We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home in Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Villas to your Saves list
Downtown Villas
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Pura Dalem 9d, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second home in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I ventured to Bali for the first time in January 2013 and we were impressed by the highly professional and accomodating nature of the staff at Downtown Villas. We stayed in a one bedroom villa which was a great size, very clean and tidy. The first night we had locked ourselves out of the bathroom and couldn't get in until morning, we also found that the taps were running a little so they upgraded us to another one bedroom. We would certainly stay at Downtown Villas again as it's a great location in Seminyak, walking distance to Bintang Supermarket and only a quick trip via taxi to Kuta and surrounding areas. Great experience and a big thank you to all the staff who made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 4, which we preferred over the first villa (number 3) as it has a better flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fabulous 3 Bedroom Villa in a great position across from Bintang and close to shops and restaurants. Gorgeous large pool and bale in quiet relaxing surroundings. In house chef cooked a 3 course dinner one night which was fabulous. All of the staff at Downtown Villas are part of an amazing team who take care of cooking, cleaning, transfers, tours, restaurant and spa reservations etc. Above all the staff are very professional and friendly. Highly Recommend Downtown Villas either for a family holiday or couples sharing a villa, there's plenty of room and privacy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just had 11 nights over Christmas and new year with our 3 daughters at this wonderful villa. We were very surprised at how big the villas are, and the pool is a good length for laps.
I cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful staff. From the cooks to the cleaners and even the security but most of all the guys in the office - I put alot of stress on them booking restaurants and day trips then cancelling some at times or changing times but nothing was ever a problem.
The villas are in a great position, walking distance to bin tang supermarket and restaurants. (Which is good at Christmas when traffic is in grid lock)

If I had to give one suggestion it would be to get cushions for outdoor pool chairs. These chairs are wooden and a bit hard to lay on.
Overall we loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My mother and I booked a two bedroom villa and were very happy with it, it was much bigger than it appeared in the photos online and very well appointed. My favorite part of it was the pictersque yard, with a big long pool with frangipani tree overhanging and nice grassy area and large bale where it was great to while away a few hours reading if laying on the sun loungers got too hot. Service from the staff was impeccable, with a decent breakfast served in our room daily and a turn down service each evening. My only reason for not giving a full 5 stars is that, as others have said,it does need some maintenance ( but nothing too serious that affected our stay ). Ie,the pool tiles need a good scrub, and the showers are looking a bit worse for wear with cracked glass and huge build up of soap scum on the glass. But everything was very clean so no problems there. I'd definently stay here again, would be perfect for two couples I think.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location. 2 minute walk to the Bintang supermarket on Legian Street but tucked down a lane way so relatively quiet for the centre of Seminyak. Villa 1 is most definitely the pick of the one bedroom villas as it has the largest decking area and pool. Villas 2-4 have smallish yards so if you are a sunbather you have limited space to catch rays depending on the suns movements throughout the day. 2 bed villas have a huge pool and deck area so no issue with sun in these ones. Furniture and fittings a little tired but the villas were clean on arrival and maintained to a good standard by housekeeping daily. Breakfast was included and adequate. We book direct with the villas via email and always score a good rate by doing so, especially as they are last minute bookings so you have some bargaining power if they have a spare villa which they'd rather let at a discount than sitting empty. We find all the staff very friendly and have had no issues with theft, even though we never use the safe deposit boxes. Don't expect 5 star but we feel it's value for money considering the central location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom villa in July 2012. The location was fantastic, across the road from the bintang supermarket but down a hidden alley (with a secure gate and guard) so you are hidden away from noisy streets.
The design is quite good, and was secluded and private. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was average and limited, my boyfriend thought quite small (for him) so we decided to go out for breakfast most mornings.
The villa was clean however it is starting to look very old and is in serious need of repair. The pool area (wood) and bathroom are aging badly, as is the furniture. I probably would not stay at Downtown Villas again, as there are some much nicer and newer villas in Semiyak. However, the location is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have now stayed at Downtown Villas 6 times. Have stayed in most, if not all, of the two bedroom villas and the three bedroom villa twice. The last stay was in June 2012 in the three bedroom villa. The villas are starting to look a little old and in need of some repairs. Mainly the furniture in the lounge room and the outdoor seats need a good clean and a few repairs. The sheets in one of the bedrooms were dirty when we arrived and the kitchen cupboards were looking a little bare. There was a shortage of glasses, plates etc for 5 people.
- Every morning, except one, the breakfast we ordered was incorrect. Either the coffees didn't arrive, a meal was missing or the pancakes only arrived for 1 person instead of 2.
- On the last day we had paid around $200 US for late check out. Just before we were due to leave we were phoned by management to say that we needed to leave or we would be charged extra. We explained we would be ready in the next 30 minutes, but instead of waiting for us, staff arrived at the villa and stood in the lounge room waiting for us to leave, basically pushing us out! Very UNPROFESSIONAL! We were then taken to a van for transport to the airport. We advised long in advance we needed transport for 5 people. But instead, we were put into a van with room for 4 passengers. 1 of us was then asked to lie on the floor!!!!!
- Just before we were about to leave an employee and the "manager" approached me stating a small bottle of water was missing from the mini bar. I explained that no one had taken the water as there was complementary water in the kitchen we had all been drinking. He wouldn't take no for an answer and demanded 35,000 RP (about $4 AUS) before we were "allowed" to leave. After spending more then $2000US, they were arguing with me about $4!!!! I basically threw the money at him and we left :( not a great way to end a fantastic holiday!!!!
- So, the good bits: GREAT LOCATION just off the main Street of Seminyak. Opposite Bintang Supermarket and down a small alley. So its quiet and peaceful when in the villa.
HUGE private lap pool in all two bedroom and the 3 room villas.
- As I have said, this is my sixth time to downtown but repeat business doesn't seem to mean anything to Downtown Management. For the money, I will be looking at other villas in Seminyak for my annual trip to Bali. This will probably be the last time I go to Downtown Villas!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
#10 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#47 of 117 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
1.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
0.4 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Villas

Address: Jalan Pura Dalem 9d, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downtown Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Downtown Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Villas Hotel Seminyak
Downtown Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.