We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Restaurant!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Tapas by Luke Mangan

Salt Tapas by Luke Mangan
Jl. Pura Telaga Waja, Petitenget, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+(62)361 737675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this Restaurant!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love this place..... we were there last year on the day it opened and again this month. I do agree with other reviews that the menu is quite limited but also amazing. I think that we have tried everything on the menu and every dish is unique. I do agree that it is not a restaurant for children as they don't have a children's menu but fortunately for us our children (9 year old twins) are very good eaters and would eat almost anything on the menu (although the Barramundi, the Lamb Cutlets and the Churros are the fav) and thoroughly enjoyed both visits during the week we stayed in Bali.
On the down side the inside seating has changed and we found it a bit "naked" we liked the booths as it was a bit more intimate and found it very noisy and it echoed with loud noises of some parties dining there.
I know this restaurant is a bit out of the way..... but well worth a visit and I think very reasonably priced. We will definately visit again when next in Bali. Keep it up Luke and your team... we love Salt!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    15
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Restaurant Caught Somewhat Between Two Worlds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose Salt Tapas primarily due to our enjoyment of Luke Mangan's fine diner "Glass Brasserie"in Sydney, although we were expecting a more relaxed affair here. That said, I feel Salt Tapas is aiming to be both a sophisticated dining venue and a relaxed resort restaurant and the overall effect can be out of step. The space itself is quite subdued and cosy, but this is at odds with other aspects - eg laminated menus, being addressed by the waiters as "boss", diners in swimwear. The Tapas concept seems to be well received by the large tables of teens that were dining the night we visited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VERY VERY AVERAGE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose to ignore the POOR ratings. BIG MISTAKE. We dont mind spending top dollar for top dollar food. This was definitely not top dollar food. Location was lovely and the staff were fantastic. The thing that lets this place down is the food. Limited options for a Tapas menu. Dont bring kids as I couldn't see anything kids under 12 would eat. Unless they like french fries with cheese and truffle oil. Dont waste your money or your time!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Upmarket by the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Went here for breakfast and lunch a few times. The breakfasts were great, excellent service and good coffee. Nice tables by the pool, with very friendly and efficient service. Definitely go again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Food is underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Out of all the restaurants we've been to in Bali, this is the worst. All of the dishes we tried, I could have cooked them just the same at home. The chicken drumettes turned out to be deep fried chicken legs and one of them wasn't even cooked right through. We left the rest. The menu is limited and to be perfectly honest, very ordinary and certainly not what We would expect from a well known chef and Bali being the eating destination that it has now become. We'd been looking at the trip advisor reviews and thought it was worth a try. Don't know where reviewer Kelly was talking about with the ocean views but it sure wasn't the same Salt that we went to. This was a pub meal that we could have got in Vic Park back home so not much imagination being used here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Tapas by Luke Mangan also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Salt Tapas by Luke Mangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Tapas by Luke Mangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.