We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa, good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kresna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Kresna to your Saves list
Villa Kresna
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Sarinande 19 | Jalan Sari Dewi 17, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Ramallah
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The boutique Villas are beautiful. Huge living area and well equipped kitchen, gorgeous large plunge pool, and all very stylish. The breakfast was included and was delicious( especially the eggs benedict) . The fruit wasn't that great, and the fruit juices very watered down but still a good breakfast. It's a little far from the action and down some very narrow streets, so walking out at night wasn't an option. However it was easy to get a taxi called, and interesting to watch them manoeuvre the skinny lanes!

Room Tip: Villa 6 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    99
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
38
96
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in one of Villa Kresna Art Cafe's private villas. It was the most we spent on a hotel on our trip to Bali, but I must say, it was worth it.

We really did feel like we were secluded. We never heard any of the other villas and the plunge pool was clean and great to dunk into after hot Seminyak days. Flowers grew above you and fell into the pool adding romance to it.

The villa was extremely well laid out, with well stocked and well priced mini bar and room service was easily available. Everything was very clean and modern which made for a luxurious stay.

The restaurant is lovely and the food (mix of styles) is absolutely excellent quality for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Almost the best of our holiday (closely after Potato Head)! One of the nights we were here there was live acoustic music which was fun and gave a different evening to us.

The staff were very polite and happy to help. We arranged a driver to Tanah Lot and to the airport. These were more expensive than other drivers on our holiday, but this may have just been Seminyak prices compared to Ubud and Pemuteran.

The only way that our stay could have been improved is that our flight was early and we were given breakfast to keep in the fridge for the next day. This was not the best compared to what we had gotten used to in the restaurant and for the price we paid for room and breakfast, but this is a small gripe in what was an indulgent, romantic and excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in Villa Batur and were very comfortable. It was great location for those who want to get away from the chaos but still be close enough to the action. We could easily walk to Seminyak Square and the Flea Markets but because we were located up an alley, we could go to our villa and escape the noise and chaos.
We stayed with our 2 teenage children and it was spacious enough that we weren't under each other's feet and the pool was roomy enough for all of us to hop in and have a splash.
We will be more than happy to stay when we visit again next year. Oh, and the staff were so friendly!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Kresna Villas 2 years ago. Very nice but not so impressed with pools. Liked enough to try again with the refurbished SUITES at the other site. Just needed a place for 3 nights and not looking for anything further than practicality.

WE LOVED IT. Very surprised. Spacious, clean, a bit cool. Very quiet. Bed was very comfortable. Everything worked, everyone helpful. perfect for our needs and everyone we chatted with said they loved it too. Hidden gem descriptions from all.

The taxi thing others have described is a pain as most taxis went to the OTHER villa Kresna. No taxi going past so always had to call for a taxi. But once we worked out to carry a map and a card with the address and reception could call for taxi, it was all very very simple. They really could signpost it better though.

Big construction site next door...but then there's construction and traffic noise all over Seminyak. Didnt bother us.

The person who said a 10 minute walk to beach must have been on crutches! ha... 2 minutes tops and a short stroll to the left on the beach for lots of dining options.

There's no fancy view or an abundance of activity, but for a great base its perfect. Loved it so much we'll be back in December.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for Christmas was very happy, booked now over Agoda out of season for $40 more the night and have a building site with jackhammers and dust about 5 meters from my window from 8am till 8pm. Booked over Agoda many times was happy in the past. But no mentioning of this on the hotel website or anywhere. Will go on for a while. Bali is at the moment a big construction site so be carefully if you booked something and payed in advance. Get someone to check out where you stay. You can not relay on hotel staff information or the web
Ingeborg from Darwin

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The villa's are clean and pleasant enough, however the outdoors bathrooms are a bit hit and miss. We did not get any hot water in the shower throughout our stay. It was never fixed sufficiently upon complaining. The water in the outdoor area of the shower does not drain and pools among the pebbles and moss, and is therefore a mosquito trap and attracts all sorts of bugs. The sink was always found covered in bugs. Really did not feel comfortable in the bathroom area. Also the towels provided were always stain covered and quite old and frayed. The rooms however were pleasant and spacious enough. The upstairs day bed area's are a little unnecessary.
We had two villa's as a family and breakfast was included in the price. Breakfast was very disappointing. This included one very thick piece of toast, a teaspoon sized amount of beans, 3 or 4 mushrooms and 2 eggs. It really had no substance to it.
We had issues checking in. One room was ready upon our early arrival, but we were told we would have to wait till normal check in time for the second villa. Then we get a phone call to say that the room would still be another hour before it was ready. This we were told right at the last minute.
Location is very misleading from the website. You will need to taxi to get to the shops. But you can walk to the beach in about 10minutes.
I wouldn't stay here again and I would have been bitterly angry had we have paid the full price. We were very disappointed even having got the vila's at a 50% discount rate.

Room Tip: Be sure to check if you are getting a private pool with your villa or if it is a shared pool with 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The first thing you got to know about this place is there are 2 properties - separate from each other. Whilst not far to walk between them, you don't want to get to the wrong one for check in. Both are owned by the same boss and they do "upgrade" you (as in move you) from one to the other. They are about 1km apart along narrow little roads where cars and bikes jostle for space in the day time but not too busy to cause a disturbance. The suites are large rooms; the villas are standalone little houses. I will be referring totally to the villas here.

The villas are along one stretch of road about 150m long. There is security in front which means that people are checked going in. There are other properties not associated with Villa Kresna along this stretch as well. There is a lovely quaint art cafe where breakfast is served. If you have included breakfast, it's a choice of five from a menu - anything from the standard eggs/bacon/beans to the Indonesian fried noodles. First coffee/tea is free; second cup is chargeable. Service is pleasant and excellent throughout. Only one group of 4-5 villas have the narrow swimming pool in front of them. It makes them pretty exclusive but it can be noisy if there are kids in the group. The other villas are pretty much standalone little houses. All of them vary : some with kitchenettes, some without. All except one has open air baths and toilets. This can present a problem if you want to go to the toilet for #2 at night and the mozzies get supper from you. The villa we stayed had literally no hot water going at all and they could not fix it. Mosquitoes feature prominently in these villas and all they do is to put electric mosquito mats - which is useless. It would be strongly recommended that you come to this property bringing your own can of mosquito spray which you can get from the local supermarkets. They don't label the free water they give you, so do ask which ones are free.

internet is free which is good but in some villas, the reception is patchy. They have half a dozen routers with different passwords. You can get the reception to call for a cab if you want to get to the shops. Bring a pair of slippers as they don't provide any in the villas.

It is a peaceful spot to enjoy long breakfast or read in the small art cafe of about 10 tables. It is personal enough to get to know others but yet, it is confusing as you will be wondering where the pool is, or could you use it as it is in another group of villas. They also use names for the villas and it can be difficult to remember hindu names! And some villas have outside kitchens, some are air conditioned throughout, and some only have air conditioning in the bedroom. Some have lofts where you can go up to read and relax.

You should try to get to stay in different villas through your stay - but they don't have a package for that one. That would be a great experience. Just do not expect a uniform villa in this establishment.

Room Tip: Getting a villa based on their description is quite difficult. Go with a sense of adventure and a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Kresna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kresna

Address: Jalan Sarinande 19 | Jalan Sari Dewi 17, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Kresna 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury villas and suites in Seminyak...Set in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach, Villa Kresna offers a combination of comfort and elegance in every room. Each suite and villas are individually designed with space in mind and the private villas all come with its own pool. It is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western bali has to offer.Chic eateries, boutiques, galleries and Seminyak's famous nightlife are just some of the attractions within walking distance of Villa Kresna. The popular Seminyak Beach, with its spectacular year-round sunsets, is just around the corner.Villa Kresna's Boutique Suites and Villas, which have a combination of traditional features and luxurious modern amenities, are now available in two locations in sought-after Seminyak area, each serviced by highly experienced staff and run by the same caring owner.Located just 100 meters for each other, Villa Kresna Boutique Suites offers 13 uniquely designed one-bedroom suites while Villa Kresna Boutique Villas comprise of 1 one-bedroom villa with a private plunge pool, 2 two-bedroom villas with a private plunge pool; 5 one-bedroom villas located serenely within a tropical garden and pool and 1 uniquely designed one-bedroom suite rooms.Villa Kresna is owned by a Balinese-German family who has worked in the villas for two generations and has lovingly built each of Villa Kresna's 22 individual suites and villas, one by one, over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Kresna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Kresna Tropical
Resort Kresna Tropical
Villa Kresna Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Kresna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.