We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Mexican place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexican Express

Mexican Express
Kayu Aya Food Vilage( Parking Area Seminyak Flea Market ), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4020006
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mexican Express Warung is small cozy restaurant in the heart of Seminyak.The location between Town House and Kudeta,Wide parking space available.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just past Seminyak square, and about 100 metres from the Oberoi, is this great little tex mex style restaurant. It's in a row of restaurants behind markets, so you'll need to look for the sign on the outside fence, but it was worth that little effort to find it. Extremely affordable, $19 for tacos, fajitas, margarita and mocktail, lovely friendly service, great food and drinks that rewarded our trust by being safe to enjoy, ice and all. Give it a go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After having a bit of a shop at the square market we stumbled across this little mexican joint!

The food was excellent, cheap, generous portions, fresh and tasty!

The girl who served us was very accommodating for all 6 of us and the meals came out quick.

I would definitely recommend this place and I will be going back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little hard to find, but well worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This little gem of a restaurant is in Kayu Aya Food Village, behind the market. (If you tell your hotel or driver Kayu Aya Square, which is new, it's likely that they will take you to Seminyak Square instead). We spent 45 minutes looking for this place and had almost given up when we stumbled upon it and boy are we glad we did. The food is lovely, and unexpectedly authentic. The beef chimichangas were a highlight. The décor is nice and very clean - the whole food village area is quite pretty. We had three courses and Bintangs for the princely sum of 205,000 rupiah (or about twenty $AUD) and this was one of our best meals during our trip. Made and Made (the chef/waiter and the owner) are fantastic, friendly people. The service was really great, the food amazing. This is a new restaurant and I hope they truly get the success they deserve. If this was a local restaurant, we'd be regulars, even if it were at Sydney prices. If you feel like a change from Indonesian food, it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

hi there,

We found this place right at the end of our stay in Seminyak recently. We loved it so much we went back twice on our last day.Seriously yum food and lovely staff. Cheap Bintangs and the margaritas are yum. Cheap as chips!! This is a must if you love Mexican food!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food and service at a budget price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try out this place after reading all the T/A reviews and boy I'm glad we did!! The food was amazing fresh and tasty with very generous servings you will not walk out of there hungry. The added bonus is the prices, this place is such value for money for what you get, very easy on the pocket! The margarita's were amazing and were up to 75% cheaper than other places. We scoffed down 4 each!!! The owner and staff were very friendly and we walked out of there feeling like they were our best friends. If you want a great night with cheap wonderful food and drinks with top service don't miss this place!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Express also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexican Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.