We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, it works” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dhyana Pura Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dhyana Pura Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dhyana Pura Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Value, it works”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Not the hotel of your dreams but frankly it works: access to the beach, nice and quiet room with A/C, average breakfast, swimming pool, nice garden and quite friendly staff, close to shops and restaurants. Good value.

Then, it's true, there are some negative points: no wifi in room (free at lobby), old hotel, swimming pool stops very early, not the best spot for surfing.

Note that swimming in the sea is dangerous in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    38
    19
    17
    2
See reviews for
15
20
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

my faimly and i where shipped here after our rooms beeing double booked elsewere.
the idea of the hotel is nice its just not well executed. two of our rooms had outdoor showers which alot of hotels in bali do however these were not very well secluded and were very barron looking out from the toilet or shower to a brick wall and some pebles. the third room had an indoor bathroom which had mold everwhere and some hair still in the bath tub. this being said the locations was nice however we werent very familiar with seminyak at the time. the grounds were lovely and the pool bar although not always manned made some damn fine cocktails.
in summary if you were paying the right price and didnt intend to spend alot of time in the room it may be enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We booked our room on Agoda and paid $63 w/tax. This is a great value for this area considering the location. There are reveiwers that say this place is in desperate need of a renovation and that is precisely why it is in uch a state of decay. It is being torn down slowly
and is one of the last remaining hotels of its kind on this stretch of beach. You do not see too many hotels with expansive grounds like this - especially for the price.
Just don't too get too excited about breakfast or a fancy bathroom and you will love the Dhyana Pura for what it is... but it won't last long. The original entrance and lobby have already been torn down.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I wont say much, here are my points why i wont recemmend this hotel to others unless they do something to be a better hotel to stay.

1) hotel & rooms are very, very old.
2) room is smelly. it is so smelly like BO, well at first we thought maybe we just switched on the air-cond & hoping the smell will go away eventually but it didnt. We bought air-freshener.
3) filthy room wall & toilet. mould-like everywhere.
4) room phone with no directory. we tried pressing every single number to get the front desk.
5) old & small tv with indonesian channels. ergh??
6) smelly cupboard. i dont know how to describe. just dont hang your clothes in there. thats all
7) the breakfast is super horrible! you wont miss anything if you dont have your breakfast there. trust me. when we were there, it was only plain fried rice & fried noodle (no vege + meat + chicken), dry cheap bread, cereal (the bowl was empty when we arrived, they didnt refill, they took away the bowl), and egg station.
8) pool is old and ugly.
9) room has no wi-fi except at the lobby & restaurant.
10) we asked for iron & ironing board as we were getting ready for a romantic New Year Eve dinner, well they didnt have what we wanted . they suggested us to send the clothes to their laundrette. the clothes came back half-hour later with no diff to the clothes at all!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel due to it been run down, poor management and beware of the rooms at the ground floor. Many cockraches wandering around the rooms probably due to the rooms near the rubbish area and restaurant.

Morning breakfast is simple and not welcoming. Small pool and door step to the beach but do not expect clean beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Choose this place because of the location which is right on the beach close to lots of yummy warangs with great sunsets and good vibes.

Dhyana Pura is of an older style that is in need of an upgrade though. We had a deluxe room which was on the bottom floor and was very dark. It was however clean and had a balcony. Old school TV with mostly Indonesian channels and there was no Wifi in the room.

Not much of a vibe either. I saw 3 other people the whole time and we had the pool to ourselves! Depends on what you are after though.

Overall for the price it was a bit spendy for what you got. Great location though and if you aren't going to spend much time in your room it works. If they are to renovate there is so much potential as the grounds are sprawling and so lush.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at Dhyana Pura for a second time for 5 nites and once again, We were very pleased. The hotel is old but with clean and spacious room We saw more guests than in June. We believe the hotel is under rennovation as they close the old lobby and reopen on the Royal Seminyak Hotel side.

Our initial check in was not warmth. We reckon the staff must be too tired to greet us at 8pm;( We greeted them instead,
We do hope they be better trained. The security staff, the restaurant staff and housekeeping are much friendlier. We did give the well deserving ones a tip cos we feel that it is good to motivate good service.

We love the huge open space and peaceful surroundings. It is like staying in a huge garden mansion.;0 In the evening, we sat opposite from the sea as there was a warung and live entertainment. The singer was great! Music was not too loud as he sang ballads mostly.

We walk along the beach in the evenings and there was a balinese dance on the beach to watch for free.;)

It was just the perfect hotel on a perfect stretch of seminyak beach, with dine and wine facilities just right at your door step.

You can just sit and watch the waves from the hotel lawn. It was just another perfect R&R!

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony closer to beach side For family, take family room. There is are also swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dhyana Pura Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhyana Pura Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#65 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhyana Pura Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Dhyana Pura Beach Hotel Seminyak
Dhyana Pura Beach Resort Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhyana Pura Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.