We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel, but the service so so..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puri Cendana to your Saves list
Hotel Puri Cendana
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, but the service so so..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We came to the hotel a Wednesday night in April. We hadn´t booked anything in advanced so they told us that they had one room for one night. We night me able to stay longer but they didn´t know that until the following morning around 10. The night guard at the reception couldn´t answer any questions so it was kind of hopeless. We stayed for that night, the hotel room was very nice, it was a master. The service at the hotel is quite poor. The night guard doesn´t know much and can´t answer many questions. He doesnt speak that good english and same lever when it comes to understanding. The hotel itself is very nice. Beautiful pool, rooms and the surroundings. The service in the hotel resturant wasnt very much to speak off either. It was rather slow, and the waitresses just couldnt find it to smile. They didnt bother coming to your table once you sat down, even when we were the only one there. It always took a very long time. You almost had to ask them to come. We had 3 different bedrooms during our stay. We stayed for one week. The other rooms were nice as well. One thing to complain about when it comes to the rooms were that the doors into the bathroom, we werent able to lock (this applies for as many as two of the rooms) But it was a nice hotel and you got a lot from the price. But if you can find a similiar hotel with better service, even better. The hotel was a 2 min walk from the beach which was perfect as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
62
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at the Puri Cendana for 8 nights in July 2008. We went directly to the hotel and asked for a price- and it was unbeliavebly cheap.

We liked the hotel location, it is close to both the beach, shops and restaurants. The pool area is small, but really nice. There are two ladies giving very good massages by the pool at a reasonable price. The service we experienced both at check in and at the restaurant was under expectation and the rooms could have been both cleaner and safer.

But overall a very nice experience and great value for money!

  • Liked — Location and pool area
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We went on our honeymoon, and could not have stayed at a better place than Puri Cendana. This place is pristine, quiet, amazingly beautiful, has a swimming pool most 5 star hotels cant beat and provides complete privacy to every guest. The best part of this resort is that its a stone's throw away from the beach. For vegetarians. like us, there is a good Indian restaurant close by that serves veg food. The restaurant staff too went out of their way to cook vegetarian for us. Will not consider any other place anytime we visit Bali again.

  • Liked — serenity and people
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

My partner and I were going to to book into the Sofitel next door where our friends were staying, unfortunately they didnt have any rooms left, so we started to drag our backpacks and surfboards up the road to find somewhere else, we popped into the Puri and booked a room (3nights) for about 50US a night, (financially cheap in Sept, not so good now). I absolutely loved the hotel, the lush gardens were beautiful, the room was not posh but very suitable decor for a tranquil balinese hotel. It was very quiet and peaceful, much nicer than when we went into to the Sofitel, there were so many guest, and all of the staff spoke fluent english and i dont think you get to experience real Indonesia in a huge resort like that. Seminyak is the best area in Kuta to stay, there is all the best night clubs like double 6 etc, and Kut De Ta which is a must for all travellers to bali, is just a stone throw away along the beach from the Puri. We also came back a week later after travelling and bought other friends along to stay and they loved it too! I would reccommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay in Seminyak for a reasonable price!! I will be staying there again on my next visit!

  • Liked — Location, Room, Garden
  • Disliked — the air con upstairs was too small for the size of the room, got a bit hot at night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

we stayed 1 night in this hotel which has a very good location(between the sea and the center)
Nice swimming pool but staff too sleepy and not so friendly...
the restaurant of the hotel is quite expensive but food is fresh and good.
the room was too dark and the bathroom needs to be improved.
however, I would recommend this hotel for its location.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

I did not want to pay a lot for lodging, and I was prepared for a barebones hotel. However, I was still disappointed at my two-night stay at Puri Cendana.

What I liked about this place was the beautiful garden, relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. My room was two-storey and the upstairs bedroom was quite cute with simple Balinese furniture.

The turnoffs include the noise from the main street and the paper-thin walls (I could hear my neighbor clearly.)

The room was dim and it was hard to see at night.

I liked the king-size bed but the pillows and mattress were not very comfortable.

Since the air conditioner unit was upstairs, the living room downstairs was not very cool. The furniture was about to fall apart.

The biggest turnoff was the unclean bathroom. The ventilation was poor and it was stuffy in the bathroom.

I chose price over comfort and I did not regret my choice. However, if I visit Seminyak again, I would stay in a better place with a clean bathroom.

  • Liked — Beautiful garden, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Unclean bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We booked this on the internet and only bookes two nights just in case..... Once over the jetlag we booked it for a full 12 days. We did a little looking around at some other seminyak locations that had been recommended by friends but this was the best value by far in the $40-60 US range (highish season). Why???
1. Built in mostly Balinese style (not western)
2. Beautiful gardens
3. really good proportion of property is garden
3. Only 24 rooms so not overcrowded
4. Upper level rooms are two generous stories
5. 100mtr to beach
6. Staff are there (lots) but unobtrusive
OK its a little old and a touch frayed around the edges, but at thisa price and location... well its a gem. All things arranged by the staff (motobike, airport transport) were done without fanfare and pretty close to street market price. Plus they had 3 very cute puppies in residence..Couple on cons hot water could run out but not for long, narrow steep stairs to upper bed level..

  • Liked — Gardens and room size
  • Disliked — hand held shower
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puri Cendana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.