We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon at Ahimsa was a LIFETIME experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahimsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ahimsa to your Saves list
The Ahimsa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
mumbai,India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Honeymoon at Ahimsa was a LIFETIME experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband wanted to give me a surprise on our honeymoon.So he decided to take me to a wonderful location.So we went to Ahimsa,Bali.It was a awesome honeymoon destination and staying at Ahimsa was a wonderful experience.The private villa with the pool is a wonderful concept they are offering to the honeymooners.The staffs were really cooperative and the service was really excellent.Thanks my husband for gifting me such a wonderful honeymoon experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madesuki, Manager at The Ahimsa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Nothing else makes us happier than knowing that your stay with us was memorable one. We will keep up our good work and we all are looking forward to having you again in the near future. Should I can be of any assistance regarding Ahimsa, please drop me an email to made@theahimsa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ahimsa Seminyak early Sept '12 for 8 nights and I wanted to let people know how good it was. Located just next to Ku De Ta and a stones throw from hot spots like Potato Head and W, its the best location in Seminyak or indeed from Kuta to Cannggu. Its all on your doorstep there even the beach is about 80 meters away and yet you can slip quietly away into your peaceful villa and relax. The staff are naturally very helpful but not in your face and seem to judge when to approach you. I booked via email and everything went perfectly from Airport to Villa and back again. The staff arranged some water activities for us and were happy to troubleshoot any issue we had, which were few. I have been to Bali about 9 times over the past 20 years and Ahimsa allowed me to indulge and escape as much as I wanted ! THANKYOU AHIMSA, Paul and Carrie x

Room Tip: I had a look around the Villas and they all looked great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Being a mature, but active and well travelled couple we always research the location of our accommodation before booking.
We live in Australia by the beach so a close proximity to a beach was not a priority.
A basic research will soon tell you that the Ahimsa is not close to the beach and therefore is not a beach hotel.
However if you are looking for a good villa complex close to good shops and very good medium price restaurants this is the place.
Turn left out of the complex and the first restaurant is 'Le Spot' part of the excellent Bali Deli ( for those from Perth this is on a similar level to the Boatshed and the Herdsman).
Le Spot also has great live Jazz on Friday nights.
Spend a second night at the Jerami ( bit further up the road ) which offers a good BBQ or spit roasted pig. If you travel to Bali and still crave European food and Pizzas join those a bit further up.
Much better to move up to the end of JL Kunti to the Bale Bali. Fantastic local food and great service with a unique interior and well priced.
At the junction with JL Raya Seminyak turn left and 100 metres down find another great eatery - the Mannekepis and don't miss some pretty good Indian food at Queens.
Please don't listen to all the doom & gloom, we found everything about this villa complex very secure including walking at night. Perhaps the entrance doors to your villa could be beefed up a bit, but the rooms are secure and the whole complex has security at the only entrance.
Talking of Security guards we took a stroll to Ku De Ta. Well one would have thought Obama was paying a visit ! Anywhere that needs that many security guards puts us off from the word go.
Yes there are plenty of mozzies, but you are in the tropics and have a large pond in your grounds.The villa is sprayed once a week and every night the staff light coils.
There is no other way to say this - the pavements are dangerous so don`t go shopping in six inch heels. The best way to deal with the touts is to pretend you are German and they soon go away.
The location is close to busy intersection but the security guards make the crossing of the road very easy. The villa that we had was back from the road and essentially free of noise.
Really can`t comment about the Telly, who comes to exotic Bali to turn a television on. WIFI worked just fine.
The real strength of the Villas are the well trained and very obliging staff.
We will return.

Room Tip: We had villa 3 - 1,9,&10 might be a bit close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staying at the Ahimsa Seminyak was perfect for our wedding week. They were able to accomidate most of our family between the 3 bedroom and 1 bedroom Villas. They are a relatively small place compared to some, about 9 villas in total. They also have an onsite driver that will take you one way to most destinations shy of Ubud. They were very friendly and helpful with all the random things that we needed to do and store for the wedding. They even moved us to a larger 2 bedroom unit from a 1 bedroom unit because the front villa could hear a little bit of traffic.

All in all we would definitely return and maybe try out another location of the Ahimsa's in Jimbaran perhaps.

Room Tip: Higher number villas are further in the back away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is my second time visiting the ahimsa kunti. A very strategic location in the heart of seminyak makes this villa is very suitable as a reference. It takes about 25-45menit (depending on traffic conditions, road in Bali will be very quiet in the morning) from the Ngurah Rai International Airport. The villa Driver who pick-up us is on time, check-in process is also very fast.
Thing to be note is the interior of this villa need some renovation so it can be more beautiful and new. its different than the ahimsa estate (near oberoi), which is the building is more new-fashioned than the ahimsa kunti.
For breakfast is always on time with excellent service from a personal buttler. This villa had a small bedroom with a quite romantic open bathroom. each villa is equipped with a private pool.
the ahimsa suitable as a reference place to stay in Bali, especially for couples and families with a young kid or teenagers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for my honeymoon in October 201. I originally wanted to book Ahimsa Estate, as it's a bit closer to Jl. Laksmana however this was still in a good location.

We were given a 2 BR villa although we only booked a 1 BR (the second room remained locked the duration of our stay). The villas are spacious, clean and modern with touches of Balinese decorations. The bathroom is large, well lit. The pool is a good size. Breakfast was average and what you'd expect in most villas.

The location is in central Seminyak and no problem to get from/to if you have a motorbike. On that note I recommend hiring a motorbike to get around Bali quickly.

I also rate this as average value. To be honest there are many great villas with competitive prices and service in Bali, that are just as good or better than Ahimsa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have again booked another stay at the Ahimsa. Nanik was very good at helping us through the booking. What better recommendation than re booking another visit before you leave. All the staff were very good, considerate, polite and very hard working to make our stay perfect. The location suits us very well, and the villa superb. Our next vist is for seven nights in November and we are now counting.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahimsa

Address: Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahimsa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AHIMSA group redefines luxury accommodation by providing discerning guests with the ultimate boutique villa experience. Contemporary design and traditional Asian architecture coupled with impeccable five-star service ensures your stay will be an unforgettable one. Our philosophy is embodied in the Sanskrit word 'AHIMSA' - meaning 'to abstain from harm or violence to all earth's creatures'. Followers of the Hindu faith believe embracing this ideal will lead to a better way of life. Our hotel stands as a reminder to our valued guests and the people of the world that Bali is a gentle island with caring inhabitants. The Ahimsa is situated in the heart of vibrant cosmopolitan Seminyak. Choose from sixteen private villas, ranging from one to three bedroom. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The Ahimsa Estate features five luxury villas comprising 2 one bedroom pool villa, 2 two bedroom pool villa and 1 three bedroom pool villa. Our villas have all the superior appointments of the Seminyak Villas but incorporate a more contemporary architectural treatment. Located 5 minutes walking from Seminyak Beach-just off Bali's most fashionable street for dining and entertainment. Jalan Oberoi - next to famous restaurant Kudeta, Ahimsa Estate affords guests all the pleasures they seek for the ultimate Bali experience. The Ahimsa Beach boasts eleven luxury villas situated 150 meters from one of Bali's best swimming beaches and only a stones throw from the Four Seasons resort and spa. The Ahimsa Beach consists of seven one-bedroom, two two-bedroom and two three-bedroom exquisitely appointed villas fitted with the air and essence that have made Ahimsa hotels one of the most popular boutique style hotels on the island. En-suite bathrooms, full-service kitchen, state -of-the art entertainment systems, open plan lounge and dining areas, ensure your every need is catered for. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The use of local materials in the choice of interior fitments ensures the indelible spirit of Bali is captured in all its grace and beauty. Dining is a pleasure at The Ahimsa where a team of culinary experts will prepare a la carte breakfast every morning for guests as well as any special meal requests for nights spent relaxing in your own villa. Experience a better way of life The villas are constructed in a style that combines the very best of traditional Balinese architecture with luxurious Western amenities. This combination places the Ahimsa hotels the forefront of this beautiful island's boutique -style accommodation. Honeymooners, discerning travelers or families can look forward to the guest services the Ahimsa has become famous for, including secure private accommodation, in villa spa, beauty treatments, the famous Ahimsa Barbecue, a well-equipped business centre, personal tour guides and sight seeing packages plus much more. Travel arrangements, tours and cruises can all be organized by the resort's staff for guests. Popular activities include scuba diving, snorkeling and rafting. Whether you stay at THE AHIMSA, THE AHIMSA ESTATE or THE AHIMSA BEACH, you will enjoy the best this magical island has to offer and as a result - discover a better way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
The Ahimsa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahimsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.