We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WIN a Villa Spa Retreat!
Ranked #33 of 96 hotels in Seminyak
Darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

When we booked online the hotel took a double payment .
When it was brought to their attention they agreed they had and said they would do a refund immediately.
So far we have not received a refund and I am starting to doubt the integrity of the hotels management.
As a member of the Accor group of hotels I am surprised they could be so careless in their management.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, General Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame, first of all I do apologize for the late response.
we usually process immediately any refund and we also keep inform directly the guest via email.
It is not our custom to hold any payment which went into our system just because of the fact something went wrong through the transaction.
Usually the refund can take up to maximum 3 weeks and depends on the period it is happening as well. During the actual Holiday season may need more time but for sure the refund is being processed from our side.
Hope while I am replying to You the fund is already in your account. Thank You for you understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    497
    143
    35
    21
See reviews for
331
684
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bronte
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Have stayed here a few times and found it to "tick the boxes". Its smallest rooms are a bit of a squeeze however the next size up are perfect. I love the pool area with the beach in the background and shaded deck chairs - that works well. The gym is a bit ordinary and could do with an update. The breakfast service is a little less flash than other 5 star resorts however is adequate. The location and situation are excellent. Overall, a notch or 2 below the other 5 star resorts in Seminyak however its probably a bit cheaper - nonetheless it is still a great place to hang about and relax.

Room Tip: the 48 sq m rooms are much better than the 40 sq m rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It has been a pleasure to receive a constructive feedback from you.

We have passed on this valuable feedback to the related team in order to provide better service in the future. Moreover, we thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience encountered during your stay at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we shall look forward to welcoming you on your return at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali.

Yours sincerely,

Hendrika Monalisa
Public Relations Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic resort that will always impress weather it be a couple or family wanting a relaxing holiday.
Service is top class and facilities are 5 star, rooms are of a good size and beds are like sleeping on a cloud.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I shared your feedback with the team and everyone is delighted that you enjoyed your visit in our beautiful resort. It is so motivational for the team to know when guests enjoy their experience.

I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon, and in this respect, please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to let me know about your experience. We shall look forward to welcoming you on your return at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali.

Yours sincerely,

Hendrika Monalisa
Public Relations Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali is an excellent hotel and great location. The pool / beach bar has a happy hour between 5 and 7pm with half price cock tails and draught beer with good bar service.

The rooms are some what dated but clean and comfortable bed for a great night sleep

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for writing about us following your stay and it is wonderful news that you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali.

We are all absolutely delighted that you relished such a memorable happy hour in the pool overlooking the sunset.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future, and in the meantime I send you my warmest wishes from The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali.

Yours sincerely,

Hendrika Monalisa
Public Relations Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great hotel and great staff!
The rooms are very clean, and all the amenities are great, great pool and bar service around the recreational area.
The hotel manager in duty was super helpful.
The structure of the hotel it's also very nice, I'll recommend this hotel for couples and families. The beach area is clean and waters are a bit more calm that other areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali, and I am delighted that you enjoyed our services.

I very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon, and in this respect please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order that I can personally oversee your arrangements to ensure a wonderful visit.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Hendrika Monalisa
Public Relations Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The things that stand out the most at the Royal Beach were the amazing staff and the beautiful grounds. Add a good room and a beach-front location and you've got a winning combination.

Every day it was a delight to walk through the gardens to the restaurants, pools and (our favorite) the beach-front sun loungers. The ocean breeze and the sound of the waves were very relaxing. Loved the swimming pools too; the 'garden pool' was a quiet, secluded, almost exclusive retreat; the larger pool near the beach offered great views of the beach.

The food was very good and not much more expensive than near-by restaurants. We especially enjoyed the outdoor restaurant between - and with a view of - the pool and the beach.

For transportation, don't even bother negotiating a fare with the taxi drivers outside the hotel. The price of the hotel's own fleet is 25,000 (€ 2) within Seminyak. Try getting this from a local taxi (admittedly we tipped the hotel's driver 5,000).

As has been pointed out, the wifi signal varies; sometimes it was gone, at other times it was good enough to video Skype. Even in the beach-front sun loungers I had fairly good wifi signal. And what's more, it was free of charge.

In conclusion, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali, and I am delighted that you enjoyed our pools, garden, the spa and all services and found the team to be helpful.

I very much appreciate your kind comments about the service, which I will be very happy to share with the team.

Thank you again for writing about us and I hope to meet you in person very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hendrika Monalisa
Public Relations Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, ACCOR, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.