We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Holiday Resort
Save
You added Bali Holiday Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Abimanyu, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
newcastle
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

On our last 2 trips to Bali we stayed at the Bali Holiday Resort.
The first time we all loved it ,the staff were great rooms were fine had a blast [5 yrs ago] decided to go back. Big mistake towels were filthy toilet leaked all over bathroom floor no pool bar food nearly did away with husband green pool power points hanging out off wall big big disappointment. After visiting resort last year it looks even worse,
.

  • Disliked — It was very dirty
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

The people were not friendly, our room was dirty. No towels had to ask for bed for my kids. Stayed the one night and checked out and went to a other resort never again. And l have been to bali heaps of times looks good on internet beware?

  • Disliked — The room was so dirty
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This was the first time I went to Bali so I wasn't expecting too much - and just as well. The pillows were dirty, the drains in the bathroom would overflow in the evening and the service was very average. Do not eat at this hotel unless you would like a good dose of Bali-belly too. We made the best of the holiday (even though we got sick), and I will go back to Bali but this time in a different hotel. This one needs a complete overhall - especially the food! Oh and whatever you do - don't buy your drinks here, they charged us more than anywhere else did. Overall the Balinese people are lovely and this hotel has a great location, it just needs to be maintained!

  • Liked — safe deposit box
  • Disliked — the rest
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

My husband and I spend 10 wonderful days in Bali at this old but peaceful resort. This was our first trip to Bali, and needless to say, having heard some horror stories, we did alot of research. I read the reviews ont he Bali Holiday Resort only after I booked the non refundable holiday, so needless to say, I panicked when iI read how terrible the resort was. "I didnt know Trip Advisor existed!" Anyway, we thought, bugger it, what's done is done, so we simply hoped for the best. In hindsight, we were worried for nothing, the hotel is brilliant. Old, needs a pick me up, but dont expect more for a 3 star people. Its you that makes the holiday, not the hotel. On arrival to the resort at midnight, we were very overwhellemd. The darkeness, the caos, the driving. I think this had more to do with it being our first time in Bali rather than the hotel. We had booked a Superior room but they were going to put us in a standard. At request, the desk staff upgraded us immediately and took care of everything. At first glance we were not impressed with the hotel. In the morning we woke to beautiful hot, sunny Bali weather. It had rained earlier in the morning so the gardens from our balcony looked clean, fresh and pretty. Our room was large, clean and cool. The sheets and towles were clean and the floors were spottless. The only thing I really wanted were heavy, dark curtains so I could sleep in, I cant handle light in the morning. The food was also great, didnt get sick once and ate like a pig. Although not many have dinner there, we did a few times and it was wonderful every time. As far as we were concerned, there was a clean, large pool, an airconditioner and Bali all around us. The location is supurb and you realy get a feel for the locals there. Helen, the resort massues is a gem and has the best hands. $6 Australian for an hour, we were getting one a day. Shooter, our barman was the best and really, all the staff were wonderful. They catered to all our requests, including bringing us a DVD player so we could test all the movies we bought and to watch a couple late at night also. We would stay up late with the staff at night and watch the soccer with them in the resteraunt and drink and go for midnight swims. The girls and guys ont he beach right in front of the resort are the most beautifyl people, Sandra, Lilly, Jenny, Grasshopper, Chicago, all wonderful and kind people. We speant many an afternoon down there drinking Bintang with them and getting henna tattos and $3 foot masages. Say hi from John and Nia if you meet them. The beach is clean, it's just the sand is dark so it looks dirty, but it's not. We went in but really with the pool, we didnt even think about the beach, we had everything we needed in the resort. On Sundays all the locals come down there about 4pm to play, rest and swim. From nothing all of a sudden there were hundreds of people having fun. We all joined in their beach soccer games and met all their kids. The restauraunts and clubs are around the corner and were all fantastic. transport was never a problem, we always found a cab out the front of Benny's resteraunt, also a great place to eat. Benny's is a 1 minute walk from the front of the resort. Just turn left when you go out. We learnt quickly not to take anything other than the Bluebell cabs with meters in them. Dont leave your valuablues in you room, the hotel has safe deposit boxes int he lobby which are locked and manned day and night. Much safer and gives you peace of mind. We kept money and passports there. Overall, we can truely say that although the resort was run down, it was clean, professional and safe. It had a pool, good food and aiconditioning in our room. The location was second to none and the people some of the best we've met. We would definately go back to this resort, but we might ask for a front bungalow which have been updated, just to add that touch of luxury. Sorry we couldn't add photos, wehavent downloaded them. Bali is what it is my friends, if you want 5 star luxury, go to a 5 star resort. J&N

  • Liked — Clean large room, big beds
  • Disliked — Curtains not heavy enough
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Just home from a few weeks in Bali, and our third stay at Bali Holiday esort.
We had a large group of family and friends - 23 all up. We have chosen this hotel in the past with our kids as we just love the location, right on the beach, and a fairly quiet neightbourhood behind. It has a great pool, is very relaxing, food always average, and rooms always a bit on the scummy side, but cheap and a great base for our holidays in the past. A couple of great staff members, and the nicest women ever selling jewellery etc straight in front of the hotel.
However.......the place has really gone to the pack now. We were put into standard rooms,even though we had paid for superior months before. The rooms were not clean, but the sheets were the best part - all were dirty, some with charming long black haris, and several with FRESH BLOOD! Lovely.
One person had their tickets, passport and money stolen from the room which was a nightmare to reorganise. Management wouldn't allow police to visit the property - whad to travel to the police station, but that was handy in the end as one of the policemen at the station kindly offered to sell us his gun for 1 million rupiah!!!!
The whole stay there was marred by one thing after the other, and sadly, we won't be going back, not even to see lovely Made at the front desk.
We heard that the hotel is being sold in December, and the staff may lose their jobs, which is extremely sad. WE really hope that someone will buy the place and clean it up - the position is truly superb, and there is so much potential. Maybe paying decent wages to the staff would be a good first step.....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Filthy rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We have stayed at the Bali Hloiday Resort twice in the last few years and have certainly noticed that it is getting a bit tired and needs a revamp. But what it does offer is a friendly peaceful environment that is close to great restuarants, shopping and friendly locals. We also chose to stay here because it was one of the few places that accomodated 2 adults and 2 children in the 1 room. Our room both times was very large and clean. It is imoportant to upgrade to a superior room and you can even email them direct and request your favourite room if its available( we like upstairs and on the end so less noise). We have always found the staff very friendly and helpful. The resort is right on the beach which is great. There are plenty of locals who hassle you as soon as you hit the beach or yell out prices to you from over the fence but this adds to the fun and is what bali is really about. The children spent hours bartering with the locals from the safety of the resort and would just walk away from the fence when they had had enough. Bali Holiday Resort is close to lots of great restaurants that were very cheap, service was always brilliant. Try a different one each night! If your feeling game try lunch on the beach with the locals. Most days we would have soup with lots of noodles that cost about 50cents. It was great sitting down and chatting with the local people and learning about their lives.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — needs some upgrading
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

we went to bali holiday resort in seminyak,, rock hard beds ,dim lighting in rooms couldnt see or read ,service slack they lost my room key after i left it with them charged us for drinks in minibar fridge we didnt use, no bar open at night ran out of beer may of been good years ago but had it now would never return there wouldnt even rate this one beware

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Holiday Resort

Address: Jalan Abimanyu, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Bali Holiday Hotel Seminyak
Bali Holiday Resort Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.