We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel great location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 92 hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel great location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Royal Beach from the 9th to 19th of September in a Deluxe king size room. The hotel is an older style, which we loved as it had the worn in look and character rather than some of the glitzy newer ones up the beach, which looked rather sterile when we checked them out. I would say it is more a 4.5 star than 5 star hotel which is prefect for us.
The room was enormous and kept clean everyday, we were on the ground floor away from the main part of the hotel so it was nice and quiet and felt like we had the garden almost to ourselves. The grounds are wonderful to just wonder around in and enjoy the greenery and wildlife.
The beach front pool was perfect for our needs, we are not one for just lying about in the sun so we would head off each day and then return to the hotel about 3 and then head to the pool and so never had a problem getting a lounge in a position we wanted. The hotel fronts out onto the beach and is close to all the local shops and restaurants and bars.
The service is fantastic, everyone is very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We especially appreciated being able to store our luggage and take advantage of a shower on our check out day as our flight didn't leave until the evening.
As their are so many great and varied restaurants on the area we didn't eat in the hotel, out only comment would be that the linen and towels are probably due for a refresh.
We had a really good stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have so much more space than the superior and are not that much more in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Greeting from The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali, a member of the MGallery Collection.

We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Memorable experiences are what we strive to provide day after day to our Royal guest ; so your compliments are always welcomed.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your valuable holiday.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    486
    137
    33
    20
See reviews for
310
667
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I am very fussy when it comes to hotels. I usually spend the first hour looking at different rooms before getting one I like. This was NOT the case at Royal Beach. Beautiful rooms, great service, beautiful gardens and right on beach. Breakfasts excellent quality and choice.
I could not find a fault! Lovely - we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

We thank you very much for posting such a nice comment on TripAdvisor and for selecting The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time with us. I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure it will motivate them to provide services above expectation. However, regarding the Internet connection, I deeply apology for the inconvenience caused.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the resort and making your stay even more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 6 days 5 nights at The Royal Beach Seminyak thinking that it would be a great hotel centrally located with service excellence but we were very disappointed. We stayed in a Deluxe room last August and we booked directly via the hotel. When we checked-in at 2pm sharp, the room was not ready and we had to wait 1 hour (with our 3 months old baby). Then, the requested babycot was not in the room when we entered; so we asked for it and when the housekeeping staff set it up, there was no mattress; so we had to ask for a thick blanket to replace the mattress as according to them, it was completely normal not to have a matress........."mattress, tidak ada".
And I think what got on our nerves was the cleanliness of our room in general during our stay: they were not doing the dust and especially in the bathroom and the shower was not clean either. Of course, you can add the fact that they were not refilling the shower gel and shampoo every day eventhough it was empty but they were providing at least 5 bottles of body lotion instead. Sometimes, we had no face towels..

Anyway, just a big disappointment for such a high standard hotel.
We will definitely not come back again.

Note: The location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. I am deeply sorry to hear that your experience did not entirely meet your expectation. please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Regarding your babycot issue and cleanliness of the room, I have immediately reported your comment to the Head of department concerned for her awareness and further action to prevent any occurrence in the future.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

By far, the best hotel we have stayed at. Would recommend it for couples or groups of friends on a trip away. There are a lot of cheaper hotels in Bali, but if you are happy to pay for 5 star, then this is the place for you. We did get a good deal at the hotel so we felt we got super value for money.

What we loved:
Rooms - amazing! So spacious and luxurious. Have your own balocony overlooking the hotel gardens which are gorgeous.
Bathrooms - Luxiry again. And the bathroom amenities... I was in heaven! Everything you could think of accept mouthwash and dental floss.
Service - The staff are such lovely people and so accomodating. Nothing is ever a problem and they are so friendly. I was ill one day and the Guest Service person (Desi who I did not get to persoanlly thank), sent a card to the room wishing me to get well soon with a complimentary meal. As I was not able to leave the room and was starving by the time I received Desi's gift, it was so well appreciated and just what I needed!
Cleaniness - The place is spotless.
The wild life - the hotel is a sancutary for Monitor lizards and the place is full of birds, fish and other little animals to got looking for. Just amazing!
Food - the food at the hotel was excellent. You pay only a little more than you would outside but the quality is second to none.
Location - The section of beach that the hotel has is fantastic and not as dangerous as other parts of Seminyak beach. A short walk to Ku Te Da. Definitely of beautiful location.

Room for improvement? Almost nothing. They only thing we would recommend is updating the shower heads in the rooms to better ones. The current ones are pretty harsh and make washing long hair difficult.

I would highly recommend The Royal Beach Seminyak and we personally will not be staying anywhere else in Bali.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are perfect and facing the Garden pool are lovely as you can see all the wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to post such a nice and detailed comment on Trip Advisor. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Memorable experiences are what we strive to provide day after day to our Royal guest ; so your compliments are always welcomed.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your valuable holiday.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently visited Bali for part business, part family holiday. We had booked 2 rooms as there were 6 of us and we hoped that they would be adjoining although they were unable to guarantee it. On our arrival we were upgraded to the most amazing room, the Garden Suite, a 2 storey, 2 brm room with lounge, dining, kitchenette & pool. It was my mums first time in Bali and she loved the whole experience! The kids had a great time in the pool in our room and also the main pool. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and the location was perfect right on the beach. The breakfast every morning was delicious as was all the food we had from the restaurant. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

We are so thrilled to hear that you loved your stay in our exclusive Two bedrooms Garden Suite. We really appreciate your kinds words towards the resort and your whole experience with us.

I will share your comments with our team and I am sure your review will serve as an encouragement for the staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it's our hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is just beautiful. It is a BIG resort though. The rooms are great and spacious with the most comfiest bed I think I have ever had in a hotel! We were in Room 551 and had a cute little balcony over looking the fish pond and gardens.

Great location right on the beach on the border of Legian/Seminyak, which is great as the hotel food and drinks are quite expensive so being able to walk down to the beach cafes for a $4 lunch is great! You can see the beach from the pool which is lovely.

Staff are beautiful and will do anything for you. They even randomly knocked on our door one afternoon just to check that we were happy with everything! I couldn't fault this place, I may not be in a rush to come back as it is expensive and I prefer smaller more boutique type hotels but we still LOVED our stay at Royal Beach.

Thank you to the staff :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind words and for selecting once more The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday.

Nothing better than knowing our Royal Guest enjoyed their holiday with us.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure it will motivate them to provide services above expectation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.