We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lovely Royal...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Win!
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Lovely Royal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the Royal Beach and am still in love! We travelled as a family of 4, 2 adults, 2 children and had booked a 2 bedroom villa. We were upgraded on arrival and were thrilled to be accommodated in a much larger villa than expected with our own pool, spa and loads of room.
Staff at this resort are always so friendly, making a point of remembering the kids names and showing them attention at every opportunity. We were happy to once again meet up with Ari the food and beverage manager who we had come to know last year, he is always so attentive to the kids and always making sure we were happy with our meals etc, really professional and yet so down to earth and friendly, the perfect mix.
Breakfasts are AMAZING..I find it funny when people say 'breakfast is the same each day'...well, it is, but thats because it covers every possibility! Theres Japanese breakfast, egg station, pancakes, pastries, a fruit bar, fresh bircher and granola (both the best I've ever eaten) and the usual bacon etc...I can't think of anything thats missing from the breakfast buffet and we always walked away full - very happy.
We ate a few other meals in the resort as well (we are Accor members so we get discounts on food and beverage) but even without the discounts the meals are really reasonable for a 4.5 star resort. In particular the Tapas night on a Tuesday was amazing, it was about 6 courses of tapas from various regions (Mediterranean, Japanese, Indonesian etc) and it was all DELICIOUS! Pizza at Capris is also fantastic and we dined at Husk on our last night which was very impressive...seriously with all the hype surrounding some of the 'must eat at' places some of them don't even compare to what this resort can offer, and its beachfront so you've still got the sunsets!
I was impressed to see they are utilising the grassy area between the resort and the beach now by putting more lounges there and also some massage huts. I don't normally do massages at the resort because they're typically over priced and not great but on this occasion I caved in because of a special offer and it was the best massage I had all holidays...my husband and I both went back twice more, we used the outdoor massage huts rather than the spa so we could listen to the ocean and get the sea breeze, it was superb! Dyan (Diane?) was our masseuse of choice and I'd highly recommend her!!
The resort is older style without question - but thats why I like it, the gardens are beautiful and its a really peaceful place to stay whilst being on the beach and walking distance to great shopping as well as places like KuDeTa and La lucciola .
I could go on about this resort all day but I'll stop now! If you'd like more information shoot me a message, I'm happy to chat about it, needless to say I'd happily recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to post such a nice and detailed comment on Trip Advisor. We are so thrilled to hear that once more you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Memorable experiences are what we strive to provide day after day to our Royal guest ; so your compliments are always welcomed.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your valuable holiday.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    542
    148
    37
    22
See reviews for
351
746
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights at the Royal beach on the 7th Sept. 12. From being collected at 2am from the airport to checking out - everything was faultless.

The staff are so friendly from the person in the garden to the bar staff at the pool!

Front beach access is a winner too when staying in Seminyak !
Will definitely stay with the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to receive such compliments. .

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our Royal Guests that is beyond expectation; so your feedback are important for us. I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week in august 2012, whist the hotel is ok, we were left scratching our heads trying to work out why we’d chosen to stay at this hotel and in this location with what’s available in this part of the world remembering that it wasn’t exactly a cheap option. It felt like being at a package hotel in europe.

Positives: staff were great at all levels, beautiful gardens and lawns fronting the beach, lots of places to eat and shop within a short/cheap taxi ride, the room wasn’t a bad standard (apart from the air conditioning), good in room wifi (patchy out of room) .

Negatives: there’s not enough room or beds around the pool or on the lawns which meant folk getting up early to reserve beds, this is the place for you if you want to wake up thinking ‘will i get a sunbed today?. Despite fronting onto the beach the hotel doesn’t have any beds on the beach, you have to hire these from the local vendors if you want one.

There was no air conditioning in the fitness rooms despite four complaints to management for action, I gave up in the end.

Drinks are expensive around the pool, if you’re going to spend the day here this will be painful. Beer from the local vendors was one third of the cost.

The area and beach is busy.....it’s not a relaxing place to be or take a stroll. Outside of the hotel there’s a continual row of bikes and taxis papping their horns for your trade.

Philosophically It could have been worse, we did have a nice time overall.

Restaurants outside the hotel we liked all round; mantra, biku & mannekepis

Restaurants that were just ok: sardine (nice food, rushed service and very expensive), gado gado (next door, nice food, but service bombed at the end of the night). la luccia (food ok, full of big groups..what was all the fuss about?).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am deeply sorry to hear that your experience did not entirely meet your expectation.

Regarding the sunbeds by the pool, I apologies for the inconvenience caused. Eventhough we strive to provide a lot of loungers and inform our guest that they can't reserve the space, we can't afford that some guests keep them straight in the morning.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We hope that you will consider staying at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent a few nights here on a fast tour of Asia. We liked this property very much. The room was comfortable and the bed was very nice. The buffet in the morning was all we could ever ask for. Service was nice, the pool was great and the beach was lovely. The night life and dining was near by and fun..and we always felt safe. We hired a driver right off property who took us all over the place for a very reasonable rate. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive and detailed comments.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our Royal Guests that is beyond expectation; so your feedback are important for us. I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I had a couple of stays at the Royal Beach, once at the beginning and once at the end of our stay in Bali. We went for Grand Deluxe rooms both times though our second one on the third floor was better and bigger than the first on the ground floor - level 1 (which smelt a bit musty on entry). The staff were a credit to the hotel, always pleasant and smiling, right down to cleaning and grounds staff. The location is fantastic, right on the beach with lovely gardens, a real haven if you're out on the streets of Seminyak or Kuta during the day. We ate in the hotel quite a bit and the food was excellent, great range of types of food (local and western), with a great breakfast selection. My only comment would be that the rooms themselves could do with a bit of an upgrade but then it is a bit cheaper than some of the other similar hotels so, all in all, pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed compliments. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive reviews. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, renowned services facilities and restaurants.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our Royal Guests that is beyond expectation; so your feedback are important for us.

Regarding the rooms condition, I pleased to inform you that we have an upcoming refreshment project to maintain our standard.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel was average but nice location t..he food around the pool was a reasonable price although the service very slow.Even though we stayed in a villa we werent informed about the days activities if there were any.We also were not informed about a wedding taking place in front of our villa with noise until midnight.The japanese restaurant was very basic and there was only one decent restaurant used for everything.We felt the hotel needed a good overhaul.Also they had a few buffets on the beach but after the first one we didnt go again because of traipsing through the black sand.There didn't appear to be anything for the children as well.My family are going soon but have advised to stay at Kartika or somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Royal guest,

Thank you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not entirely meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I have share your comment with our team and that we are taking your concerns into account to improve and maintain our standard.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.