We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service and amazing setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Save Saved
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$285 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 89 hotels in Seminyak
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elysian for our 10 year wedding anniversary. From the minute we arrived, the staff were amazing, helpful and extremely friendly. We only stayed three nights but chose to dine at the in house restaurant every night due to the quality of the food and service. By the second night, the staff automatically knew our drink orders!

The quality of the villa was amazing. The pool was just the right temperature to cool off and we took lots of photos of the gardens to get some ideas for our own house.

We would not hesitate to return or recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    86
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
56
339
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in various villas in Ubud three times, I tend to compare. The villa is nicely done up, clean and afford privacy with the high walls. It's more to modern architecture, so the usual Balinese roof and bale are missing in this villa.

The included mini bar was good, replenished daily as well as the bottled drinking water. Apple TV was provided loaded with a lot of movies, however some are not so good quality (pirated). These spoilt the whole movie watching experience.

The only annoyance was the housekeeping. The villa wasn't tidied when we came back from the day's shopping in Seminyak. Housekeeping does not seem to keep track of guest movement so that they can tidy the place when guest are out of villa.

Overall villa experience was good.

Breakfast was good for western food but not the limited Asian fried noodle and rice.

Another uneasy experience was the spa. It's unfortunate that there is a space constraint, so the massage room was pretty small. After the scrub, the staffs were too eager to clean up the place when we were showing in the attached bathroom. This spoiled the privacy and calm of having a spa with people moving, sweeping and clearing the bed.

Again, the calm of soaking in a bath was spoiled by car alarm horning outside the room.

Overall massage was good only to be spoilt by the crowded room and cleaning after scrub.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I travel a lot. This place is really very good. You get Apple Movies, ipod speakers and even a pre-loaded ipod. Lots of bottled water is included every day and a large splash pool The "villas" themselves are high quality relaxing places and the only two bedroom villa is the stuff of celebrities. They will drop you pretty much anywhere and the spa treatments are A1. Its a 3 minute walk from the KuDehTa Club and adjacent to the Oberoi and close to the beach. Great central pool...very Zen. But what takes it beyond 'great' are the staff members who's approach and training are such that you feel like a Roman Emperor in his personal summer villa and the other people your guests. Make sure you go to Potatohead beachclub.

Room Tip: The 2 bed villa is well worth the extra cost. We stayed in a 1 bed and out friends (with more kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in 2012. I can honestly say it was like staying in Paradise. We opted for the Spa package which included breakfast, 3 course lunch, 2 hour spa treatment and high tea which we made dinner as we were always full from lunch. The mini bar is included in your booking price and restocked daily.
The staff are warm and attentive. Rooms are excellent and beautifully cleaned.
We plan to make this an annual event as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Elysian provides you with a nice mix of a stay in a boutique hotel and a small villa.
Rooms, actually small villas, are spacious with a decent size private pool. Although the villas might soon require upgrading there are several nice touches like pre-loaded I-pads in docking stations. Our daughter loved in particular the pre-loaded Apple TV, it had many blockbuster movies available, a nice touch versus DVDs. All the staff were very friendly and attended promptly to any request.
The property is not far from the beach and KuDeTa, a five minute walk is all it takes.
Generally the property is quiet and relaxed but one can hear guests from other suites occasionally.
The restaurant is pleasant, just beside the main pool. I liked the fact that breakfast was a la carte but the choice was very good.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who does not want to stay in a typical hotel but at the same time does not want to stay in a private villa, this is clearly a nice 'hybrid'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room between the pool and the Oberoi, it will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I arrived to stay at The Elysian with my 19 year old daughter looking forward to a week of father and daughter time.
The first impression we had of The Elysian was that it was not only luxurious but it had the best layout of any hotel I have stayed in by far!
We were escorted to our separate accommodation units which blew us both away with beautifully presented facilities plus our own private pool to cap it all off and all this in a private setting.
In fact privacy would be the central them of The Elysian from my prospective as no matter what you are doing or where you are within the hotel you feel that its only you and a few other people there.
I was surprised when told that the place was completed booked out as it did not feel like it.
All staff were so friendly and more importantly efficient and called you by your name which was very impressive.
The other impressive feature of THe Elysian is its location to everything you need, whether it be the beach, shopping or night life, it is just a few minutes away.
Both my daughter and myself enjoyed this classy hotel and as much as we enjoyed all the conveniently located sites we both looked forward to getting back to the hotel so we could just do nothing in a environment of serenity and outstanding customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the pool may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only about 15 minutes from airport and located in one of the most famous place in Bali, Seminyak preconceived us to stay at this hotel. First impression is just amazing. Service, villas and room surrounded with private pool are superb, we could have fun all day long. Just took a little walk outside, we could find many store, bars, and resto also. Overall, Elysian is highly recommended for those who looks for everything about boutique hotel, no regrets!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, L'OCCITANE bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.