We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and very nice villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elysian

Save Saved
You added The Elysian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Elysian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$297 (USD)
Ranked #13 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and very nice villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights for the first part of our honeymoon

All we can say is the villa itself is unbelievable, private pool and the room we stayed in was huge and extremely comfortable - the breakfast was really nice aswell

The staff here were extremely helpful and friendly and i would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    90
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
347
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We are a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 & 7. We stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa. We have been to Bali quite a few times, and this villa is by far the best we've stayed in. This villa #27 has a 10 metre pool which we spent alot of our time in. Day bed by the pool was very nice with a cocktail or 2. Inside 2 massive bedrooms bath in each room, and lounge, dining and kitchen area all air conditioned - and we needed it going in November. Very hot. We stayed for 7 nights, and could have spent longer - we didn't want to leave. The staff were absolutely amazing and they all knew us by name. They will drop you anywhere in Seminyak as long as the driver is available. Bodyworks is just around the corner, so I went there everyday. You will not be disappointed if you choose this property. 10 minutes walk to Ku De Ta with the best cocktails and sunset in Bali. Enjoy every minute of this Villa because you deserve it.

Room Tip: There is only one 2 bedroom, so get in quick to secure this amazing Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stay there to spend our honeymoon time and we took Elysian Hideway Package... But somehow the Villa gave us more than the package.

The staffs were very nice, friendly and so helpful..... There's no "cant do" for them. Started when we arrived at the Villa before 2pm (check in time), they allowed us to check in 2.5 hours before (different treatment with our second Villa in Ubud, which asked us to wait for 1 hour at the lobby)

In terms of facility, i think more than enough.... Apple tv, ipod + ipod dock, free shuttle, etc....

Overall, i am happy to stay here.
Thank you Elysian.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from three days in Seminyak and a stay at the Elysian Hotel. What a fabulous hotel! I noted that they were a 2012 Trip Advisor favorite (there is a certificate on the library wall), and I can see why. First of all the service is without compare. By the end of our first day, all of the staff new us by name. Whenever we made inquiries, the staff made us feel our inquiries were the only concerns they had.
We were in Villa 18. As one enters the courtyard there is a private plunge pool whose temperature was always just right. Inside the villa, there is a livingroom/dining area with two window seat day beds, dining table, and wet bar. There is a separate bedroom and a fabulous sunken bathtub/shower in the bathroom. The aroma of fragrant verbena flowers greets you each day. The decor is contemporary. However, I did not find that the furnishings reminded me of Ikea furniture as one reviewer indicated.
The hotel does run guests into town three times a day (and more often if it is not busy). Guests can also check out a laptop, electricity converter and iPod for use during their stay. The television in the bedroom even has Apple tv. There are also laptops sitting out in the lobby and in the restaurant as well as a desktop in the library.
The restaurant has a wide variety of choices in food and drink such that anyone should be able to find something appropriate to eat. In the evenings, the pool cabanas are turned into private dining escapes where guests may have dinner by candlelight. We had reserved one for the hotel's lobster fest. Unfortunately, it was the on the same evening that we experienced the only rainfall of our trip. We were thus relegated to enjoying the delectable lobster dinner in the restaurant instead. There were many choices for the breakfast which was included and the amount of food even with the continental quite filling.
The spa was heavenly and the prices amazingly inexpensive. My daughter arranged a body scrub on the deck of our villa and loved it. My other traveling partner had a massage at the spa and said it was quite healing and relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel. It is hidden off a small alley- like road, yet this delightful little oasis should not be overlooked. I definitely would return! Thank you Elysian for a wonderful Thanksgiving break!
Sandra R

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

That's the 1st time I write an hotel review, but I really feel I have to.
This hotel is clearly a standout, amazing from start to finish.
We stayed in Villa #7, which was truly beautiful, with the intimate deck, the lovely private swimming pool (amazing feeling!), and the amazing bathroom. Superb and sophisticated design all around, inside the villa and in the complex, extremely immaculate (they clean and check your villa once a day, plus once in the evening for the curtains and lights).
Breakfast is amazing there, you can have it in your villa or at the restaurant, food in general is soo good with local products, cocktails are simply the best we have had in Bali!
Staff is super friendly and make you feel very welcome!
I read people complained about missing sun, well I can tell you villa #7 has sun (in October) all morning, then swimming pool in the afternoon while the deck is in the shadow, trust me this is what you need when it's 35+ degrees!
Also, staff will drive you in town for free, even outside the "scheduled" shuttles, just ask nicely...
To be honest, we walked back always, it's only a 10 min walk from town centre, where you have got all the shopping and restaurants.
Also, being 10 min away from the crowd means it is so peaceful and quiet, it makes the place quite unique and would definitely recommend for a honeymoon...

Little tip, there is well known and recommended massage shop, called "Body Work" (less pricey than the hotel although we tested it and it is high quality), 10 min walk, just ask the reception.

All in all, brilliant place that we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay!!

Thanks The Elysian :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We only had a massage here, but the placed looked so good we asked for a view of the rooms. The villas looked amazing, and the pool and restaurant area was fabulous . The massage was extremely good - very professional and very healing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my second year at The Elysian - a beautiful sophisticated resort whose staff are attentive and friendly, gorgeous pool and restaurant area amongst fragrant gardens, tasty menu and luxurious spa like no other. The individual villas are spacious and quiet with their own private pool and secluded. One of the most romantic resorts I have ever found. I would definitely recommend The Elysian as a honeymoon destination, or for romance - it is subtle discreet and affordable. Close to great flea markets and Seminyak village but I preferred to stay at The Resort for the majority of my visit as it met all my needs - blissful stay. If you want to relax and be spoilt The Elysian is the right choice

Room Tip: I would recommend a Villa near the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elysian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elysian

Address: 18 Sari Dewi, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elysian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic haven where you can enjoy the privacy of your own luxury villa set amongst leafy Balinese gardens with its own 8x3 meter private pool. Fully equipped and serviced with restaurant, spa, 24 hours guest service, nightly turn-down service, and round the-clock room service. Also, be entertained in your villa with Apple TV, iPod, iPAD, Bose Sound System, WiFi & iPad in the car, L'OCCITANE bath amenities, Macbook and Notebook plus dedicated high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Elysian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elysian Hotel Seminyak
The Elysian Boutique Hotel
Elysian Boutique Hotel
The Elysian Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elysian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.