We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahimsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ahimsa to your Saves list
The Ahimsa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I could live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My partner and myself had a brief stay here and loved it. The pool being a highlight for its size.
The bed was another plus...so comfortable. We had friends visit and the staff and security were very welcoming to them also. The mozzies are a bit annoying so bring a repellent.
Breakfast was simple but cooked fresh for you in your villa at a time of your choosing.
I will be back here again.

Room Tip: Careful with the children because the pool is deep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Michael O,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valuable recommendation on trip ad is highly appreciated. We're downright honored to receive it. Thank you for liking our new mattress. Re; mosquitoes, we discussed it with the management this morning. We would replace the mosquitoes repellent with the more effective one. In addition to that we will cut off the bamboo trees where they might have been the nest of mosquitoes. Anyway, we’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. Making your holiday a memorable one is the highest pride of us. We hope we can do this all over again in your forthcoming holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager Ahimsa Group
Email. made@theahimsa.com
Cell. +62 81 239 57 333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed with my family of 4. My children love the villa and didn't want to leave! Nice quite place in Seminyak which is about 10-15 mins away from the bustling Kuta. Service was excellent and staffs are friendly.

The only downside is mosquitoes. Although mosquitoes coils are provided, its best that you bring your own repellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Ann_ang13,

I am very happy to know that your holiday with your family was great. Thanks for your positive comment re: our staff service. We have just discussed this morning re: the mosquitoes repellent. We tend to replace the mosquitoes lotion with the one that more effective and within the next days, we're cutting off the bamboo trees where they might have been the nest of the mosquitoes. Anyway, your valuable recommendation on trip ad is highly appreciated and, we're downright honored to receive it. We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. Making your holiday a memorable one is the highest pride of us. We hope we can do this all over again in your forthcoming holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager Ahimsa Group
Email. made@theahimsa.com
Cell. +62 81 239 57 333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Having stayed at 2 locations of the Ahimsa, Jimbaren and Seminyak 3 times now, we have never been disappointed and keep returning. The villas are so private, lush and luxurious, staff are simply amazing, and location excellent for the numerous cafes and restaurants closeby but without the noise !!! Staff even organised massages for us.... Beside the pool..... The highlight of our week !!!!!!! Have booked again and can't wait for November .

Room Tip: Prana Yoga studio, Bali Deli, magnificent cheap little Indonesian restaurant and spas just up the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Ann_Perth_10,

Thank you very much for stay and your future re-booking. Your valuable valuable recommendation on trip ad is highly appreciated and, we're downright honored to receive it. We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. Making your holiday a memorable one is the highest pride of us. We hope we can do this all over again in your forthcoming holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager Ahimsa Group
Email. made@theahimsa.com
Cell. +62 81 239 57 333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Best service we have ever received. The quality of the stay was outstanding and there wasn't one bad thing I could say about it. I recommend this to everyone. All staff were lovely and we were always greeted with a smile and friendly hello. Anything you need the staff were more then happy to help. One of the best places I have ever been. Will continue to return every time.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Sam B,

We all are very happy to know that our services met up to your expectation. Your valuable recommendation on trip ad is highly appreciated. We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. And we’re downright honored when you choose to spend your Bali's holiday with us. Making your holiday a memorable one is the highest pride of us. We hope we can do this all over again in your forthcoming holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager Ahimsa Group
Email. made@theahimsa.com
Cell. +62 81 239 57 333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My partner and I just stayed for 5 wonderful nights at the Ahimsa Estate located on Jalan Sari Dewi which is part of the Ahimsa group.

For us, the Ahimsa Estate is perfect location in Bali as it is a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 2 minute walk to Ku De Ta for drinks/sunset watching and dinner. You can also walk to Sea Circus, Urchin, BodyWorks spa and various hotel bars/cafes. If you walk in the other directions it's about 5 minutes to the main restuarant and bar strip. There are covnenience stores, scooters to hire and money changers all nearby. We also drove past the other other Ahimsa property in Jalan Kunti on our scooter one day and it also seemed like a convenient spot.

We loved the spacious open layout of the villa (the living, dining and bathroom areas are open air) and were impressed that the pool was quite large even though we were staying in the one bedroom villa. There was occasionally some street noise from the markets nearby but the bedroom was totally quiet for sleeping.

The decor is modern and stylish with charming Balinese touches. It's not pristine and brand new but we felt very comfortable and it was beautifully clean.

We had breakfast in the villa everyday and thought the quality of the food was very good. The American breakfast is tasty and we also liked the nasi goreng.

Yes, there are mosquitoes but Bali is a tropical country. You can be bitten anywhere - restaurants, the beach etc. The mosquito coils helped and we didn't think it was a big problem in the villa.

The biggest plus point other than the location is the wonderful staff. My partner arrived on different flights and had to leave on different flights and the villa staff were happy to arrange seperate pick up from and shuttle to the airport. They even contacted me when I accidentally gave them the wrong flight number for my partner to check with me about the flight. I'm so glad they did! I was very impressed with how organised and efficient they were. They also provided a late checkout for us, DVD collection to choose from and arranged shuttle to restuarants.

Overall, these villas are very well priced, in a great location and the service is excellent - a great choice to stay in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Katie_dollhongkong,

None happier than me soon after opening your review on trip ad. Thank you for your valuable recommendation. Knowing that our staffs were very helpful during your stay and you had a great time, we’re all downright honored when you choose to spend your Bali's holiday with us. Making your holiday a memorable one is the highest pride of us. We hope we can do this all over again in your forthcoming holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager Ahimsa Group
Email. made@theahimsa.com
Cell. +62 81 239 57 333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a total of 5 adults and 1 child staying in a 3-Bedroom Villa on 18 April to 20 April. We reached at 12 plus PM in the afternoon and the villa was all ready. Air-con in all rooms were switched on to cool the room for us even before we arrived. Once we arrived at our Villa (No. 5), we were served with orange juice to quench our thirst.

The location of this villa is located in a quiet area of Seminyak, away from where all the hype and vibe. If we requre the free shuttle service to any Seminyak area, we will need to inform the reception 2 hours before our departure time. Next day breakfast needs to be ordered the day before and the staffs came to our villa 10 to 15 mins earlier than the time we requested. Within 15 mins after their arrival, breakfast were all ready on our table. Mosquitoes repellent and coils were given to us too.

Overall service was excellent. However, there were small tiny bed bugs in the beds of every rooms as we were all bitten by it. One of my friends saw many tiny ones on the pillows she slept on and threw all the pillows onto the floor immediately. I had seen one on the quilt cover, squashed it with my fingers and there were blood. On the first night, we thought that it was just mosquitoes until we witness the bed bugs on our bed the second night, hence we didn't feedback to the management as we will check out the next morning.

We hope that The Ahimsa will fumigate their rooms / change their entire beds after this review for the benefit of the next occupier.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Scanjli,

First of all thank you for your feedback. I am happy to know that your overall stay was a great one. We are sorry about the bugs. For your information, we have just renewed all of our beds. We have never undergone this matter in the past years. We also fumigated the rooms to ensure they're bugs free. Once again thank you very much for your business and constructive comments. We shall look forward to having you again in near future.

With my best regards,
Made Sukianto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We are a family of four - children aged 6 and 8. Stayed at The Ahimsa (Jalan Kunti) from 6 to 10 April 2014. Wish we could have stayed longer.
The villa has lovely bathrooms and is well maintained and great kitchen facilities.
Staff are attentive without being intrusive. Villas was always cleaned immaculately each day.
We have stayed in many villas were breakfast is cooked for you, but I would have to say the staff here know how to knock up a great breakfast. The banana pancakes were enak sekali! Bacon was the best bacon I have had in Bali. Another nice touch was the complimentary lattes, caps, flat whites, hot chocolates at any time of the day.
We had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the villas, an Australian man - Stuart. Nice to see someone who gives back to society with his involvement with Bali Kids. His staff are very loyal to him also. A truly generous spirit.
We originally thought we had booked the villas down at Petitenget but we were not unhappy with this location either. Many good "cheap eats" on Jalan Kunti. We recommend Taco Beach - great cheap mexican food and good staff (Thanks again Stuart).
Only a 5 minute walk to shops on Jalan Raya Seminyak. 10 minute walk to Bintang supermarket.
Lots of spa places on Jalan Kunti - Do not go to Ebien Spa! Not friendly at all. You have Chill and Prana Spa and Glo which are the high end spa. Chill is a great experience in reflexology - worth the $18 for 90 minutes.
The Ahimsa also provides complimentary transfer to airport and to Seminyak area.
If I had to be picky the only suggestions I would make would be to have DVD players in bedrooms. If you have two kids fighting over a movie to watch it would be useful to have a dvd in each air conditioned room rather than the open plan living room (which is not air conditioned). Also to have to 2 lounges in living room as the two chairs provided were not comfortable to sit in and not on the best angle to watch TV of an evening. Pool also got a little murky by the end of the week.
All in all we loved our stay here and would definitely stay again. We plan to try the Ahimsa Estate at Petitenget next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 4. This was toward the front of the complex so was a little noisy at times (not...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Cassiddy313,

I went through your notice and, we're downright honored to know that your overall stay was a great one. I will bring along your comments regarding DVD players and the lounges to the management meeting. Thank you very much for your concerns and we all shall look forward to having you again in near future.

Sincerely,
Made Sukianto
General Manager
made@theahimsa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahimsa

Address: Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahimsa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AHIMSA group redefines luxury accommodation by providing discerning guests with the ultimate boutique villa experience. Contemporary design and traditional Asian architecture coupled with impeccable five-star service ensures your stay will be an unforgettable one. Our philosophy is embodied in the Sanskrit word 'AHIMSA' - meaning 'to abstain from harm or violence to all earth's creatures'. Followers of the Hindu faith believe embracing this ideal will lead to a better way of life. Our hotel stands as a reminder to our valued guests and the people of the world that Bali is a gentle island with caring inhabitants. The Ahimsa is situated in the heart of vibrant cosmopolitan Seminyak. Choose from sixteen private villas, ranging from one to three bedroom. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The Ahimsa Estate features five luxury villas comprising 2 one bedroom pool villa, 2 two bedroom pool villa and 1 three bedroom pool villa. Our villas have all the superior appointments of the Seminyak Villas but incorporate a more contemporary architectural treatment. Located 5 minutes walking from Seminyak Beach-just off Bali's most fashionable street for dining and entertainment. Jalan Oberoi - next to famous restaurant Kudeta, Ahimsa Estate affords guests all the pleasures they seek for the ultimate Bali experience. The Ahimsa Beach boasts eleven luxury villas situated 150 meters from one of Bali's best swimming beaches and only a stones throw from the Four Seasons resort and spa. The Ahimsa Beach consists of seven one-bedroom, two two-bedroom and two three-bedroom exquisitely appointed villas fitted with the air and essence that have made Ahimsa hotels one of the most popular boutique style hotels on the island. En-suite bathrooms, full-service kitchen, state -of-the art entertainment systems, open plan lounge and dining areas, ensure your every need is catered for. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The use of local materials in the choice of interior fitments ensures the indelible spirit of Bali is captured in all its grace and beauty. Dining is a pleasure at The Ahimsa where a team of culinary experts will prepare a la carte breakfast every morning for guests as well as any special meal requests for nights spent relaxing in your own villa. Experience a better way of life The villas are constructed in a style that combines the very best of traditional Balinese architecture with luxurious Western amenities. This combination places the Ahimsa hotels the forefront of this beautiful island's boutique -style accommodation. Honeymooners, discerning travelers or families can look forward to the guest services the Ahimsa has become famous for, including secure private accommodation, in villa spa, beauty treatments, the famous Ahimsa Barbecue, a well-equipped business centre, personal tour guides and sight seeing packages plus much more. Travel arrangements, tours and cruises can all be organized by the resort's staff for guests. Popular activities include scuba diving, snorkeling and rafting. Whether you stay at THE AHIMSA, THE AHIMSA ESTATE or THE AHIMSA BEACH, you will enjoy the best this magical island has to offer and as a result - discover a better way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
The Ahimsa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahimsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.