We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting that is affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puri Cendana to your Saves list
Hotel Puri Cendana
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting that is affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you are looking for a place that is clean, close to Seminyak beach but at top end (much more relaxed) and reasonably priced then this would be a good option. Set in a lovely garden setting, the hotel is a quite space to relax in.

After staying in Umalas area for most of our stay, we decided to move closer to Seminyak for last 2 days (with a red eye connection back to Australia, it was an affordable and good option to be able to have somewhere to relax the day away before mid evening departure for airport).

Had stumbled across this hotel during a day excursion out on the scooter. You can drop in, use their pool (you have to take own towel), and have a refreshing drink which is a nice way to cool down.

Didn't eat here other than a quick lunch, so can't really comment on the food but the drinks were refreshing.

Would recommend booking a star room (superior star or duplex star) if you are a westerner and want to watch a little TV as these are the only 2 room types that offer international TV.

We had a duplex room that was clean, and spread over 2 levels. Management could however look to replacing their towels as they were worn and grey, and the pillows could be upgraded. Air conditioning in the upstairs bedroom also didn't work particularly well, but that could have been because it was trying to cool down two levels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    76
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
62
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We couln't stay for the night, the hotel was full but we enjoyed the lunch and stayed with the kids near the swimming pool.
Average food but nice fresh juice.
Nice place, friendly staff, and good massage as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you are looking for a place that is clean, you can rest well, close to the beach and reasonable pricing. This is the place for you.

We stayed there for 6 days in April. It's our 2nd time in Bali & we've seen other beaches, so we picked this place as we know it's close to the Seminyak beach (within 5 minutes walk), the beach we prefer. This is a surfer's beach, got lots of good wave, pretty good for body surf too, but definitely not swimming.(Last time in July, there were lots of rubbish on Nusa Dua Beach.)

We originally booked a superior star room but we got upgraded to the duplex star room because Expedia did something wrong on their side. Anyway, that's a good bonus for us. The room is very clean and no bugs issue. (Last time in Ubud, we had flies issue in the room) We think the room we've got is totally suitable for a family of 4 or simply just a few friends together. There's a king bed upstairs and it can totally fit a double bed downstairs in the living room. the TV wasn't working at all but we didn't care as we don't watch TV. The free wifi works well in the room and the restaurant.

The restaurant offers basic breakfast like all the other balinese style hotel. The breakfast is okay, we prefer fruit plate than orange juice from concentrate which tasted weird. We had dinner there once. We only eat local dishes when we are traveling. Their Nasi Campur and another Balinese curry chicken dish tasted great, but my one plate doesn't fill a man's stomach.

This hotel is located at the beginning of Seminyak beach, a great location to start off a sunset stroll, which you can go down south along the beach to Legian and Kuta beach or north (which we didn't have time to do so). This is also the more chill out part of the beach. We loved that it is less crowded, which is great for a relaxing sunbath. At night it is filled with more energy with some bars still operating with live music, so you can have a drink right on the beach. If you walk further south from there passed a smelly creek that joins up the beach. That marks the beginning of Legian, and you won't find bars right on the beach like Seminyak do.

We love walking around. You'll find a lot of interesting things along Jl. Camplung Tanduk, including good vegan food and delicious smoothy at Zula, a good music gig at Solki, an open- air bar that serves you popcorn as snacks (right next door to Zula), located in the beginning of this road. If you walk further, there is a bar on the left side called something "moon" (I forgot the name), they have good live band shows there as well. Midway through your walk back to the hotel, you'll walk pass a couple of gay bars, which get quite crazily crowded at night.
If you like to walk to see the world like us, try walking along the beach to Legian, then along the main road to Kuta, that's something else to explore.

Back to Puri Cendana, the negative things I'd say is they need to change up their towels, which are so worn out with grey stains and the edges fray. Also, the bed can be more comfortable. It's time for them to upgrade some of their amenities.

Room Tip: The room we had was G, it's great but we wish there's a bit more sun in the room. We have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed there in March 2014. I was collected from the airport by a very reliable driver (who was very helpful - he even drove me around Denpasar the next day to hunt for somewhere to buy a ticket, and did the negotiating for me!) - and arrived at a small hotel that was very cute looking. On arrival the reception guy wanted payment up-front in cash in IDR for my entire stay - which was basically impossible as the total dollar amount was high and exceeded my daily ATM withdrawal limit. So that was annoying and I had to pay for each day individually. Aside from that though I liked it. The hotel is older than most of other places in Seminyak, but is clean with big rooms and huge bathrooms, reasonably priced (for Seminyak), and has some character, and the staff are helpful. It's only 100m from the beach and close to the older parts of Seminyak, but a long walk from the really expensive bit where the posh 5-star resorts and beach clubs are. I would stay there again. Be sure to arrange airport collection because no taxi driver will be able to find it. Many hotels are called by similar names. Even if you have the address it doesn't help because the road is known by 3 different names. Apple maps couldn't even locate it correctly. Google maps did a slightly better job but still wasn't correct.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My friend and I stayed here early April. Coming off a long flight it was our first stop. We got picked up at the airport by a friendly, nice driver and dropped off at the hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were perfect with clean beds, great bathrooms and a cute outdoor balcony. The pool area is great where you can just relax and have a drink and food. Great place for great price!
Location is a small walk to the beach and few mins walk into central but wasn't an issue. Overall it was a really great place.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I chose to stay here over your standard resort, because if I'm in a country I want to feel like I'm in that country by staying in a traditional hotel. The hotel rooms were spacious and clean. They're pretty basic but have everything you need.
The grounds are beautiful with a pool surrounded by gardens which were well kept. We saw the gardener our everyday tending to the flowers and plants.
Breakfast was included in the price and was a good size portion (more than enough food) with a choice of Western or Asian cuisine. The rest of the food in the restaurant was ok but not amazing, but the location is so good you're only a short walk to other restaurants. It's also a stone's throw from the beach as we ll as a short walk to the main street and bars etc.
The staff were lovely and very welcoming. I'd definitely recommend staying at the Puri Cendana if you're looking for a traditional Balinese hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Enjoyed the restaurant area only. Did not stay here, but it looked lovely. Restaurant right next to pool area, lovely gardens. Walked past on our way back to our villa from the beach. The friendliest staff who welcomed us, spoke very good English and made recommendations about what is delicious coming from the kitchen. Spot on! Beer was ice cold, wine was good and the food delicious. Not too big and not too small! Had a look at the hotel and might have to stay here next time!! Close to shops, beach is spitting distance, road not too busy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puri Cendana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.