We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
HONEYMOON PACKAGE PACKAGE
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only about 15 minutes from airport and located in one of the most famous place in Bali, Seminyak preconceived us to stay at this hotel. First impression is just amazing. Service, villas and room surrounded with private pool are superb, we could have fun all day long. Just took a little walk outside, we could find many store, bars, and resto also. Overall, Elysian is highly recommended for those who looks for everything about boutique hotel, no regrets!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    101
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
68
389
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Elysian for 9 nights from 8 March and our only complaint was - we didn't stay long enough! Wonderful staff, gorgeous private villa and beautiful common areas. Topped off with very reasonable prices in the restaurant and spectacular poolside dining, we couldn't fault anything. The location was also great. We're already planning our next visit...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great Villa's, very comfortable, staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast and afternoon tea provided, what more could you ask for ... your own private pool, apple TV, willingness to run you anywhere in the hotel car, quiet location but not too far away from the action. Elysian has it all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very pretty hotel with incredible landscaping and a beautiful pool. The property as a whole was just small enough and cozy enough. The suites were spacious –– very elegant bathroom. Bedroom design felt a bit stiff for either the subdued colors or a lack of lighting. The private pool was lovely. My parents and I played in there for 3 hours one night that included lap swimming underwater photo shoots and inappropriately loud laughing. It was crazy fun. The complimentary massage and the lemongrass mosquito spray were awesome. Unfortunately The Elysian became the backyard of Seminyak a sad tourist trap, which I hated. Staff was nice, but almost too trained and missing a bit of intimacy and personal flare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Elysian, General Manager at The Elysian, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Miaodotwang

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at The Elysian.

Our villas, landscaped gardens and private pools are definitely highlights for many of our guests so it is great to know that they were for you too.

We appreciate your comments regarding our location. The Elysian chose it’s position because we are a few minutes walk away from the main road in a quiet and peaceful lane yet still within a stone’s throw of the most exciting shopping and eating in Seminyak. We are just moments from the internationally renowned Ku de Ta and a beautiful white sand beach. We have round-the-clock security watching over the lane that leads to The Elysian so the walk is comfortable and safe or guests can use our complimentary shuttle service to go anywhere in the Seminyak area.

Our team knows how important it is that everyone’s stay is carefree and memorable and do their best to ensure this without imposing on the privacy and peace that so many or our guests love. It is our goal to maintain the balance between superb service and the human touch.

Please send our regards and thanks to your parents also. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at The Elysian again and offer terrific benefits to returning guests who contact us directly to make their reservation.

Best Regards,
Anasthasia S. Handayani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elysian for the week of the 10th March which was also Silent day in Bali on the 12th. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. From airport pick up to drop off the service of the staff were well above par. Our one bedroom villa with private pool was amazing, we loved being able to have breakfast in our villa everyday.

Our Villa was right near the main pool and restaurant area abd suprisingly we could hear next to no noise from that area. We had dinner a couple of times in the restaurant and it was always great...the cocktails were to die for!

The Villas are also located very close to the main strip of Seminyak and some top notch restaurants and shopping which was very convienent to walk to and from and also very cheap to get cabs too.

Overall our stay was perfect 10 out of 10 and we are already planning our next trip here with friends and family to share our love of Bali and the Elysian.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Firstly I would like to say we really did enjoy our stay at The Elysian.

When we arrived there was no WOW factor which happens when we arrive at a hotel when travelling. It has a nice reception but nothing that you would write back home about, check in was swift and the staff were great. They did go over and above by presenting us a cake and a bouquet of roses which was very nice and we thank them for this gesture.

The Villa was very average and we were surprised by how outdated and cold looking it was, there is a definite contrast between the reviews on trip advisor and seeing the villa in person. We have put this down to the past reviewers must not stay in true pool villas when they travel and if you compare this to a basic hotel room then sure it’s better if not gold.
The décor and room quality is very tired and slightly run down the tiles on the floor are stained and chipped, the furniture including the TV cabinet looks very retro but this is not the theme it’s just they haven’t updated it in while. It has a very small TV the size of a computer screen to watch movies via Apple TV. Sure you don’t go to Bali to watch TV but a 4.5 star hotel should have a proper TV.

The walls are thin between the Villas and we have never stayed in a villa that was attached to another villa other villas we have stayed you could walk around the perimeter of your villa. We could hear our neighbour’s conversations and baby crying night and day with ease. All the villas pools face the main through fare through the hotel. All day you hear staff walking up and down delivering room service and just to make it even more unrelaxing you can hear the loud door bells ring from every villa around yours when room service delivers food. Then add the maintenance team sweeping and pruning etc outside your villa all day and no we wouldn’t say this is the most relaxing and chill out place as its marketed and other reviewers have posted. We can only compare this to other villas we have stayed in as the pool always was at the back of the villa and not facing towards the front entrance. Our pool was very clean on our first 3 days, they do clean the pool every day but the remaining 5 days this was not the case it was constantly full of insects and leaves etc floating on top of the water and some days we really felt dirty being in it and some days just didn’t use it. We don’t believe the equipment was working and called for the pool to be cleaned on a few occasions which was actioned however after a few hours it would return back to a dirty state.

The villa we were in only received two and half hours of sun around the pool and sunbaking area, basically between 10.30am to 1.00pm which you could sunbake after that it was just shade, if you are going to this hotel and hope to grab sun at your private villa I suggest you ask the hotel if your room gets sun all day as the lack of sun actually made our stay here unpleasant as we would have to leave our villa and go to the beach to get sun and that’s not why we stay in pool villas. I wouldn’t have thought to ask if the villa received sun when we booked as I would have expected it to be there after all it is a pool villa!

The massage centre is small and cramped if you choose to do a couple treatment, the beds are almost next to each other just enough room for one therapist to work, this makes it a very unrelaxing atmosphere. We booked another session where my wife had a 60 min wrap and I had a 90 min massage, we were surprised that they put us in a couple room as there was a 30min difference in the treatments. I went from being in a trance at the 50 minute mark of my massage to absolutely annoyed as the room became loud and noisy due to the shower and cleaning of the wrap process from my wife. Just like the sun issue in the villas I would have expected that we would have been in different rooms due to the different treatments but you will need to check when you book. We didn’t use the centre after this session, however the therapists were excellent no complaints with the staff or their service.

We did a Balinese cooking class at the hotel and this was one of our highlights in Bali, we highly recommend doing the cooking class at the hotel. Going to the market to buy the ingredients was very interesting and fun. Coming back to the hotel to put it all together was a great experience, having what we prepared for dinner that night was rewarding. They have a photographer who takes lots of photos of the experience included in the cost which gives you plenty of memories. The chefs and kitchen staff really should be commended for the quality and fun of this activity.

We received excellent service from most staff especially the internet team for fixing our internet connection late one night which took them an hour but the persevered until they got it working. The team that shuttles you into Seminyak were great, the room service and restaurant / breakfast and bar team were superb and these are people that made our stay memorable and make the hotel.

Who we didn’t rate at this hotel were the pool maintenance team for their lack service on trying to solve why our pool was constantly dirty.

Remember don’t assume.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Elysian for our honeymoon and could not speak highly enough of our experience. Our villa was very private and was the most wonderful way to spend some quiet time together after the busyness of a wedding. The staff were always on call & happy to go above and beyond to make our stay extra special! The complimentary breakfast was filling and delicious and the dinner that we had at the hotel restaurant was to die for!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.