We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and excellent sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Win!
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location and excellent sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Value for money hotel...good service excellent beds only problem no water during the last day of stay due to upgrading works...+ hotel must make more effort to keep beach front area clean there was to much rubbish scattered at the beach close to the water.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Director of Marketing at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for giving constructive feedback.
We apologize for the inconvenience occurred on your last day and we will ensure you that it will not happen again in the future.

There is time when unfortunately we got bit more rubbish brought by the waves. Aside from the cleaning done by our hotel team, we also been supported by the local authority. However, we do agree that it require more effort from every one here not to pollute the rivers.

Again, thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again on your next holiday!

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Director of Marketing
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    543
    148
    37
    22
See reviews for
351
746
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a wonderful five night stay at the Royal Beach in Seminyak. As has been said before, the rooms are ready for a refurbishment, but the standout at this hotel are the staff. You are greeted with a big smile wherever you go. The staff cannot do enough for you. The lady at the front desk was particularly friendly & helpful- she seemed to be there 24/7. The breakfast buffet was great, with plenty of fresh food with a variety to suit every taste.
The price is fairly high for Bali. But like everything- you pay for what you get. We will definitely go back to the Royal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Director of Marketing at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear blossom50,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that your stay was memorable. With regard to the room condition, we are pleased to inform you that we have an on going refreshment project to make sure the rooms up to the standard.

We are looking forward to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Director of Marketing
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

September, 2011 - We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa for a week - 3 adults and 2 children. The villa was gorgeous and very clean. We spent a lot of time outside around the plunge pool and in the gazebo. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and very well established. We've travelled quite a bit and stayed in some very nice hotels and this one has 'the best breakfast ever'. The food in all of the restaurants was exceptional however the service at the beachside cafe was sometimes a little on the slow side. The gym could do with an expansion - too small and crowded in the mornings. Otherwise, we couldn't fault this hotel. Friendly service and divine food, especially the Indonesian cuisine. Close to all of the fantastic Seminyak shopping and cabs easy to get outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Director of Marketing at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear slinkyminxsydney,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that your family had a memorable week with us.
Thank you for giving us feedback on the service quality at our beachfront outlet, we will alert the FBM for her to take appropriate action to address it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Director of Marketing
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

When we checked in at 9 pm they told us it would be one hour until or room was ready. Restaurants have poor service. Front desk was very rude, especially at check in. Our room was not cleaned all day. We had to flag down house keeping at 5 pm to get some towels even after we told the front desk that our room hadn't been cleaned. House keeping was very nice. There wasn't hot water in our room. At breakfast we had to ask if we could place an order 3 times. This hotel was the fourth one we stayed in on our trip. It was the most expensive and worst one by far.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Director of Marketing at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Victoriamoore,

Kindly accept our sincere apology as our service did not meet your expectation.
As explained by our Front Office Manager via email, herewith we would like to clarify the situation upon your arrival. As you were came as a walk-in guest, the check-in process indeed took a bit longer than usually as we have to offer you proper rate and then to prepare the room upon your agreement. Upon your arrival our receptionist offered you our rack-rate of the day as offered to any walk-in guests. The rate offered was based on Deluxe Room including breakfast for 2 persons. However, as you mentioned that you were offered different rate which was based on Superior room (lower category than Deluxe) without breakfast inclusion.
Never the less, we apologize should the whole check-in process took longer than you were expected and should you found our front desk staff attitude inappropriate.

We thank you very much for your constructive feedback and kindly be ensure that appropriate actions have been taken to address the problem.

We certainly hope that you would give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Director of Marketing
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Good:
- Excellent grounds, beautiful tropical garden, excellent pools, very pretty, nice fish ponds everywhere.
- Friendly service

Bad:

- I booked 1 prepaid room for 4 nights through their website. They decided to charge me twice the amount, which debited my bank balance by an extra $1,000 (which was my holiday spending money). I rang them, they realized the mistake BUT wouldn't issue a refund for "14 Business days". So they basically stole $1,000 of my money and held it for 14 business days which is probably illegal. I just got my refund recently. So anyone thinking about prepaying, please check your bank accounts as this could ruin your holiday spending money.

- Showers were cold on night #1

- Lady at breakfast buffet tries to force couples to sit up the back near the food buffet tables (where its very noisy and also quite dark, with poor views). This is not near the front of the restaurant which has the nice ocean views and with good lighting (as these are reserved for BIG groups ie 5+). So if you're thinking about going as a romantic couple and being treated well, think again as they will shove you into some dimlit table with a crap view. One morning I had enough of being dictated where to go and we left our crappy table down the back and sat on a nicer one a bit closer to the ocean views, the lady who tried to force us into our seats got really angry and muttered swear words under her breath.

- Cleaners were quite rude to us. We got back from breakfast at 9am and they were already in our room cleaning. I asked if they could come back in 5 minutes as we needed to quickly get changed and get ready to go to Ubud Monkey forest. They told us no and proceeded to clean as they were "nearly done". This took another 20 mins, so we awkwardly sat on our beds and watched TV while these cleaners cleaned our room around us. Cleaners also come at the most random times (like 6.30 pm+ at night?). .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Director of Marketing at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Blue S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

As we explained through the Guest Book, on reply to your feedback, due to system failure, it was charged twice but we reported directly on the same date (25 January 2012) to the bank and requested for refund. However, the refund process by the bank was out of our hands. None the less, again we apologize for the inconvenience.

With regard to the cold shower, regret to inform you that due to pipe maintenance which was happened on your period of stay, it took a bit longer for the water to heat up. We deeply apologize for this matter, as if you informed us about this inconvenience we would have inform you the situation and might offered you an alternative solution.

As for the inappropriate behavior of our F&B and Housekeeping staffs, kindly be ensured that each head of department concern has been strongly alerted about this for them to take immediate action to address the problem and to ensure that it will not happen again in the future.
Kindly be informed that the night service you've mentioned (cleaners come at 6.30 pm) was actually our turn-down service which is starting from 6.30 pm to 9 pm at night. It is part of a five star resort standard of service that we provided to ensure that the rooms are always in its most comfortable condition for our guests to stay. However, if you prefer not to have this service in the future, kindly advice us upon arrival and we will note it properly so you won't be disturbed.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Director of Marketing
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.