We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Save Saved
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free and Easy USD 295++
Ranked #11 of 81 hotels in Seminyak
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Elysian provides you with a nice mix of a stay in a boutique hotel and a small villa.
Rooms, actually small villas, are spacious with a decent size private pool. Although the villas might soon require upgrading there are several nice touches like pre-loaded I-pads in docking stations. Our daughter loved in particular the pre-loaded Apple TV, it had many blockbuster movies available, a nice touch versus DVDs. All the staff were very friendly and attended promptly to any request.
The property is not far from the beach and KuDeTa, a five minute walk is all it takes.
Generally the property is quiet and relaxed but one can hear guests from other suites occasionally.
The restaurant is pleasant, just beside the main pool. I liked the fact that breakfast was a la carte but the choice was very good.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who does not want to stay in a typical hotel but at the same time does not want to stay in a private villa, this is clearly a nice 'hybrid'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room between the pool and the Oberoi, it will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    74
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
48
304
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I arrived to stay at The Elysian with my 19 year old daughter looking forward to a week of father and daughter time.
The first impression we had of The Elysian was that it was not only luxurious but it had the best layout of any hotel I have stayed in by far!
We were escorted to our separate accommodation units which blew us both away with beautifully presented facilities plus our own private pool to cap it all off and all this in a private setting.
In fact privacy would be the central them of The Elysian from my prospective as no matter what you are doing or where you are within the hotel you feel that its only you and a few other people there.
I was surprised when told that the place was completed booked out as it did not feel like it.
All staff were so friendly and more importantly efficient and called you by your name which was very impressive.
The other impressive feature of THe Elysian is its location to everything you need, whether it be the beach, shopping or night life, it is just a few minutes away.
Both my daughter and myself enjoyed this classy hotel and as much as we enjoyed all the conveniently located sites we both looked forward to getting back to the hotel so we could just do nothing in a environment of serenity and outstanding customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the pool may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only about 15 minutes from airport and located in one of the most famous place in Bali, Seminyak preconceived us to stay at this hotel. First impression is just amazing. Service, villas and room surrounded with private pool are superb, we could have fun all day long. Just took a little walk outside, we could find many store, bars, and resto also. Overall, Elysian is highly recommended for those who looks for everything about boutique hotel, no regrets!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Elysian for 9 nights from 8 March and our only complaint was - we didn't stay long enough! Wonderful staff, gorgeous private villa and beautiful common areas. Topped off with very reasonable prices in the restaurant and spectacular poolside dining, we couldn't fault anything. The location was also great. We're already planning our next visit...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great Villa's, very comfortable, staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast and afternoon tea provided, what more could you ask for ... your own private pool, apple TV, willingness to run you anywhere in the hotel car, quiet location but not too far away from the action. Elysian has it all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very pretty hotel with incredible landscaping and a beautiful pool. The property as a whole was just small enough and cozy enough. The suites were spacious –– very elegant bathroom. Bedroom design felt a bit stiff for either the subdued colors or a lack of lighting. The private pool was lovely. My parents and I played in there for 3 hours one night that included lap swimming underwater photo shoots and inappropriately loud laughing. It was crazy fun. The complimentary massage and the lemongrass mosquito spray were awesome. Unfortunately The Elysian became the backyard of Seminyak a sad tourist trap, which I hated. Staff was nice, but almost too trained and missing a bit of intimacy and personal flare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Elysian, General Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Miaodotwang

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Elysian.

Our villas, landscaped gardens and private pools are definitely highlights for many of our guests so it is great to know that they were for you too.

We appreciate your comments regarding our location. The Elysian chose it’s position because we are a few minutes walk away from the main road in a quiet and peaceful lane yet still within a stone’s throw of the most exciting shopping and eating in Seminyak. We are just moments from the internationally renowned Ku de Ta and a beautiful white sand beach. We have round-the-clock security watching over the lane that leads to The Elysian so the walk is comfortable and safe or guests can use our complimentary shuttle service to go anywhere in the Seminyak area.

Our team knows how important it is that everyone’s stay is carefree and memorable and do their best to ensure this without imposing on the privacy and peace that so many or our guests love. It is our goal to maintain the balance between superb service and the human touch.

Please send our regards and thanks to your parents also. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at The Elysian again and offer terrific benefits to returning guests who contact us directly to make their reservation.

Best Regards,
Anasthasia S. Handayani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elysian for the week of the 10th March which was also Silent day in Bali on the 12th. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. From airport pick up to drop off the service of the staff were well above par. Our one bedroom villa with private pool was amazing, we loved being able to have breakfast in our villa everyday.

Our Villa was right near the main pool and restaurant area abd suprisingly we could hear next to no noise from that area. We had dinner a couple of times in the restaurant and it was always great...the cocktails were to die for!

The Villas are also located very close to the main strip of Seminyak and some top notch restaurants and shopping which was very convienent to walk to and from and also very cheap to get cabs too.

Overall our stay was perfect 10 out of 10 and we are already planning our next trip here with friends and family to share our love of Bali and the Elysian.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak
Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, L'OCCITANE bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.