We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven years later... STILL a magical romantic wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% off Room rate
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Seven years later... STILL a magical romantic wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sara and I stayed here seven years ago, shortly after it opened. We loved it so much that we changed hotel plans and revisited it again on the same trip after returning from Ubud in Bali, Could it still be as nice seven years later? Was it even possible? The short answer is a resounding YES!

Villas abound in Seminyak, but the Elysian is unique. It is secluded, private, lush with gorgeous tropical vegetation and has a serene romantic feeling that just cant be duplicated anywhere else we have stayed or visited. Part of the reason is the staff. In a country where gracious attentive service is the norm, the Elysian staff offer even more. They have a warmth and camaraderie with each other that is pleasing and genuine. Many staff members from 2007 were still employed here. It was especially gratifying to see that some had been promoted. Not too many places in Bali offer a career path from housekeeping to front desk, but the Elysian does.

The villas are still gorgeous and have been very well maintained. Keeping exterior teak looking really good in a sunny climate is hard, but they do it. They are so cozy and private. The architect was a genius in laying out sight lines so that nobody has a view into any part of your villa, even the outside and the pool area. You feel like you are alone in a lush jungle. Love still blooms here. You can see it in the eyes of couples, gay, straight, young and old.

The breakfasts are still great. My only complaint, and a minor one at that, is that the once complimentary smoothies are now charged, but everything else is free and bountiful. GREAT coffee and espresso drinks. They don't bat an eye if you ask for a fifth espresso drink or third helping of fresh fruit. The setting for breakfast is just lovely. We never tire of it.

Dave runs the restaurant and he does a great job. He was formerly a chef at a 5 star Nusa Dua hotel and opted for the independence of the Elysian kitchen where he practices his craft so well. What is funny is that we used the tripAdvisor mobile app to recommend a nearby restaurant using our GPS coordinates. To our surprise we found one very close with great reviews. It was called Rush Bamboo. We inquired at the front desk where they politely suppressed a laugh and informed us that we had just walked past it on our way to the lobby. The Elysian's in-house restaurant IS Rush bamboo and it does very well as a stand alone establishment. We had dinner there twice and were very pleased with our delicious meals and the romantic ambience. Prices are exactly what you'd pay outside of the hotel for a comparable meal and setting. No rip off prices here. Service was great. Tini, Dewik and a slender quiet young woman whose name escapes me took great care.in presenting our meals, keeping the water glasses filled and the cappucinos coming. Amazingly, the Elysian has 24 hour room service so you can get anything anytime, freshly cooked. Try duplicating that at some other villas.

Housekeeping and gardening staff obviously take great pride in their work. The villas are absolutely spotless and the grounds are gorgeous. Engineering is very sharp too. We had a minor AC problem that was fixed in minutes. What impressed me (I am an engineer and used to work on big refrigeration systems on commercial fishing boats) is that the Elysian's engineer arrived with an infrared optical thermometer, freon pressure gauges, a multimeter and a host of other gear. He was ready to do ANYTHING that needed to be done. Many so called engineers at small hotels are just switch flippers without the ability or specialized tools needed to do serious troubleshooting or repair. The Elysian has it all covered.

Erni at the front concierge desk was always cheerful, professional and very helpful. She even gave us the same villa we had in 2007 which was a nice touch. Febri and Ardi frequently gave us complimentary rides into town and are great guys.

We were shown a villa in the process of being updated and my wife preferred the old look to the new. No huge changes though. The new look has modern grey wood furniture and shelves replacing natural brown golden teak. The glass finish white floor tiles are being replaced with something less reflective, sort of a slate tan color and looking more modern. I hope they keep a few villas in the old style so Sara can have her preferred interior next time we visit. Many guests will like the new look. Look at Restoration Hardware's 2014 catalogs and you will see that the Elysian is on board with the new looks and colors.

We stayed at some more expensive places in Bali but none matched the unique romantic feeling of the Elysian so we WILL be back for sure. You really cant go wrong picking the Elysian. Just look at all the reviews and you will see that my high opinion is shared by many many others. Highly recommended without a single doubt or reservation. You will love this place.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that does not abut the street wall. They have a high wall which blocks sound b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear 377 (Sara and Mark ),

Thank you so much for sharing such a great review on Tripadvisor.

I am very thrilled to learn that we have proven our consistency after 7 years through your review. To us, all of our guests, especially repeater guests are like family. The team has considered you as a member of The Elysian family.

Thank you once more and we hope to welcome you back again to your second home in Bali again soon.

Warm Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    112
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
73
459
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

From start to finish the service and friendliness of staff was impressive.
The overall ambiance is that of peace and tranquility a haven from the hustle and bustle outside.
Lovely pool and restaurant area and our room and private pool were also beautiful.
Suggest you treat yourselves and stay at the Elysian. We will definitely be seeing them again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Julie W,

Thank you very much for sharing a very lovely review about us here on Tripadvisor.

I am very thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay and that you have experienced a memorable The Elysian experience. I will share this with all our staff as I know they will be very happy that their hard work was noticed.

Once again, thank you and we will be very much delighted in welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Elysian hotel is one of the finest we’ve ever stayed in. It is beautifully designed and the villas are somewhat palatial. But it is the staff that really set this place apart. Case in point: Last night I left my IPhone in the back of a taxi. Ardi, one of the front-of-desk staff, leapt on his motorbike and shot off after the taxi while calling the company to report the loss. He actually did find the taxi but on searching his car we realized that I must have left it in another taxi I’d used slightly earlier in the evening. Now I’d really given up but Ardi took me in the hotel car to the area I’d hailed the first taxi and we put the word out among drivers. He then continued to call around, using his personal phone, and 2 hours later a driver pulled up and returned the phone. Ardi didn’t have to take a personal interest in helping me but his energy and persistence resulted in success. And while he was doing this rushing around, his colleagues at the hotel were calling the taxi company and trying to call my phone directly. I hope Ardi is suitably recognised for all his hard work but this really reflects the spirit of the entire resort. We’ve staying in hundreds of hotels. The Elysian is hard to beat on all counts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Peter M,

Thank you for sharing a great review you in the Tripadvisor world.

I am very thrilled to learn about your stay, and especially on the case you had to go through. I do admit that the staff is the main asset of the resort. I will forward this review to Ardi and also all the other staff as the case and how everyone involved handled it goes with The Elysian's motto: We do the best, we serve from our heart.

We hope to welcome you again in the coming future.

Warm Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed in in Seminyak for 4 nights at the Elysian - really enjoyed our stay there. The Villa and private plunge pool were impressive along with the complimentary mini-bar, breakfasts and concierge service. The Spa services were also a highlight making treating yourself that little bit easier being so close to your room. The only downside was the positioning/aspect of their main pool and our Villa - both don't allow for ideal sun exposure/tanning. This is fine for those that want to avoid the sun but for me very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear BenjaminofSydney,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to learn how you enjoyed your stay with us, but in regard of the sun exposure, some parts of our property have lots of sun in the morning, and some in the afternoon, but we cannot guarantee that also since the weather constantly changes (the sun location is constantly changing depends on the season and weather).

However we do thank you for your feedback and hope that your trust won't mar in us.
We hope to welcome you back soon in the future.

Warm Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautiful staff, incredible surrounds: everything and more that first time visitors to Bali could want. We felt so at home, had access to everything we needed and the staff were so helpful and gracious. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Jamie M,


Many thanks for your generous compliments and for taking the time to share your holiday experience. We are much honored to have received such a positive review and it has been a pleasure to have you as our guest. Your comment will be shared to the team and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Elysian, Bali in the not too distant future again.


Warm regards,


Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I returned to the Elysian after a great stay 15 mths ago. We had a lovely spacious pool villa, beautifully equipped with everything you could want. The gardens on the property are stunning, the main pool area is so inviting. The little extra things like free afternoon tea, free cocktail hour, shuttle transport all value add to the experience.
Having said all of that, the best thing about this amazing hotel is the staff. We were remembered from our previous visit and were made to feel very special.
We had a wonderful time and will return.

Room Tip: Room 19 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mandy132,

Thank you very much for your sharing a great review on your second stay on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had another great stay with us.
The staff are our greatest assets and we treat all of our guests (very especially our repeater guests like you) just like our own family.

Thank you once more and we look forward to have you back on your third stay soon, here at your home with your family in Bali, The Elysian.

Warm Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently returned home after our absolutely relaxing honeymoon at the Elysian and couldn't recommend it high enough!

Airport transfer easily organised via email and such a warm welcome upon our arrival and private, lush garden surrounds was only surpassed by the gorgeous villa laid out with all the indulgent trimmings of any honeymoon stay (rose petals and towel love swans) added with a little cake wishing us a 'Happy Honeymoon' too!

We stayed for 7 nights in a 1 bedroom villa and found the villa extremely comfortable with the most indulgent daybeds that opened up to the tranquil garden setting around the pool. Plenty of sun for some sunbathing on the lounge beds was a little bit of heaven for us too. The rooms were kept immaculate without any disturbance to our daily activities, with a fantastic turn down service at night (aircon set just right, non-irritant mossie repellants discreetly set and our bed turned down, so that you could simply melt into it), made it perfect to return to after an evening out. The Elysian's location is just right too, within safe walking distance of humming Seminyak (shopping by day or buzzing night spots) and <8mins from the beach too.

Complimentary bottled water made available in our villa every day, as well as the full selection of breakfast menu was a luxury we thoroughly enjoyed too. Though we enjoyed breakfast by the communal pool at Rush Bamboo restaurant on occasion, breakfast was delivered very punctually to our villa by 6:15am (we had an early start for a tour,) piping hot and obviously freshly prepared for us too.

All the staff were so friendly and accommodating, whether we simply asked for some room service, local advice or needed to book a tour, we found the staff to be extremely prompt and professional with a smile. Though we sing the praises of all the staff, a special mention to Ardi, Dewi and Sardi and the lass who is pregnant (I am sorry that I have forgotten your name), whose friendly and smiling faces made our honeymoon at the Elysian, one we will cherish.

All the best to the staff at the Elysian, we look forward to catching up with you when we return to Bali in the near future - your considerate and thoughtful service is what we remember most!

Room Tip: We had Villa #3, which had plenty of sun for us and we found no problem with the noise, especially o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear GaelicJane,

Many thanks for your time to share The Elysian experience with us.

I am extremely glad to learn that you had an enjoyable honeymoon stay with us and that it has met your overall expectation, loving as much as we do, our products and services. I am delighted to share your kind words with the entire team (especially ones you have mentioned) whom makes this possible as I know they will be very happy to know that their hard work enables our guests to have memorable experiences.

We hope that your wonderful experience will bring you back to The Elysian.

Warmest regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.