We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and super wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Win!
Ranked #35 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and super wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stay in this hotel for 5 days in Feb 2013 with our big family from Germany. The hotel is fantastic. The pool with the beach view is absolutely stunning. The breakfast is the winner from any other hotel we have ever stayed. The breakfast has sooo many choices and it tastes very good. Their restaurant Husk,we tried so many foods and the whole family said it was very very delicious. Seminyak beach is direct infront of the hotel and the hotel have private access to the beach. We can sunbathing everyday and can jump direct to the beach and no need a long walk to the beach. Its totally different to kuta where we must cross the roads first to get to the beach. Our hotel gave us more privacy and its very relaxing. They have two pools, one in garden pool and the other is main pool direct with beach view. The hotel fills with a wonderful garden everything looks perfect and green. The staff are so friendly and helpful and their understanding for english is very good. The housekeeping cleans the room very very clean and really well maintained. Our family really really enjoy our trip in Bali. Its really a five star hotel and the price is worthed for what we have got. I have no complaints at all and all of us back home with smile on the face. Thank you The Royal Beach Seminyak.. you made our trip wonderful! :)

Nolle family

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's always a real pleasure to receive such nice comments. We are delighted to know that all your family enjoyed our facilities, restaurant and services.

Our staff is working day after day to provide you an exclusive service ; therefore I will share your comment with them and I am sure that your review will even more motivate them to continuous improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for your kind comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming your back in the next future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    541
    148
    37
    22
See reviews for
351
746
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

One needs to be active and tune ones stay in a hotel in order to get everything going properly.

This was our second hotel in Bali. The plan was to spend four night in a pre-booked hotel and do some hotel hunting. As we are well aware of Sofitel quality and this used to be a Sofitel, we put this hotel on our list. After looking at some other places we took a taxi to Royal Beach. We asked to be shown some superior and deluxe rooms. A very nice lady took us around to see the rooms and we were happy with what we saw. I went to their internet corner and booked the room at a very reasonable price. This was another reason for booking just days before. In the end we saved about 50 euros per day.

Two days later we moved to this hotel and were given our room. It was not one we had been shown, but similar and also a deluxe version. Everything looked good and we were escorted to our room by hotel PR manager. She said that we could contact her whenever we had problems. We did not think that we needed that...

After a fun day at the pool and beach we returned to our room. I opened the fridge and everything was warm. Light was on, so it was working or at least plugged in. I thought that had just been switched on and I would let it have some more hours to cool down.
We went for dinner and later came back to the room. It seemed warm although we came from the hot evening air. We turned the A/C to a lower number and thought that it would actually work. Well, it did not. I had a wrist watch that showed the temperature, which was 26C. A bit too much for a scandinavian... We called the reception and waited for help. After walking to the reception we got a maintenance man to our room to look at the A/C. He could not fix it and after getting a call from a duty manager we were moved to another room. It was about 300m farther away and in the second floor while our original was in the third floor. Well at least it was cool there and we could sleep.

In the morning we went to see our friend and explained the situation to her. We told her the problems we had had and that we wanted our original room or similar. After a while she told that they have one room available to us for our stay. We were upgraded to a deluxe room and she took us to see the room.
We were happy with it after of course checking the fridge and the A/C. Then back to the room to repack our bags to move again.

After that we did not have to move again as we were happy with the room. Everytime we saw our friend she asked, if we were happy. To which we replied "Yes" with a smile.

The hotel itself was very good. You just have to make sure that you get a room that you like. The gardens and pool area are very lovely. The hotel also has a part of the "beach" for itself. This is not very common in Bali. They have sundecks on grass right next to the beach and you can look at the sea,
but still be in peace as the people selling all kinds of things cannot get to you. I would also recommend to watch the sunset at the pool restaurant and enjoy the drinks during the happy hour. The food was excellent here especially the tuna.

Some things in the restaurant could be improved. The service is not the fastest and the waiters do not really keep a lookout for people needing attention. The same behavior was evident the breakfast buffet. In other hotels our used plates were taken away promptly and coffee/tea was served without delay.
Here we had to move the plates aside and also flag a waiter to bring us coffee. Otherwise the buffet was sumptuous with fruit, bread, western and local food.

Other services worth mentioning are the shuttles and the spa. Shuttles are a free option to get to Seminyak square or Kuta Square. Not much to see in Seminyak square, but Kuta and anything in between is worth visiting. You can even get off the shuttle on the way to Kuta (e.g. Legian).
The spa only deserves to be mentioned because of the pricing. We did not visit it, but the pricing was way too high. They did not even have discounts during the low season although customers were few and far between.

All in all the hotel was very good and we will surely stay there, when we visit Bali the next time.

Room Tip: Take a room from the third floor close to the reception. Rooms 341-365 are at least good. We saw 36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your holiday.

I have noted your comments regarding the A/C trouble and I have immediately shared your remark with the head of department concerned for his awareness and further action. Please allow to express my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your valuable holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at the Royal Beach in Seminyak.
This was my fifth time at the complex and my partners 1st.

The staff as usual were lovely, friendly and helpful.
The room was immaculate and each day after house keeping they did a really great job.
Loved the efficient hotel taxi service and reasonable prices!

I did have an issue with the room this trip and that was the dimness of the lights. I found the room to be a little gloomy at times - it would be great to see the rooms painted a lighter colour (they are currently a deep orange) and have the lights brightened because when your at the back of the resort with minimal light coming in it can feel a bit depressing.

Aircon was fantastic and I was never too hot. Bathroom lovely, clean and relatively modern.

Breakfast great, huge selection and very consistent.

I cannot say enough about the convenience of this location. A perfect distance to the hub of seminyak, close to Canngu and not too far to enjoy a party night in Kuta.

The beach access was fantastic - if you head to the left of the beach theres wonderful little warungs to get a drink and watch the sunset on a beanbag.

Great hotel would reccomend to anyone.

Note; have travelled to this hotel with family/friends and as a couple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to post such a nice comment on TripAdvisor. Nothing better than knowing that our Royal Repeaters enjoyed their holiday with us.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing once more our resort for your holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berowra Waters, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

In Feb 2013 my daughter and I travelled to Bali staying at The Royal Beach Seminyak, Our room was excellent, tastefully decordated, extremely comfortable, close to the garden pool was a plus, but we were some distance from main pool/breakfast area - but no problem. Grounds perfectly maintained. Service was high standard. Only draw back was walking from the driveway entrance you look straight at one of the demolision sites (perhaps building site) however very unattractive. Bit of a distance from 'the action and shoppping' - needed to take a taxi due to humidity. The free one hour massage at the resort is quite good except they will encourage you to take an extra 15 mins for A$16 - which seems good value until you pay A$4 for full our in external massage places. Breakfast was very good. Has 4 restaurants, however, they all seemed to serve the exact same food for lunch and dinner aside from some special events, which again were way above the cost of eating out at little cafes/restaurants. The warm welcome was good and nothing was any trouble for any of the staff. Very polite, friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a well positioned room and in the new part. Have heard of their being an olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your valuable holiday in Bali.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and what delightful staff. Stayed here for 6 nights on the way back from Australia and it exceeded our expectations. The gardens and pools are lovely and very peaceful (we stayed in Feb so may be busier in high season). room was spacious and service every where was excellent. Hotel is right on the beach and they also provide a free bus service into both Seminyak and Kuta. Free wi-fi throughout the resort is a massive bonus for me so well done there. Could not recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room and had some noise from upstairs so go for top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to post such a nice and detailed comment regarding your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your holiday.

Memorable experiences are what we strive to provide day after day to our Royal guests; so your compliments are always welcomed.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this wonderful relaxing hotel in February. Could not fault it for the price. Check in was punctual - we had arrived well before normal check in time of 2pm however the staff got us in early and upgraded us to a Grand Deluxe room which was lovely. The layout of the hotel means that the rooms are well spread out from each other. Yes it was a long walk from the lobby but it also meant it was very quiet. And after all we are on holidays - where is the rush, enjoy the walk. Our room was very close to the second elevator which meant we were only seconds away from the garden pool which is the second quieter pool on the other side of the hotel. But the walk was not an issue for us. The room was huge - air con perfect, beds and pillows really comfy, The room people would lay your slippers out each night when they came to turn down - nice touch. There was a balcony with plenty of room for two - table and chairs provided. Bathroom was great - separate shower - plenty of room for toiletries. Grounds are lovely - very peaceful and tranquil. Pool lounges were plentiful - many different spots to chose from. Poolside service prompt great - be aware that the pizzas were huge - even for 2 people to share - they are a meal in themselves! The breakfast was one of the best I have had - atmosphere in the restaurant great - piano player set the mood. The variety of the buffet was excellent and the egg station very efficient. Normally I am not a fan of large hotel breakfast buffets but this one was a winner. The hotel is on the beach - fabulous spot for a morning or evening walk. The location of a hotel is also great - opposite Gado Gado and a short walk from the Seminyak beach strip of restaurants towards Legian. Turn the other way and you are a five minute beach walk from Ku De Ta,. Perfect spot. There are also several excellent small places close to the hotel - $10 for two people - excellent food. We are regular travellers to Bali (2-3 times a year) and this was probably the best value for money place we have stayed in yet. Regulars to Padma, Mandira etc but this location is far better. Cannot wait to return in August.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your valuable holiday in Bali.

Our staff is working day after day to provide you an exclusive service ; therefore I will share your comment with them and I am sure that your review will even more motivate them to continuous improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel location is great, just a few minutes from Legian, Kuta and Seminyak, it's ver easy if you' want to go shopping or eat outside the hotel.
The pool is awesome, the beach pool view directly to the beach, and the garden pool is even more exciting because it's quite and the whirlpool is very nice, and the hotel has a provate beach, which is part of the Seminyak beach, very nice!.
It's the room and some parts of the hotel need to be re-furnished. It looks old, the furniture in the room and the lift for example. The buffet menu in the restaurant also needs to be more varied.
But overall, we love to stay in this hotel and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind words and taking the time to post such a nice and constructive comment on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your valuable holiday in Bali with us.

Memorable experiences are what we strive to provide day after day to our Royal guests; so your compliments are always welcomed.

I have noted your comment regarding the Hotel need to be re-furnished and I am pleased to inform you that we have an upcoming refreshment project to maintain our standard and the reasons why we are known around the World.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing once more our resort for your holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.