We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a mind-blowing place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still a mind-blowing place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have stayed at The Elysian 4 times now and I still love it. The quality of service from the staff, style, decor and food are still impressive. I took my partner there for his trip to Bali and The Elysian made him feel at home and so spoilt. The location is brilliant, close to restaurants, bars and shopping. Can't wait to go back! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Erina K,

Thank you for your time to share The Elysian experience with us.

I am extremely glad to learn that you had memorable stay with us and met your overall expectation, loving as much as we do, our staff, locations, products and services

We hope that your wonderful experience will bring you back again to the 5th return visit and more to The Elysian as your second home in Bali.

Sincerely yours,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    99
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
66
381
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Elysian for a week and it was perfect, the staff polite and friendly the rooms amazing and private. You pay for what you get and it is awesome. The spa is beautiful and the signature massages the best I have had. They also have couple massages which was lovely. The breakfast was cooked to order daily and delicious I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Molliefulton,

Warmest greetings from The Elysian

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, facilities, style and setting of The Elysian Bali met with your expectations. I truly appreciate your recognition of the staff who are the heart and soul of this historic resort.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Elysian,


Warm regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were at The Elysian from 12th April-15th April. What a fantastic time we had. We were in a 1 bedroom villa with our 2 boys. The pool was well used by us. They had a lovely collection of songs on the ipod supplied in the room. When we requested they even transferred all the songs onto a thumb drive and our driver collected it from them 2 days after we check out to another hotel. Morning coffee, hot chocolate had in the room before we went for breakfast ( we again ordered coffee and chocolate milk) were never charged and were all included in the bed n breakfast deal. Amazing place. Great staff. I would love to go back and spend a week there next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Mayh00,

Warm greetings!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback at the same time thank you for having chosen The Elysian as part of your holiday destination whilst you are in Bali.

I am so happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed all of the facilities and amenities we have offered.

Certainly I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another The Elysian wonderful service experience.

With my best regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

So many positives about our time at The Elysian - amazing and attentive service, relaxing surrounds, great food, clean and comfortable rooms and handy location. Our 2 year old son had a ball and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Thank you to all the staff who made our experience so enjoyable. The only slight negative is our room showed some minor signs of wear and tear (cracks in toilet door, chipped bathroom tiles), but certainly nothing to affect our stay. Based on our experience we will definitely be back again and can highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear PKSDad,

First and foremost thank you for giving us the chance to showcase our resort to you.

We are truly happy that our team was able to deliver The Elysian brand experience of service delivery, food quality, Villa condition and strategic location that you were expecting and your stay with us has left you with good memories. We are about to do refresh program on the Villa facilities and product.

I truly hope we will be able to welcome you & family back to The Elysian and already now look forward to reconnecting with you.

Warmest regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I celebrated the first leg of our honeymoon in Bali (following 22 hours of travelling from the US) for a 3-night stay at The Elysian. We did a ton of research before confirming our hotel in Seminyak. We had an absolutely amazing experience. We were greeted by a hotel representative at the airport with appropriate signage and a comfortable vehicle, accommodated with bottled water and cold, scented towels, to cool us off. The boutique hotel is extremely private and safe with security guards manning the entrance - clean, quiet, warm and welcoming. It's the perfect place to stay if you're looking for a hotel that is bit more secluded, away from the riff-raff of the town and relaxing. The staff was so hospitable, willing to cater to our every need. The breakfasts were absolutely to die for. American and Balinese selections, fresh juices, coffees and teas, all safe to eat/drink. The location is just a short stroll (somewhat crazy due to the narrow roads and turns) to the local beach and the epicenter of the town, filled with hot restaurants, lush boutiques, and bars. The stay was very affordable for what you got (private villa with complimentary all you can eat breakfast each day), including the massage treatments and room service. The mini-bar was a bit overpriced (what mini bar isn't?), but we did not use it much. I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to anyone visiting Seminyak that is looking for a relaxing, tropical, hospitable experience. Thank you, Elysian, for making our honeymoon memorable. We can't wait to visit you again.

Room Tip: Rooms get a bit hot at night, so we would suggest using the ceiling fan. Bathtub (if you prefer bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear KJDordick,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am truly happy to learn that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay and how you loved the our products, facilities, services, spa, and breakfast .
I will share your kind words with the entire team whom makes this possible, they will surely be glad to know their hard work doesn’t go unnoticed.

Regarding to rooms getting hot at night, I will also share this with the department related to discuss and review and make our villas better and more comfortable.

Once again thank you for sharing and we all look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regard,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was our third stay at The Elysian and again it was a excellent experience. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble including making restaurant reservations. The upgraded spa was also terrific. The Elysian's location is ideal if you want to explore the local Seminyak restaurants and the complimentary shuttle a bonus. It was another great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Diana C,

We are delighted to learn that you have your trust in us to accommodate you for the third time and that your last stay was overall an enjoyable one.
I will share your feedback to our team as I believe comments like these will encourage them to strive for excellence at all time.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The positives:
- Rooms are excellent - very quiet, extremely clean, good shower pressure and great sleep quality.
- Service at the Bar/Restaurant - the staff are so hardworking, polite and genuinely friendly- especially Desi and Tini :)
- Breakfast - excellent selection, a la carte but they'll get you whatever you want.
- Spa - massages while more expensive than out in Seminyak were definitely quality for the price you pay.
The downside
- Location - Its about a 10-15min walk to central Seminyak but the Villas are tucked away into these little laneways - would not recommend walking down them at night.
- Front staff were not very helpful and didn't help us with booking restaurants or cars (they wanted us to use their car at $100/day when we hired one for $30/day). There are plenty of restaurants outside so get a few recommendations from Tripadvisor and just book it yourself...most of them let you book online.
- The main let down was the temperature of water in the villas - it was freezing and absolutely no sunlight so we could not use them the entire 5 days we stayed. It wasn't a huge problem as we used the main pool which was sunnier and warmer. However the whole idea about a villa with a pool is being able to have some private swim and sunbathing...which is not what you get here.
Overall great stay and I would recommend staying as you can get around the negatives.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Nish M,

Greetings from The Elysian in Bali.

Thank you for posting your review on our property on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay and did not mar your trust on us even if you had experienced some negatives.
We have reviewed your points and are using them for service development training to improve ourselves. We thank you for bringing this up to our attention.

We hope to see you again soon and welcome you back to a better and memorable The Elysian experience on your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.