian influenced food) - great quality and relaxing atmosphere and also Cafe Bali (which has a colonial theme). Definitely worth going to the beach to see the sunset as well. Its also worth exploring Bali a little bit - the padi fields, volcano etc are a sight not to be missed. We also went to Sanur beach for a day which was white sands, blue sea, not as busy as the west of the island and you could snorkel here if you wanted.

Overall, wish we could go back right now to the Elysian & Bali. Would recommend for a really special holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    108
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
433
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Brilliant hotel with 26 villas off the beaten track in Seminyak.

Seminyak itself pleasantly surprised me following some of the rather negative reviews on this site. It's a lively little town but much more sophisticated than some of the older and more established towns on the island. There are some great restaurants and bars only 15 minutes walk from this hotel.

Our villa (number six) in the hotel was amazing. Our own pool, an amazing large sunken bath, the ipod dock, windows you can push back, comfortable bed with great entertainment system left you wanting for nothing. Some have said they could hear traffic noise from this villa. You can when a truck or something drives past but that happens few and far between so we didn't have any issue with it.

The pool and the double sun lounger made this the ultimate relaxation hotel!! That's not to mention the brilliant breakfast and lunch room service. All in all a brilliant experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed at the Elysian for our honeymoon from 05/10/2009.
From the very first contact we had it was just fantastic. Cold towels and water in the air conditioned car from the airport and a friendly driver. After the hectic pace of the airport, we immediatly relaxed.
Staff are just amazing and went out of their way to do anything they could. We were walking home from town one night and one of the staff offered us a lift. He then made an excellent restaurant suggestion while we were driving.
We ate room service for lunch daily (7 days) plus a few cheeky cocktails in the evening, and it came to around $250 AUD in total. Room service was quick and quality great.
Dinners we ventured out and ate at Sate Bali, Cafe Bali, Sarong, La Lucciola. All were fantastic and well priced.
We had 2 massages in the spa, and they were very well done. Only issue would be the few giggles from the therapists (we had a couples massage) Not sure if it was unrelated, but it was hard to relax wondering if it was us they found amusing.
Room was clean and modern, pool was immaculate and a great temperature (yes some may think it cold, but in the heat a cool swim suits me!)
We only left the hotel to have dinner and on one day hired a driver to take us to the Bali Safari Park. It was a very worthwhile trip. Animals were well cared for and the park easy to navigate.
The only negative I can put forward is that if you pay in USD cash, they will not accept notes produced earlier than 2003 (it is government regulation, any note produced prior to 2003 carrys a different exchange rate). I had checked with them before our arrival that I could pay in USD cash and there was no mention of this. But all credit to the staff, they accepted all our notes as it was their error for not advising us prior.
We would stay here again should we return to Bali.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My wife and I chose the Elysium for a relaxing 7 day break in Bali after having travelled through Java and as a place to celebrate a significant birthday. It ticked all the boxes for us. Quiet and very private, but close to the beach, Ku De Ta and all the shops and restaurants of Seminyak. Being met at the airport with a wet towel and a bottle of cold water got us off to the right start for the 25-30 minute drive to the Villas. On arrival we were quickly shown to our own Villa ( Number 24) and immediately we knew that we were going to enjoy our stay. The pool looked inviting and the living area and bedroom were simply but tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Really appreciated the sound dock in the living area for my iPod and the flat screen tv and dvd player in the bedroom. Also loved that the windows opened up completely to create a open air feel between the living area and the pool. The air-conditioning worked well and the ceiling fan provided an effective alternative when the windows were opened. The restaurant by the main pool was very attractive. Although we had a couple of meals in our room, we found we mostly preferred the a la carte breakfast with the other guests in the restaurant. I can't speak too highly of the staff - they provided friendly and efficient service. Some even got to know us by name. They all made the extra effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We had a couple of day trips arranged thorough the hotel - one to Ubud and the other to East Bali. We probably could have organised these independently and more cheaply - but we wanted to make things easy for ourselves. The drivers used by the Elysian were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. Some reviewers have commented that the water in the private pool was too cold. We certainly didn't find this to be a problem. On the contrary the temperature seemed just right for an invigorating and refreshing swim after walking the streets of Seminyak or cooling off in the evening. Also some reviewers have commented negatively about the narrow laneway that leads to the Elysian. Yes you do have to dodge cars and motor bikes, but there are security guards keeping a watchful eye and it only takes about 5 minutes to reach Ku De Ta and the beach. There are quite a few dogs in the laneway (as there are all over Bali), but they keep to themselves and are no trouble. While the shopping and restaurant areas of Seminyak are quite lively and somewhat hectic, the Elysian offers a haven of peace and tranquility. We also visited the hotel's small spa for a Balinese Massage - which was a very pleasant and relaxing way to spend an hour. Some reviewers have criticised the baths as being too big and therefore slow to fill. Can't really comment on this as we only took showers and really appreciated the design of the bathrooms. Were there any negatives? Well not really - other than that our stay had to come to an end. Would happily stay at the Elysian when next we visit Bali.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We celebrated our first and second wedding anniversaries at the Elysian. The first time, we booked a single room villa. The second time we booked the two bedroom villa because the singles were fully booked. I'll give a breakdown of both types.

Single bedroom
The villa is spacious with a living/ dining area and a bedroom. Large windows overlook your pool and the windows can be fully opened so that you can sit in your living room with an al fresco feel . The ipod with it's docking station come with the room and downloaded in it are a vast selection of easy listening songs in various languages. Breakfast can be served to your villa at no additional cost and the Indonesian selections were really tasty.

We chose a package that entitled us to a romantic dinner within our villa. For this, they lit candles all around the pool and set up the table by the pool side. The atmosphere was pretty romantic, the food was decent but it was a little difficult to see our food with just the candlelights.

The pool measures 7 meters in length so don't expect to get any exercise done. However the walls are high so you have the option to swim/ tan in the buff. There's a large pool with cabanas all around near the hotel reception but hardly anyone's there. You can just chill in your beautiful villa all day and that's basically what we did for our first trip. We did walk to Ku De Ta one evening for dinner - that's a quick 5 minute walk from the villa.

Two bedroom villa:
Both bedrooms are huge with an open bathroom concept - the showers and bathtubs are situated within the rooms without any surrounding walls. You can soak in the tub and watch TV at the same time. Both rooms and the central living room have large screen TVs. The living room comes equipped with a Bose sound system in addition to the ipod. So we bought a few DVDs from the city and return to enjoy the cinematic experience back in the villa. But you should know that you can also borrow DVDs from the reception for free.

There's a decent size dining area with a table that seats 6 comfortably and a kitchen with a refrigerator. Just outside the living area is the pool deck with a large garden table where you can chose to have your meals. By the pool's a large cabana but we chose to laze on the deck chairs instead to get more sun. The pool was 14 meters long, so you can do more than just dipping and splashing.

Essentially, the two bedroom villa was perfect except for two points. 1) The leather sofa set in the living room was quite worn out and was the leather was peeling off in many places. 2) One of the bedrooms has a jacuzzi bathtub but the water flows really slow (probably need half an hour to fill the tub) and you don't always get hot water. :(

Overall
Rooms were great. Service was excellent. The staff were friendly and were always very prompt to reply to our emails. The minivans that were used to shuttle guests to the city square were clean and new. The in-house spa's small but nice. The only downside is the location as you have to walk down a very narrow one lane road for 5 minutes to get to the beach.

We'll probably go back again!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

This was our second stop on our honeymoon. The staff were wonderful and the service was second to none. The Seminyak resort is quieter and more reserved than Kuta but Kuta is a short and cheap taxi ride away if you fancy a change.
This hotel offers individual and private villas and swimming pools. It was perfect for relaxation. The main pool was often in shade and is sheltered which means it can get a bit hot but the beach is just a short walk away and there's a constant breeze. Highly recommended. Small and intimate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at the Elysian for 7 nights for the first part of our Honeymoon. From the moment we were picked up at the airport the whole experience was brilliant. we were greeted with a nice refreshing juice while checking in and then shown to our geogeous villa. the villa itself was lovely and the perfect place to relax. The pool was nice and was clean and very inviting. Breakfast was delivered to our villa every morning at no extra cost and was delicous.
Just 1 negative point, the bath filled too slowly to actually use it but when you have your own pool the bath is not needed anyway.
Overall a great honeymoon hotel

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.