We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What makes the Elysian a great place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What makes the Elysian a great place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The sincere, warm and friendly people at the Elysian makes it a really special place which is why I always enjoy staying here and look forward in coming back. I understand why this is considered a luxury boutique hotel because it's unique. The villa dinning with private chief is really cool which I didn't think I could ever afford unless winning the lottery. The extras such as iPod, iPad and Apple TV kept me entertained as I was dealing with jet lag coming from the USA.

I really like the personalized service with a can do attitude as someone was always smiling and ready to help me which made me feel extra special. Everyone is attentive but also quick to bring me the iron and extra towels. The place has all of the big resort amenities (24 hour room service, bar, restaurant, spa, shuttle, etc) without having staying at one. I compare the Elysian as private jet service instead of flying first class commercial.

My partner and I noticed a very diverse group of people staying here from all walks of life. This made my stay really cool and fun since I'm from NYC. The hotel is very inclusive and made everyone feel welcome. If you want perfection then don't stay here and let me know when you find it. :)

Room Tip: I think higher the villa numbers is more quiet if you are not located next to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Onesherman,

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you very much for having the time to post another excellent review.

We always loved our repeater guests and of course we always intend to make their stay better than their last one. I am very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay this time, with all the service and products that we have.
I do agree about the staff always smiling and ready to help our guests, making their stay personalized and memorable. They are the treasure of this property and it's them who keeps The Elysian going. I myself am proud to be a part of this team.

I will definitely pass your feedback to the team as they will be very happy that their hard work was noticed and I'm sure that your kind words will encourage them to do more for our guests, .

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you back home again, home at The Elysian!

Kind Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    101
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
67
388
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom
villa with our own private pool. The villas were clean and spacious. The pool was fantastic and a good depth. The staff were super friendly and very attentive. Good breakfasts and fresh juices.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Joey_Sirkony,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

I am very glad to learn that you are happy with your stay with us, and happy with the products and services we offered you specifically on our villas, staff, and your breakfast experience.

We hope to see you and welcoming you back to The Elysian.

Kind Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Elysian. The villa is pretty ordinary. This was our 11th trip to Bali and have to say we have stayed in much nicer villas for the price.
The villa really is a glorified hotel room. The first 2 days the villa wasn't cleaned properly(we are not real fussy people either!). On the second day we were out most of the day and came back to the villa around 1pm to find the villa hadnt been cleaned yet. It was raining so we stayed in and ordered room service and wanted to watch a movie. After waiting 40 mins the order was wrong so we had to wait another 40 min for the correct order to come out. Then they finally came to clean the villa so we had to leave. The pool was clean but really too small to swim in. We swam in the main pool which was nice. The air conditioning was average.
The location isn't the best as you really cant just walk to the main shopping and restaurant areas. There is a free shuttle you can use which was handy but most times we were waiting around for it.
We complained to the manager at the end of day two and she was very apologetic. Her service was exceptional and did what she could to improve our stay. From that point on we noticed an improvement in the overall service of all staff (perhaps she said something to them??) and offered us late check out and a free massage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear TM M,

Warmest greetings from The Elysian.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for having stayed with us recently and for having taken the time to share your comments through the world of TripAdvisor.
Feedback such as yours is always of great assistance in helping us to further refine our service and facilities.

We are sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectation during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the very unfortunate experience you had to go through during your stay. Thank you for having this brought to our attention and we really hope that this inconvenience experience does not mar your trust in us.

The comment that you raised were shared with the senior management of the villa, in order to find out the cause of the shortfalls in terms of service and comfort that you experienced. Your comments were used to further improve our training and services.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Food was the real let down in our stay. Breakfast was less than average and dinner was tasteless. There was no atmosphere and although it was wet season the staff would almost be a little too pushy to book dinners in the restaurant. Villas are great, good location. Front desk staff were helpful.
Spa was great.
Wouldn't return in a hurry with so many other places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Westokw,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Please do accept my sincere apologies as you there was a part of your stay that caused you some inconvenience. We have shared this to the senior management to review and make more improvements on our products and it will later be passed on to the staff for training.

We will forward your kind words on the spa and our staff at the front desk, as this will encourage the team to do more for every one of our guests.

We are looking forward to accommodate you again in the future on your next trip to Bali!

Kind Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

road to the villa is one little alley and can fit 1 car only, hence is quite troublesome if you are driving a car. The villa is a bit dated, bed is on the small side. tv is definitely too small. you can hear your neighbour talking if you are outdoor. service is so-so only, not that attentive. This property has seen its better days

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear D_Kailua,

Warmest greetings from The Elysian.

I would like thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as it is indeed through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve and maintain our standards. It has been on a plan for villa refurbishment to ensure our guest stays comfortable.

Finally, we would also like to thank you for your stay with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Elysian.

Sincerely yours,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days following our wedding in NZ. With high expectations it surely delivered on all aspects of our requirements. In room service for all meals with no additional costs and located walking distance to all shopping was perfect. We are now in Nusa Dua at The Laguna and I must say The Elysian in comparison is much better in terms of service and cost. Perfect spot for honeymoon! Thank you The Elysian.

PS - wine is hard come by!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear TheNiris,

Thank you for sharing your feedback for The Elysian.
First and foremost thank you for giving us your feedback and we sincerely apologize on the wine which created an inconvenience. We are definitely looking into it as we are reviewing our wine list.

Once again thank you for sharing and we all look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We came to Bali for our honeymoon. Everything at The Elysian was perfect. The room was well equipped with two aircon units, luxury shower/bath and large living spaces. The private pool was large and there was enough space to lounge around by it. High speed wifi was also included in our room. The resort was impressive however the most impressive part was the service we received from all the staff. We were only there a short time, but the staff remembered and called us by name! The manager personally spoke to us about our stay, making sure everything was ok. We often mixed and matched our meals, which differed from the menu slightly, which the staff were only too happy to accommodate. We enjoyed the complimentary afternoon teas and cocktail hours which were on offer during our stay. We never heard the word 'no' from the staff and they went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be. Thank you The Elysian and especially Sri (apologies if that is incorrectly spelt) and the rest of the staff who made our holiday unforgettable. We wont hesitate to recommend these villas to all of our friends and family - Libby and Sanj, New Zealand

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theelysianmanagement, Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Libby N,

Warmest greetings from The Elysian,

Thank you for sharing the valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable moment during your recent stay and very much appreciated for your positive feedback toward our service and facilities.

I will forward your thank you note to our staff and we do hope that we could welcome you back again to stay in the near time to come.

Warmest Regards,

Made Subrata
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.