We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Win!
Ranked #35 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Royal Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel was average but nice location t..he food around the pool was a reasonable price although the service very slow.Even though we stayed in a villa we werent informed about the days activities if there were any.We also were not informed about a wedding taking place in front of our villa with noise until midnight.The japanese restaurant was very basic and there was only one decent restaurant used for everything.We felt the hotel needed a good overhaul.Also they had a few buffets on the beach but after the first one we didnt go again because of traipsing through the black sand.There didn't appear to be anything for the children as well.My family are going soon but have advised to stay at Kartika or somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Royal guest,

Thank you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not entirely meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I have share your comment with our team and that we are taking your concerns into account to improve and maintain our standard.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    541
    148
    37
    22
See reviews for
351
746
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed there in May 2012 for 4 days. We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a grand deluxe room from our original booking. The resort is huge and one needs to walk a long way from the reception to the room. Fortunately, our room was quite close to the garden pool as well as the restaurant.

Our room was quite large and well appointed. The bathroom was very clean and toiletries were replaced daily. Once the staff got to know we were on our honeymoon, they sent us a complementary cake and fruits which was a nice touch.

The best part of the resort is that it opens out onto the beach. We spent quite a lot of time lazing around on the beach chairs. We used the garden pool since it was quite closer and offered much more privacy. The main pool was too crowded with families. The gardens are very well maintained and one can take a nice stroll in the premises itself.

The breakfast spread was quite huge, however, it was exactly the same on all four days so that was a bit disappointing, We had to wait for some time to get a table on the first day but once we started coming in early this was sorted out.

The restaurants were slightly expensive for the menu on offer but there are quite a few good restaurants in Seminyak which are walking distance from the resort itself.

While it is primarily a family resort, its size means that couples can get some privacy too. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely come back a second time.

Pros: Huge, well maintained property, excellent rooms, very nice garden pool,
Cons: Slightly crowded for a romantic getaway

Room Tip: Take a room facing the garden pool. Its convenient, quiet and offers good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive and detailed comments.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our Royal Guests that is beyond expectation; so your feedback are important for us. I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are a family for four (two children) from Australia and we stayed in the Sofitel Seminyak for 16 nights whilst on our trip in Bali. It was AMAZING. The location is perfect right on the beach and a short walk to all the night life. The customer service was outstanding and there was never a time when someone would stop bow and greet you with a warm indonesian smile. The hotel it self was beautiful and the pools were great especially for the kids. We also enjoyed happy hour, when we could sit by the beach drinking cocktails. Our room was very clean and we had nothing go wrong with our stay. The staff were always helpful and the free daily shuttle bus to central Kuta was great for me and my teenage girl who loves to shop. It meant we could get into the main markets and shopping areas for no cost at all.The buffet breakfast was amazing and we could never get enough especially the egg and crepe station. We never ate dinner at the hotel as we preferred to go out each night so i'm not sure how the food was, but from what i have heard and saw it looked quite nice. We overall had an amazing stay and never wanted to leave. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend it too any family, friends, couples or solo's as it has something for everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room close to the "garden pool" which was mainly a quieter pool so we neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive and detailed compliments.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our Royal Guests that is beyond expectation; so your feedback are important for us. I will share your comment with our staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fortunately most of the guests are not in formal wear but it seems like that sort of resort. There are lots of good staff (though sometimes slow) and the rooms are very nice, including extra touches likes flower buds in various places (not everything in the rooms worked correctly though). I think all the rooms look onto the nice gardens (not sure if any have water views). The pool area and adjacent beachside area are fantastic, with lots of seating and attentive staff. The food is excellent, especially the Wednesday BBQ served by the beach, and justifies the high prices, however, the drink prices are extortionate.

I think that if you like mid-range resorts, you'll like this place (it's certainly doesn't have enough attention to detail to be considered a high-end resort) and it's priced accordingly, but I don't really see the point. The informal beach bars in Kuta do about the same thing as Royal's beachside area, but at one-third the cost, while the Mercure gave me ocean views for 30% less (although the Mercure was definitely not as good a hotel as the Royal). Even Kuta beach is better - whiter softer sand and better waves, although it also has more people. Still, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind words and for selecting The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time with us. I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure it will motivate them to provide services above expectation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As advised to the Accor feedback via email, I booked this hotel and was quoted a price for a room that sleeps 3 adults (with use of a roller bed). On check in I was advised that if I wanted to use the roller bed I would have to pay extra per night. This was not stated at any stage in the online booking and I had proof of this. I needed the bed for my 6 yo daughter. This started my holiday off in a very bad manner. If you are going to charge extra for the roller bed I would suggest you put that amount on the booking as extra's so people know that it is charged as it is really false advertising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that we are taking your comment into high consideration to prevent any occurrence in the future.

At MGallery our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations; therefore your comment is very important for us.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I have been to the royal beach in 3 months. Last time I came for a week away by myself relaxing by the pool. When my parents & I decided on a 5 day getaway we costed a trip to Bali against broome & Bali was more reasonably priced. Rather than getting 2 rooms we splurged on a 2 bed villa via the Accor website. This website doesn't allow you to book more than 2 adults so I called the Accor customer service & they could manually book 3 adults & give us the same deal as on the website. We then confirmed with the hotel they had 3 adults & it was all done very easily. We booked the "holiday saver" package which came with breakfast + 20% of the value of your stay as a credit to be used on F&B &/or spa which in our case was almost $600.

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, introduced to one of the butlers & taken to the villa. What a place! Double storey with a 4 poster bed in the main room, small kitchen, 2 bathrooms. We also had a lap pool & Balinese hut. We were informed that the non alcoholic drinks in the minibar are free & with 2 mini bars we never went short. A nice touch was we were asked when we'd like the cleaners & gardeners to come in so we weren't to be disturbed.

Every member of staff is amazingly friendly, attentive and receptive. I have seen some other reviews in this website & I struggle to see what they are complaining about in terms of staff. My parents went to the weekly drinks with the management of the hotel & also commented on how friendly & professional management are. There was a trainee in the buffet area for breakfast who was so nervous about serving customers but all you needed to do was smile at her & let her know it's ok, we all started somewhere at the beginning (although some customers around me were rude to her but that just shows their bad manners, not her professionalism).

We also ate at the balinese night which had such a great choice of food & some great entertainment. Both myself & my parents have travelled a lot around the world & we all couldn't fault this hotel. It's a a decent 4 star hotel. I have recommended it to friends of mine who are coming to Bali later in the year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing once again The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive compliments especially form our Royal repeaters.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our Royal Guests that is beyond expectation; so your feedback are important for us. I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.