We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Michelin star food at good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solata Bali

Solata Bali
Sunset Road 98, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8699968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 305 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Solata Restaurant serve special fine dining menus, which combines the remarkable skill of its Resident Executive Chef: Italian Michelin Starred Chef Ezio Gritti, with the abundance variety and richness of local ingredients - Seats are very limited, and reservation in advance is required.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Michelin star food at good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was a crowning experience for our maiden trip to Bali. We had tried the chefs creations in savour Singapore 2014 and liked his creations, so we thought why not try it at his very own restaurant. The grilled barramundi was so much better at the restaurant than at the festival.

We were not disappointed with the food though I can't say that all courses were hits. The feeling about the food was that the chef wanted to bring about natural flavours, And this was present in the mixed mushroom and truffle ravioli. There was an element of the Al dente in the pasta so it came across as a little stiff.

We weren't too fanatical on the beef cube roll as there was no strong flavour and hence not understanding the chef's intentions for the dish.

Service was typically warm and hospitable and this was typical of service all over Bali.

The ambience and decor of the place had a rustic feel and was perfect for couples.

Well done Solata!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solata P, Manager at Solata Bali, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Russel,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review for Solata.

Chef Ezio Gritti indeed always try to highlight the natural flavor of the ingredients in his cuisine, and we are glad that you understand his food philosophy.

Your feedback about the Beef Cube Roll will be passed accordingly to the Chef, and we definitely look forward for you next visit.

With kind regards,

Rui Auxillia
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicate and tasty, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

As part of our one-week holiday in Bali in January 2014, we decided to have at least one fancy dinner in a romantic place. We had to decide among all the restaurants and in the end we heard about this newly opened restaurant, with italian michelin star chef. We decided to give it a try, and we can well say that we enjoyed the experience!

The location is wonderful, we got a large table in a spacious room, with low intensity lights and local icons and frames at the walls: very romantic environment. The staff is also very gentle and kind, we never had to ask for water to be served or any another kind of service. Let's say we had all the time we needed to ejot this memorable location (and our romantic night as dinner!).

Of course we had big expectation about the dinner itself, and as expected we were not disappointed at all! All the dishes were fantastic, a perfect combination of european tradition and balinese ingredients! We also loved Casoncelli (home made pasta with meat filling, apparently a typical dish from the chef original place, Bergamo) and the dessert (caramel banana, wonderful!). In the end the chef, Ezio Gritti, came at our table to introduce himself and we had a quick conversation. He seems a very enthusiastic person with an open-minded idea of the cuisine: combine italian style with belinese ingredients seems to work perfectly here!

We loved it so much that we considered to have another dinner in the same place, too bad it was our last night in Bali!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“What a joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Our attention was pulled on sunset road by a "spanduk" (textile banner) telling us that an Italian chef, with a michelin star, had opened his doors.
As we are always looking for new dining experiences we made a reservation.
Long story short...far from a michelin star experience what you get there...
They have just set menus, which shouldnt be a problem, but what we got was not good.
Poor wine list, and on top of that, the bubbles which they serve is prosecco only, and is served in a red wine glass. The same glass they used for the white wine we ordered...
Their gnocchi, was half coocked, and decorated with 2 shrimps...tasteless! Something came by which reminded me to the fishfingers my kids get when we are too lazy to cook for them..the squid soup, was a kind of minestrone, no creativity at all.
The desert was the final touch, which really closed the door...stuffed cookies, with 2 pieces of fresh banana beside.
Price for a chef set menu, 1,2 mio ruppiah...which is far above balinese standards. This compared with the quality and creativity of the plates makes this experience a bad one..
All in one line with their way of pulling your attention...spanduk!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over cooked snapper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Went here as part of the Bali food safari on first looks I thought we were headed into a compound but once inside it really surprised me not what I was expecting unfortunately they overcooked the snapper so it was really try but understand they have not been open long so I am sure they will get better

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow , a michelin chef in Bali .What do we ask for !. Lovely place to test an amazing rank of food. Warm environnement . The food was delighted , texty and well presented. I had dinner there the staffs are well trainned , You will be surronded by an amazing antique furniture . The best thing was every time you finished one dishe ,you will be asking yourself if the next one will be better!! and guest what , it will be .Every dishes have their flavour . I do recommend Solata to all visitors .One of the best food in Bali.Any purpose is good to have a dinner at Solata. so don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solata Bali also viewed

 

Been to Solata Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solata Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.