We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but there must be better villas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samaja Villas Kunti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Samaja Villas Kunti to your Saves list
Samaja Villas Kunti
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Kunti II No.18, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DISCOUNT UP TO 65% OFF
Ranked #44 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice, but there must be better villas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April. The Villas are new and well appointed, but small and some things are poorly finished. We had problems with mosquitos because the doors to the bedroom were not installed correctly and had large gaps (very poor carpentry). We had read about the door gaps in another review, but didn't expect them to be as large as what they were (some 3 cm wide and the full length of the door)! Staff were helpful, friendly and made the stay pleasant.
The pool was great fun, clear, warm and regularly maintained. You must experience the dinner by candlelight, the food was quality and the extra touches make for a very romantic evening.
We loved the slippers!!
The day spa was noisy (road noise) and the atmosphere wasn't as serene as what is should be. We had two treatments each, both which were acceptable without being memorable.
Room service was always prompt and the food quality. We were concerned about security, after the cleaners left our bedroom to bathroom door unlocked. The safe is oddly located (in the least secure part of the villa - in the wardrobe in the bathroom, which has no lock from the outside) and was not bolted down.
Location was great, close to Seminyak and Legian shops and restaurants. The villa could do with some more comfortable seating and some decoration. It all seemed a bit plain.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, but are unlikely to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid villas close to reception, as they could be very noisy because of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Villa Coordinator at Samaja Villas Kunti, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Damo101

Warm greetings from Samaja Villas Seminyak

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, and I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologize.

We have noted some points from your issue, believe action will be taken by our respective department so that our villa can avoid any further same issue.

Once again we do apologize for this issue and hope you can give us opportunity to serve you better in future.

Best regards,
Made Suatapa
Villa Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hi I'm amer from Dubai I stay in the villa with privet pool for 7 nights with my wife in my honeymoon and it was perfect choice everything was great the room the breakfast and I would like to thanks the staffs they was so nice and very helpfull

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My Girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights.
From the second we entered right up to the second we left, the service and experience at Samaja was second to none. For the entire length of our stay, we truly felt taken care of. The villa's themselves were amazing, but the service we received was out of this world.

LOCATION:
Nestled in Seminyak, it is far enough from all the hustle and bustle for it to feel like you are on a true private getaway. Yet only a 5-10 minute taxi ride will have you at Seminyak Square, Seminyak road and Seminyak Beach. Just a tad further and you will find yourself in the heart of Kuta. There is also a convenience store, with ATM's, located just in front of the Villa.

ROOM:
The villa's are very sleek and modern, with a private pool. Both the villa and pool are very spacious. The outdoor lounge area is perfect for sitting back and relaxing. There are 2 TV's, one in the bedroom and one in the outdoor lounge area. The beds were very comfortable and had no troubles at all getting to sleep. Rooms were kept in tip top condition and were very clean. WiFi in our room was flawless. There are separate keys for the front door and room doors in addition to a combination lock safe, so safety was never an issue.

FACILITIES:
The other two main sections of the building are the restaurant and the day spa. Although they are very small and cozy, we had a great time at both. Food was magnificent!!! The restaurant menu is the same as the room service menu. Breakfast was also a breeze. You just select the options you want at reception and they will take care of it the next morning. You have the option of having breakfast served in the restaurant or in your villa at a time of your choice. Obviously we went with the latter, and it was served on time every single morning. The day spa consists of two separate rooms. We got a facial scrub and massage which were done to the highest quality. There is also an on site security guard at all times, who would literally stop traffic for us every time we needed to cross the road.

SERVICE:
The staff are the greatest bunch of people you will ever meet. Friendly, courteous and will go out of their way to ensure you are taken care of. At the end of our trip, it really felt like we were saying farewell to some new found friends. They also speak english very well and communication was rarely an issue. They are only a phone call away if there is anything you need. There is also a free shuttle service in the morning to take you to your destination (usually at about 11am). But if you miss the boat, they will happily organise a taxi for you. Honestly cannot express how good the service here is. May it never change. Will definitely be back and highly recommended for others.

TIPS:
As the villa's are very new, most taxi drivers will have a VERY hard time locating it. But just advise the driver to go to JL Kunti II (2), which is the road it is on. At the time of our stay, they did not have any signage up yet, but were advised that it was in the works and should be up soon to help people be able to locate the building abit easier. The villa's are located on the corner of Kunti II and another road. Adjacent to the villa's should be a small clothing store and convenience store.

Also be careful with the pronunciation of the name of the villa's to taxi drivers. We made the mistake on our first night of calling it SamaYa instead of SamaJa, and the taxi driver took us to Samaya Villas in Seminyak, which is a different set of villas.

Again as they are very new, they are yet to have a proper drinks menu (other than Bintang Beer). So those looking to sip some cocktails by the pool may be disappointed. But the convenience stores in Bali sell a small range of alcohol, so you can just go across the road to pick up some drinks or bring some bottles with you via Duty Free.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you are reading this right now you need to book this place!!
Every single detail was thought of!
We arrived just after lunch and we were welcomed by 3 staff members and welcome drinks! Our villa was the best - so clean and simple. Wi-Fi had the best connection and the butler service was soo helpful and cheerful. The food was spectacular! Try the lamb cutlets and the crab spaghetti! They have a shuttle that leaves at 11am to take you anywhere you want to go. The in house spa was the awesome - hands down one of the best massages I've ever had :)
Seriously! You need to book this place! After day 1 we were calling this place home! I can't give enough praise to the staff here. So friendly and genuinely ask how your day is going. Also up for a friendly chat :)
Thank you Samaja for everything and making us feel so at home! We love you guys and will visit soon xxxxx April

Room Tip: Try and get a villa towards the back as it's more quiet there away from the hussle and bussle :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

When we were looking for vacation destinations for a short get-away, the Samaja Villas' deal on Travelzoo jumped out. And it turned out to be a wonderful experience! The villa is new and spacious, the poor is clean and cozy. But the best part is till the service. Here're some of the examples I'd like to share with you: When the drive Eka picked us up from the airport, he prepared ice-cold water and towel for our ride back --- such a good start in Bali after a long flight ride. Everyday the hotel offer to drop us off at nearby spots, the beach, main street, square, etc. When we were there, we ran into the local holiday, so the night before as they shut everything down, we couldn't find a taxi. Puzzled and confused, we called the villa and soon they sent a drive to pick us up. During the holiday as everyone had to stay in, the hotel crew bought a bunch of DVDs for the latest movies and offered to the guests for the day... We appreciate all the attention to detail.

BTW: for the potential guests, I would not recommend Kuta beach, which is the most touristy beach in Bali. Kuta beach is simply crowded, dirty, and quite a rip-off. Instead, I would highly recommend you all go to Seminyak beach, it is so close to the villa, and much better for all the beach activities :)

Room Tip: Choose a villa that's not so close to the street, because sometimes the motorbikes on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Samaja villa is centrally located at Seminyak, just 10 mins away from Seminyak Square and 20 mins away from Kuta Beach. Although it's one of the newest villa in Seminyak, the service was top notch and they are so attentive, you really feel like you have a private butler! Design of the villa is contemporary and beautiful, private pool was of an excellent size for couple and cleanliness was gd, what you see on their website is really what you get:)

Breakfast can be arranged at your villa and quality is not bad, their mee goreng is a MUST-TRY! They basically can arrange everything for you and clean up for your room for you every single time you leave the villa and come back. All the staffs are very friendly and warm and speaks decent English. The only 2 things we thought they can work on are perhaps 1) a stronger wifi connection and 2) Slightly bigger TV but these are not crucial, the good things outweigh all that.

They were very nice to grant us a late checkout for free as well, no questions asked. My Husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Samaja Villa and we will be back for sure!

Thank you to all the people from Samaja Villa:)

Room Tip: Choose Villa 4 to 9, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Located in a good part of Seminyak, the beach is just nearby with lots of good eateries and popular spots for hanging out (Ku De Ta, potato head club etc). Only about 15 mins away from the airport with no traffic.
Breakfast can be served in villa or in the restaurant. One thing to make it perfect would be to have more variety for us to choose from. Room service menu needs to have more options too, but quality was good when we ordered some lunch one afternoon.
Service was excellent! Nothing to fault. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too troublesome for them just like the other reviewers mentioned.
Massage is the spa was good. But it was not very relaxing as heavy traffic noises can be heard from the room even though the door was closed. Not very spa-like. Other than that the masseuse was pretty good at what she does.

Room Tip: choose villa 4 to 9. less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaja Villas Kunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaja Villas Kunti

Address: Jalan Kunti II No.18, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaja Villas Kunti 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a perfect sojourn for your business or leisure travel, the Samaja Villas in Seminyak come up with a sanctuary at privileged location. Spreading across spacious area of land enables each villa to enjoy a convenient atmosphere and privacy. While, our premises in the heart of Seminyak tourist resort will make you easier to reach your leisure destinations like shopping hubs, nightlife rendezvous, business complexes and others. Once you arrive at these Seminyak villas, you'll promptly capture our splendor for a perfect holiday escape. At the main building sits the exclusively designed lobby on the first floor and restaurant on the second floor. To get a better view while luxuriating in delicacies, you can have a seat at side veranda. As a whole, our villa compounds adopt Balinese traditional kampong and local landscaping garden characterized by frangipani. A total of 10 units of our private luxurious Bali villas can become a secluded oasis for holidaymakers. The interiors are a perfect reflection of coziness and ultimate relaxation. Designed in modern minimalist, each room displays an intriguing fusion of local nuances and spiced up with modern decorating ideas where beautiful and light natural color schemes create a great visual balance to make guests feel at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samaja Villas Kunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaja Villas Kunti Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaja Villas Kunti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.